Skip to content

pregnancy: week 37

June 14, 2011

Baby is now full-term!  Definitely a cause for celebration.

(I haven’t publicly admitted this, but there are still moments where I think, “what if we lose this one, too?” and then have to quickly block that out of my mind, since it’s too devastating to contemplate.)

This week we finished up more necessary pre-baby preparations (namely: installing the car seat & starting to pack for the hospital).  We spent several hours cleaning both of our cars, and it’s really strange to see a car seat in the back of the Highlander.  I guess we’re officially driving a parentmobile from here on out.  Whoa.

Also this week: the end of the term, my last week of work.  I’ll be spending my days cleaning & organizing whatever I can get my grubby little hands on until Rico gets here.  Crafting is likely to occur also. 🙂

I made Jason pose for some pictures with me, using the tripod & timer on my camera.  The moms requested photos of BOTH expecting parents, and I’m happy to oblige, though I should note that a) I have very few pieces of clothing that fit AND make me feel like I look good at this point, and since I’ll be spending most of my time in the upcoming weeks at home it seemed silly to go out and buy something new just for these photos, b) it was super-hot and humid the day we took these, c) my hair is out-of-control B.I.G. lately and I’m not into doing anything about it since I’ve heard it’ll fall out after the baby is born anyways, and d) I can only imagine how hilarious I looked running from the camera to pose next to Jason with my big 37-week belly… maybe it’s time for a camera remote?


I think the last is my favorite — Barley wandered in as the timer was going off and he looks like he’s all “hey guys… what’s going on here?” (said in an Eeyore-esque voice, since we’re pretty convinced that how the big dog talks).  We tried to get a family picture with both dogs, but that was sort of a disaster since we failed to bring treats out & Jezzie was more into running around the yard than posing nicely for a family picture.  Barley will sit in front of the camera and pose for ages, though, and that’s what he did, which is why he’s cropped out of the frame in the first picture (sorry, Barley).

Other than that, no news is good news from here.  Things are still going really well – no major swelling (though I’ve removed my rings because my fingers are getting a little big and I don’t want them to get stuck!), I can still touch my toes (and paint my toenails!), and I’m not as uncomfortable as you’d imagine for someone that’s hauling 33 lbs of extra weight around.  Rico is moving, still has a great heartbeat, and I’m totally content to let him hang out in there for a few more weeks.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 11:35 am

    LOVE the car seat pic! It gave me chills, remembering how it felt to look at the gear and realize “Whoa, this is IT.” So excited for you!

  2. June 14, 2011 11:44 am

    Great photos! I’m pretty impressed you can touch your toes and still paint your toenails!! WOW 🙂 I’m so excited–can’t stand it! Very excited to see your bundle of joy. Now remind me, you guys have elected to not know the sex of Rico born or you aren’t telling anyone until Rico makes an appearence? I can’t remember.

    • June 14, 2011 1:10 pm

      We don’t know what/who Rico is… my hunch is that it’s a boy, but I could be completely and totally wrong. Guess we’ll have to wait and see…

  3. June 14, 2011 11:46 am

    Loving this post and all your couple photos. You are too cute.

  4. June 14, 2011 1:04 pm

    Cute, cute, cute! I removed my rings by the end as well. Feel good. Your baby boy is almost here!

  5. June 14, 2011 1:53 pm

    It won’t be long and I’ll be living with a very excited Great Grandpa 🙂 I’m glad he’s going to Canada for a week because talking about it just seems to make the time drag! I’m hoping you will have Rico like I had mine. One, two three and it’s all over! Good luck!!

  6. japortma permalink
    June 14, 2011 5:55 pm

    WOWA! You have a big tummy! I think he’s coming any day now! I am so excited for you guys! But more importantly I am so impressed that you can still reach, much less paint your toenails!

  7. Debbie permalink
    June 14, 2011 6:31 pm

    It seems I am not the only one who is impressed by the toenail painting! I could never do that at the end.
    The pictures look great! Thanks! More than likely the next family pics you take will include an extra person. Woohoo! Thinking of you (especially) these last few weeks.

  8. June 14, 2011 7:04 pm

    Hey good lookin . . . .
    You only have to carry 33 lbs around for a few weeks, Think of your poor ole gramps. I ve been doing that since about a year after I retired.
    Love you,
    Gramps
    P.S. I can still get over and trim my toe nails too.

  9. June 15, 2011 2:35 am

    You are all looking great – and I’m impressed you can still SEE your toes, never mind touch them!

    I understand the still being worried bit, and once the baby is born it just turns into lots of new worries, and when they become a teenager …..the worries just change and grow!

    In my thoughts and prayers ….hugs

  10. Aunt Tami permalink
    June 15, 2011 12:25 pm

    Yeah for full term! 🙂

  11. Elizabeth permalink
    June 15, 2011 4:50 pm

    HOORAY! So exciting! You look stunning and Jason looks slightly freaked out. I think that’s absolutely the way it should be.

    (PS – I’m super crazy. I saw the picture of the car seat and I thought for a split second that the baby had been born and I had somehow not known about it. Heart. Stopped.)

  12. mom permalink
    June 15, 2011 8:24 pm

    OK, I am totally impatient now and wanting to call you every day but am fighting the urge…so far. Keep me posted on all your progress!

  13. June 16, 2011 11:42 am

    You two look so cute! 🙂 Don’t wear yourself out nesting though! 😉

  14. June 16, 2011 7:25 pm

    I think you look beautiful! Congratulations on being FULL TERM!!! WOOT WOOT!!! I understand completely what you mean about still worrying. But you are so close to meeting your little one 🙂 I am so so happy for you and I know y’all can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

