Skip to content

awesome monster towels

June 24, 2011

I packaged up and sent off what might be my most awesome sewing creation ever this week.  Both Jason AND my dad officially want one of these, so I’m hoping that the little recipients of these gifts (our nephews & niece) will love them, too!  (You can tell how much Jason loves these towels by his ferocious monster impressions below.  He cracks me up.)

I (mostly) followed these tutorials, and it was easy peasy.  You should totally make one (or three).  The best part?  You can get as creative as you want with the faces & embellishments!

To make the hooded towel part, I started with either a towel & hand towel (for the teal monster), 1 1/3 yards of terry cloth (for the green monster), or a towel & two washcloths (for the yellow monster).  Starting with a pre-made towel might be easiest – mostly because you don’t have to sew around the edge of the terry cloth like you will if you just purchase the material.  Also, even with a coupon for the fabric, the cost is similar to a cheap Target or Ikea towel, so you might as well save yourself the step of hemming the terry cloth & just buy a premade towel.

To make the hooded head piece, I folded the handtowel in half (or laid the two washcloths on top of each other) & used a dinner plate to create a little curve in one corner.  I cut off the portion of the handtowel that was below the plate.  Sew along the curve (the two sides to the right and top of the plate in the pic below) to create the hood, then sew the remaining unfinished edge to the top of your big towel, centering the hood on the towel.  I used a zigzag stitch to sew the towel together, since I decided that would be stronger & finish off the edges of the terry cloth better than a straight stitch.

Then, it’s time to embellish!

I used old towels that I had on hand for the embellishments – but you’d probably need 1-2 white washcloths (for teeth & eyes), and perhaps an additional hand towel (for the spikes), if you were to buy the supplies.

I used an old blue towel for the spikes on the green monster.  The directions here are great, so I’m not going to reinvent the wheel.

The horns were a little trickier to put together.  For the yellow horns, I cut 4 triangles that were ~ 4″ on each side.  Sew two of them together & flip inside out.  I tried about 42 different ways to attach the horns to the towel but only one way resulted in the horns standing up like they should!  So here’s what I think you should do:  sew the base of the front of each horn to your towel in a slight curve, then, stuff the horn with leftover terry cloth, then sew the base of the back of each horn to the top of your towel, again in a slight curve.

For the eyes, I layers a piece of blue towel over white towel & sewed to the hood.  (The diameter of the pupil is 1.5″, the diameter of the whites of the eyes are 3″ on mine).

The teeth are made similar to the blue zigzag embellishment on the green towel above (directions here).

Tada!  Super-fun stuff.  And rumor has it that our nephew & niece may have enjoyed them *almost* as much as their uncle…

15 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    June 24, 2011 9:29 am

    HA! Totally Cute! 🙂

  2. June 24, 2011 9:30 am

    OOPS…Tami, not mom. 🙂

  3. June 24, 2011 9:43 am

    That is such an awesome idea! Seeing things like this really makes we want to learn how to sew. I’d love to make one for my niece and for my son. Maybe I’ll have to convince my SIL to help me…

  4. June 24, 2011 10:15 am

    Wow – they’re awesome. I think my niece and nephew would love them as well but they lucked out with a non-sewing aunty. Will be thinking of you over the coming weeks too (might sound strange as I don’t comment often but reading of your pregnancy left me really excited for you guys).

  5. June 24, 2011 10:20 am

    They are so cute! As is your hubby. 🙂 I can’t keep up with all your sewing! 🙂 🙂

  6. Mom permalink
    June 24, 2011 11:33 am

    Quite possibly one of the best posts ever. I love seeing Jason goofing around like that and the picture of the kids at the end are just precious! You know you did good when your projects are used in public!

  7. June 24, 2011 12:08 pm

    I love the pictures of your husband in action. Hilarious! What fun.

    They really are adorable. What a great gift.

  8. Debbie permalink
    June 24, 2011 2:10 pm

    Definitely the best gifts they could have received! You can see how much they love them.

  9. Elizabeth permalink
    June 24, 2011 2:12 pm

    Jason is the BEST. And I absolutely love your craftiness – it’s so darn impressive!!

  10. japortma permalink
    June 24, 2011 3:46 pm

    oh my gosh!!! Once again your impressive craftiness makes me want to have some little kiddies of my own so that you can spoil them too!! 🙂 SOOO CUTE!

  11. June 26, 2011 2:23 pm

    I can’t decide what I like best…the towels or the fact that Jason modeled them (in a really animated fashion!). I am “pinning these” for a future must-make!

  12. June 28, 2011 2:06 am

    Thanks so much for linking up to my tutorial! Your monster towels turned out adorable and your hubby is too cute hamming it up!

  13. Jan permalink
    June 28, 2011 2:32 am

    For someone who couldn’t sew not to long ago you are doing an amazing job. Jason is such a goofball, cracks me up.

  14. June 29, 2011 1:56 pm

    Could this be an internet store item? A quick web page and start making towel dragons…

Trackbacks

  1. dare to make something super-awesome for someone else «

Leave a Reply

