Skip to content

animal silhouette artwork

June 7, 2011

We’ve finally begun to hang some artwork in the nursery, and I’m pretty excited about it.  I think my favorite thing about preparing a kid’s room is that I can go nuts with color, texture, and pattern.  Thusfar, we’ve primarily chosen bold yellow & green for Rico’s room, but want to add in a few other bright colors – like orange! and blue!  And we sort of have a loose “animals” theme going on – the curtains are sporting blue & yellow bird silhouettes, the lamp & rocking chair pillow have elephant silhouettes, and Rico has a very cool rocking giraffe in the corner of his room.

I knew I wanted some bright & cheery artwork in Rico’s room, and became sort of inspired by all of the silhouette animals going on in the room.  I’ve also been making a zig zag quilt to hang over Rico’s crib and thought it would be nice if some of the bright fabrics in the quilt were featured elsewhere in the room.

So I decided to cut animal silhouettes from leftover quilt fabric and hang them on the walls!  I used my mom’s cricut to cut animal shapes from paper & then trace them onto the fabric (the cricut can cut fabric, too, but I didn’t have the fabric with me last time I headed to MKE).  If you don’t have a cricut or similar shape-cutter, it’s easy enough to find animal outline pictures on the Inet, print them, & use them as a template (in fact, that’s what I did for the elephant!).  I used colorful cardstock that I already had on hand for the background of each animal picture & then placed each into an ikea frame & instructed Jason to hang them (pretty please).

Jason decided that 6 animal silhouettes might be too much, so we rounded out the grouping with photos of Rico’s canine BFFs.

Super-easy + super-cheap + makes me smile every time I walk in the room = success!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Tami permalink
    June 7, 2011 8:37 am

    The pictures turned out great. Rico has such a creative mom! And I noticed that lampshade you didn’t like is still there. My vote…if I get one 🙂 …would be to ignore the shine and keep it. The color and the dots are a fun mix with the other patterns in the room. Rico is one lucky baby!

  2. June 7, 2011 8:51 am

    Super cute! I adore the fabrics you used and it is such a clever idea to tie everything together. The white frames really pop, too. Love it all, as usual.

  3. June 7, 2011 12:40 pm

    So cute!

  4. June 7, 2011 5:07 pm

    Such a great idea! Simple but very awesome and one of a kind 🙂

    P.S. I bought my first sewing machine!! Singer Brillance from Target and so far I’m loving it—now if only I could prevent the bunching of thread sometimes when I start. 😮 Thanks for the heads up for Target.

  5. June 8, 2011 12:44 am

    Wow I haven’t been around for a while but as I was shimming through my reader looking at pictures I seriously thought this was from one of those high end interior design blogs! You’re going to have one lucky little one.

  6. June 13, 2011 12:45 pm

    Love this idea! We have similar loose animal theme going on in our nursery and these are so cute! Can you believe how close we are getting to the big day?

  7. June 13, 2011 5:58 pm

    Love the artwork! Beautiful and cheap; just the way I like it! Ah, I am sooo excited for you!

  8. Nicole permalink
    July 11, 2011 9:48 pm

    this is great! I love the colors going on in this room! (mind my asking where you got the curtains?)

    • July 12, 2011 6:02 pm

      Thanks! They’re from Urban Outfitters, but they weren’t originally curtains, they were “wall tapestries”… I think UO still sells this print in duvet covers & pillow cases…

Trackbacks

  1. Rocking Chair Silhouette | Furniture | Home Ideas

Leave a Reply

