Skip to content

dishwasher (& dogs)

June 23, 2011

I have yet to show off what might be the best thing we’ve ever bought.

Yep, it’s our new dishwasher.

After living without one for the last 5 years, we’re pretty psyched to have one again.  It’s such a luxury.

Jason removed a cupboard & shelves to fit this guy in.  (And we hired out the electrical & plumbing work, which actually cost more than the price of the dishwasher.  Sigh.  We probably could have DIYed it, but there was no water shut off under our kitchen sink, so we would have had to turn off ALL of the water to the entire house and cross our fingers that we didn’t screw things up too badly or we’d be without water until a plumber could show up.  We did have the plumber install water shut offs under the sink, so you can bet all sink-related projects from here on out will be DIY!)

He then built the little insert to the right of the dishwasher – useful for storing cookie sheets & cutting boards! — and he trimmed out everything using 1x4s.

The stainless looks great with the pulls, but collects water marks like you wouldn’t believe and drives me a little crazy (this was my only hesitation when going stainless – I wish they made more dishwashers in that smartsteel stuff that looks like stainless but doesn’t collect marks).  But, marks or no marks, it washes my dishes, and for this I am thrilled.

Also, our backsplash looks disgusting in the photos above.  It’s an off-white laminate tile.  I think that 90% of the materials used by the previous owners of this house were things found on Menard’s Super-Sale.  Which, being a bargain-hunter, I can appreciate, but why off-white?  And it’s not cool that the tiles are starting to fall off the wall. The countertops and sink are slowly killing me, too, but mostly because they’re both stained & impossible to clean (even when I use hardcore bleach).

Can you tell I’ve had entirely too much at-home-by-myself-waiting-for-baby-time?  I am running out of closets to clean, and if this kid doesn’t show up soon, I’m likely to just take a sledgehammer to the entire kitchen out of restlessness.

Also, I got a new flash for my camera so that we can take beautiful pictures at the hospital.  (It was a “push present” from Jason that was picked up early so that I could master use of it before Rico comes.)  I’m still working on playing with how I bounce light and understanding how the whole set up works, but I think it’ll take stellar photos at family functions for years to come…  (If any of you awesome DSLR gurus have flash tips, I’d love to hear them!)

I’ve mostly been practicing on the dogs, who haven’t gotten much airtime here lately, so I thought I’d post some pictures of them.  I’m in a random mood today.  Too much time spent vacuuming the basement will do that to you.

As you can see, it was raining when I took these pictures.  Barley has resumed his standard holy-crap-there’s-water-falling-from-the-sky-hide!-hide!-everyone-I-can’t-believe-how-scary-this-whole-situation-is position behind the couch.  Don’t ask me how a 75-lb dog can fit in the foot of space between the couch & wall, because I don’t understand the physics behind such a phenomenon.  Better yet is that he’s actually able to back out of this position.

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 10:09 am

    We went without a dishwasher for a while after we moved into our house, but as my pregnancy progressed and I had a lot of back pain from standing and doing 30 minutes of dishes, I insisted that we get a dishwasher. My husband now agrees with me that it was the single best purchase we made before our son was born!! We did the same thing too, cutting out a cabinet and drawers to fit the dishwasher in and making a little cabinet for baking sheets and such.

  2. June 23, 2011 10:40 am

    Having a dishwasher is something you don’t realize is important until you don’t have one. I know this, too! It looks great and I really like the cubby!

  3. June 23, 2011 10:56 am

    Barley is just too funny! If he’d lived here for the last three weeks, he’d have spent MOST of his time back there!

  4. June 23, 2011 11:39 am

    A dishwasher is a wonderful thing! I’m afraid of the flash. You’ll have to give us lessons. 🙂 Okay, get back to sweeping out the basement. 😉

  5. Kelsey permalink
    June 23, 2011 12:09 pm

    I did my backsplash (which is much higher)…. with white subway tiles from the ReStore and the stickymat things so there is no messy mastic needed… in about 3 hours — grouting included. It’s looked great for two years and still going strong!

  6. japortma permalink
    June 23, 2011 12:15 pm

    ohhh I like the fancy dancy dishwasher! James has stainless steel too and guess who gets to clean those water stains up!? ME! So I took James to Target and HE got stainless steel wipes and they work wonders! If you want them they are right around the dusting/cleaning supplies, next to the toilet paper and laundry detergent (at least thats where they are where I live) 🙂

  7. Debbie permalink
    June 23, 2011 1:12 pm

    Nice job on the dishwasher! I hope you can keep the little side cabinet neater than mine; I have so many cookie sheets jammed in there, it’s crazy.
    You got your early push present. Now what will you get when you have REALLY pushed? Enjoy the new flash!

  8. June 23, 2011 1:51 pm

    Just thought of what you can do with those tiles. Why not let your guests write you friendly little notes and then you can read them when you are doing kitchen chores! It would make your kitchen fun and cheery 🙂 Haha

  9. June 23, 2011 5:40 pm

    We were dishwasher-less for a year or two at our last house…and getting one was life changing so I know where you are coming from! And we have a thunder phobic siberian husky that wedges herself under the bed during thunderstorms. And then we found her behind the dryer another time. Not sure how she does it, but so far (knock on wood) has not gotten herself stuck!

  10. Elizabeth permalink
    June 24, 2011 2:05 pm

    I am super psyched for you and your dishwasher! Matt and I are apartment hunting right now and I am INSISTING on one. It sounds spoiled of me, but, I just can’t help it. Hand washing never feels as thorough. I wish NYC had a dishwasher-mat, like a laundry-mat, where you could take your dishes to get thoroughly boiled every few months. Hmmm…maybe that’s my million dollar idea?

  11. June 29, 2011 8:32 pm

    When we renovated (or paid someone to renovate) our kitchen last summer, we got all stainless-steel appliances and I was worried about the fingerprints too. We found a wipe at Target that you just wipe over the surface and then use a paper towel to wipe off. All the fingerprints and marks are gone! I can’t remember the brand, but the container looks like Armorall wipes. Maybe that will work for you too!

Leave a Reply

