Skip to content

potholders & another apron

June 2, 2011

File this one under: more crap I’ve sewn recently and then given away to people who probably don’t really want it but are too polite to suggest otherwise.

My BFF had a wedding shower over the weekend.  Problem: the shower was in Chicago. My BFF lives in NYC.  I was having trouble figuring out how she’d get all of her shower goodies back to NYC with her, so I decided to ship her present (baking pans!) and just bring a little something that she could open at at the party & stuff into her suitcase.

The little something?  A potholder.  (Made using these directions).  Totally nerdy, but it matches the casserole carrier that I crafted her in March.

Also?  I got to channel my inner Michael Scott and report that I loved her a whole oven mitt’s potholder’s worth.  Which is kind of priceless.

Sister also was the recipient of some of my recent sewing endeavors — a reversible apron in hot pink, which I’ve decided is her power color.  (It’s similar to this apron that I made for a friend, but I modified the pattern to make the apron a bit longer).

We’ve since decided that sister’s boyfriend’s power colors (fabrics?) are denim & plaid with pearl snaps, so he might be getting a (somewhat) matching version for Christmas.

Also?  I’m like 2 seconds away from showing you the raddest thing I’ve ever sewn (Jason was even excited about it when I showed him… and he is rarely excited about fabric-y goodness), but I broke three needles in the process & have to get more before I can finish.  Cross your fingers that it happens this weekend, because after the busy-ness of this work week, I have a serious sewing itch to scratch…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 2:39 pm

    I love that apron, brilliant fabrics, loving your idea of power colours too. Glad I’m not the only person who sews random things and then gives them away to other people who might not always want or need them 🙂

  2. June 2, 2011 3:06 pm

    I just love your sewing projects! Every time I see one I make a mental note I need to buy a sewing machine and relearn. I think I’ve made that mental note now about five times. HA! What machine do you use? Love it? Wish you had another? Could use a great recommendation.

    • June 2, 2011 3:45 pm

      I just have a Singer from Target – I think it was like $130 or so… Nothing too fancy, but I love it! I think that if I start sewing more clothes, I might ask for a serger to make the ends nice, but for now I’ve just been doing a simple zigzag stitch & it seems to work wonderfully!

      • June 2, 2011 4:15 pm

        Great 🙂 I was hoping you’d say a typical brand and not one of those fancy ones that cost more than my old car payment! HAHA I bought this adorable sewing book with patterns and I hope to start it soon. Keep a look out.

  3. June 2, 2011 4:13 pm

    Love seeing all your sewing projects!! You amaze me! These days my sewing machine is just collecting dust, but you keep inspiring me to break it out! lol 🙂

  4. June 3, 2011 6:55 pm

    The potholder and apron came out ah-mazing! So talented you are. Glad you are feeling so well late into your pregnancy!

  5. June 4, 2011 10:39 am

    I love your sewing. Your fabrics are so fun. A friend of mine finally bought a fancy sewing machine and she’s had it in the shop more than she’s had it home. She’s still using her old Singer. 🙂 🙂

  6. GpaGG permalink
    June 5, 2011 4:59 pm

    Hey goodlookin . . .
    You better drop before you pop. Whats holding up the show anyway???
    Luv Ya all (three that is)
    Gramps

  7. June 5, 2011 8:41 pm

    What fun sewing projects! I love the colors on that apron and I bet they loved it!

Leave a Reply

