Skip to content

pregnancy: week 36

June 6, 2011

This baby is nearly full-term, and I am on the verge of discomfort.  Really, I still have nothing major to complain about — only small complaints: upper back aches at the end of the day, occasional/slight swollen feet, achy hips, and occasional acid reflux, which I’ve been aggressively combating with ice cream (and Tums).  Which may explain why I gained another 4 pounds (total = 32 gained thusfar) in the last two weeks, but I’d much prefer to blame it on Rico (who is still measuring on track & has a great heartbeat according to the doc).

The heat seems to be affecting me much more than it ever has — I’m a hot sweaty mess the second the temperature hits 75.  (Fortunately, it’s been a cool spring, so that hasn’t happened very often!)  I realized that I may have hit an all-time low this week when I found myself hunched over on my hands and knees scrubbing the bathroom floor in my underwear (is that TMI?).  For some crazy reason, it needed to be done, and it needed to be done right that minute — despite the heat & the fact that Jason could have totally done it had he not been hauling dirt from one side of our yard to the other to get the garden ready & fill in holes dug up by the Jezekiller.  I think this qualifies as nesting — both my need to scrub the bathroom floor and Jason’s completion of some hardcore manchores (I recently read that men “nest”, too, just with power tools).

But I’m not sure that Rico’s coming anytime soon – I don’t think he’s really “dropped” and I just kind of need {at least} 2 more weeks to finish up work and prepare for his arrival.

We took a tour of the hospital this week, and it’s really really nice.  They’ve recently added a new birth center & tried to make the decor a little less hospital & a little more “home-y” (don’t get me wrong, though, you can still totally tell it’s a hospital).  We’ll have our own room the entire time, and we were assured that they try to keep the baby with it’s parents most of the time (in fact, now that I think about it, we didn’t even see a nursery, so I’m not sure where Rico would go if he wasn’t with us).  So I think we now feel even more prepared for what’s to come… if that’s even possible.

I spent an afternoon preparing frozen meals for us to eat when Rico arrives (more on this later) & washing all of his tiny 0-3 month clothing & blankets.  We were so lucky to get a few 0-3 month things at showers, and we have an abundance of gender-neutral 0-3 month hand-me-downs… I think Rico could probably wear 4 outfits/day and still not use everything before he grows out of them!

I also attended a mama-meeting put on by the group that sponsored our natural birth class.  The meeting was all about how to support first time moms & what the first few weeks of motherhood are all about.  Several of the moms present shared their experiences with postpartum depression, told funny stories about the crazy effects of sleep deprivation, and gave tips on how to best support new moms.  It was a great meeting, and if you’re interested in a humorous (yet seemingly honest) little ditty about postpartum visits, this is a great link, and could provide you with ideas for how to help your new parent friends/family.  Other advice from those of you who have been there done that would be wonderful, so I hope you’ll leave some thoughts in the comments. 

I’ve started waking up more frequently in the middle of the night, and have had some sweet early mornings spent laying in bed, feeling Rico move as the birds begin to chirp outside my window.  This always makes me smile.  How miraculous this whole human-growing business is!  I still can’t imagine exactly what/who is the little creature in my belly, but each day I get more and more excited to meet it.  And as exciting as it all is, the weight of the responsibility of parenting this little human is even a little terrifying to me.  This seems like the first major event in my life that I have no ability to truly prepare for.  I am completely unable to imagine what life will be like and how things will change in only a few short weeks.  I’ve heard it will be wonderful.  And also the hardest thing that I will ever do.  Still, I think these morning moments are really good reminders to just enjoy this minute, this pregnancy… because soon enough our little one will be unleashed into the world, and then who knows what’s in store for us…

AND, speaking of unleashing this child into the world…  I’ve set up an online baby pool here, and I hope you’ll all feel free to click on over and make your guesses as to just who is in my belly and when he/she will arrive…

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa Murakami permalink
    June 6, 2011 9:14 am

    So exciting!

  2. June 6, 2011 11:08 am

    ooohhhh….getting close. It is so exciting! Feel good.

  3. mom permalink
    June 6, 2011 11:48 am

    Those are beautiful pictures and you are just glowing!

    • mom permalink
      June 6, 2011 11:49 am

      We need pictures of the expectant dad too!

      • June 6, 2011 2:11 pm

        I know! I have to get out the tripod & self-timer so we can take a few together… Although Jezzie is a pretty good stand in. She is going to be in trouble when Rico replaces her as the baby of the family…

    • June 6, 2011 2:11 pm

      (that might be the photoshop “skin smoother” action!)

  4. June 6, 2011 12:13 pm

    Love these pictures! I think you’re a lot like me in that while pregnancy may not be a total hoot, it’s still pretty dang awesome to be pregnant and your attitude is totally reflected!

    It’s so nice to have an all in one room! We’re going to tour our hospital tonight, because it’s not the same one we delivered Isaac at.

  5. Debbie permalink
    June 6, 2011 3:45 pm

    They ARE beautiful pictures; the joy on your face in the last one is remarkable!
    In a few weeks, you won’t be able to imagine life before Rico/Rica. It is so exciting!

    If you have some 3-6 month clothes, you might want to get them ready as well. He/she won’t be in those 0-3 ‘s for very long(especially if you have a 10 pounder-haha).

    And as long as you weren’t washing first floor windows in your underwear, I think you’re ok!

    I know there are at least 4 grandparents and some great grandparents that are very anxious to hear that phone ring! Enjoy your last weeks.

  6. Elizabeth permalink
    June 6, 2011 4:02 pm

    You look so gorgeous in these photos! Either Jason is getting better at taking pictures or the anticipation of motherhood has you GLOWING. I am so excited for you both!!

  7. GpaGG permalink
    June 6, 2011 4:16 pm

    I’m sure the next two weeks will fly by 🙂 I can’t wait! I’ll bet you are having great fun with that pool! I know you’ll be a very good MOTHER and I’m sure Jason will be an awsome DADDY!!!!

  8. GGG permalink
    June 6, 2011 4:18 pm

    That really irks me when your Grandfather uses my computer and doesn’t change it back! I wrote the last comment.

  9. June 7, 2011 2:12 am

    Congratulations on your upcoming baby. 🙂

  10. June 7, 2011 10:07 am

    YOU LOOK SOOO CUTE!! And I love the picture where it looks like you are holding you tummy up. I am so bummed that I am going to miss your WHOLE pregnancy (well at least the part where you can definitively tell) When rico is born the whole Ross family will have to venture over the mountains and come visit me in Bozeman!!

  11. June 8, 2011 7:42 am

    Oh – so excited for you – enjoy these last few weeks if you can, try to be patient, but its not easy!

    Loved the advice on the link you included.

Leave a Reply

