Skip to content

birdmobile

June 21, 2011

Ever since I saw the sweet bird mobile in the nursery featured here, I knew I had to make one.  (Also, I can’t type bird mobile without thinking batmobile, which is equally as cool but likely impossible for yours truly to craft).  You’ve probably seen a whole slew of these already, as they are the latest thing to hit the Inet, but, well, here’s another one!

I’m pretty psyched about how well the birds fit in with the rest of the animal silhouette theme we’ve got going on in the nursery.

I used this bird pattern from Spool, which suggests that you should hand sew each of these little birdies.  I am rebellious impatient, so I used my sewing machine.

I found a few branches from the yard and baked them at 200 degrees for a few hours because, at least in my mind, this gets the bugs and yuckies out of them.

After using embroidery thread to stitch each bird to the branches, I strung the mobile together using fishing line.  It was no small engineering feat, but luckily I have a small dog who was willing to chew the ends off of the stick until it balanced nicely.

I also hot glued each bird to each branch, and hot glued the fishing line in place.  (Otherwise the birds hung off the branches upside down, and the whole dead birds thing was a theme I was trying to avoid.  Maybe when Rico turns 14 and goes through an awkward Emo/Goth phase I can revisit this project sans hot glue.)

Initially, I was going to hang this over the crib, but in the end, I chickened out.  I had visions of it falling and poking my baby’s eyes out.  So Rico will have to settle for gazing upon these lovelies from across the room.

I am really pleased with how it turned out… although, if I were to do it over again, I’d sew a few birds on each branch facing the opposite way to make things a bit more interesting.

And now we’re one step closer to finishing up Rico’s nursery!  Although I’ve still got to finish the quilt that I’m making for his wall, a crib skirt, and a curtain for his closet.  Am currently taking bets as to whether I’ll actually finish all of it before his big arrival…

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 7:35 am

    This is just the cutest thing I’ve ever seen! Loving your nursery colors also!

  2. Lisa permalink
    June 21, 2011 8:02 am

    Love it!

  3. June 21, 2011 8:09 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THE BIRDS. I did them in my nursery as well. But I got fed up with the balance thing. Glad they worked out for you. My baby loves looking at them!

  4. June 21, 2011 9:38 am

    They are so cute! I’ve never seen those before.

  5. June 21, 2011 9:47 am

    Nate Berkus, you could do at least a dozen shows featuring Dr. Ross! 🙂

  6. June 21, 2011 10:53 am

    So sweet! I love them!

  7. Debbie permalink
    June 21, 2011 5:24 pm

    I love that Rico’s nursery isn’t the typical pink/blue theme! Can’t wait to see it in person!

  8. Jan permalink
    June 21, 2011 9:28 pm

    You did a great job Jen, Rico has a fabulous nursery.

  9. June 22, 2011 11:36 am

    Super cute and it looks fabulous next to those green walls. I made this a couple of years ago for a friend and I love how it turned out. But next time I make it, I am going to be a rebel like you and using a machine…hand sewing took forever!

  10. June 22, 2011 12:01 pm

    I love these…I don’t have a nursery, but I think it would look cute on my deck. I just may have to become even more crafty 😉

  11. June 22, 2011 12:11 pm

    This is so cute, Jen! You did an awesome job with the birdies!

  12. June 23, 2011 12:06 pm

    I love them!! The birds are so sweet and colorfull and just darling. I can’t wait to see your entire completed nursery – your almost at the finish line…. 🙂

  13. June 23, 2011 3:30 pm

    OOOOOH! I really love this. I might be stealing this idea from you too! I am loving how Rico’s nursery is turning out. Can’t wait to see the final reveal when everything else is done too!

    And a random question for you….did you just have the extra fabric lying around or did you go out and buy it? I am loving the colors!!

    • June 23, 2011 4:12 pm

      The pieces for the birds are pretty small & I had all the fabric in my scrap pile already! I actually had all of the fabric + fishing line + hot glue + sticks – so this was a free project! Yay!

  14. June 29, 2011 8:33 pm

    You are so talented! I wish I lived closer to you so you could teach me to sew!

Trackbacks

  1. 38 Week Update & Midwife Appt « Little Seed of Hope
  2. two months of Lilly «

Leave a Reply

