Skip to content

pregnancy: week 35

June 1, 2011

Another baby shower this week!  It’s fine if you’re rolling your eyes at me, because I am seriously. so. spoiled.  So is Rico, and he’ll probably be one of those obnoxious little brats that you don’t want your kids to play with.  Because not only is he spoiled (already), but we have yet to decide who has to be the disciplinarian.  Jason said his mom was the disciplinarian in his house (Debbie, I can’t even imagine that!), and my dad was definitely the disciplinarian in my house… so we both think that the other should be the enforcer.

Anyways.  This week was pretty uneventful on the pregnancy front (i.e., no major changes from last week), but it was super-eventful on the party front…

On my way to Milwaukee (my last solo road trip for a long time!), I stopped in Chicago to shower my BFF with some pre-wedding love.  Her wedding is in August (yay!) and I’ve decided that she should get married every year if it means that I’ll get to see her as much as I have this past year!  Also, she looks stunning, and is going to make a beautiful bride…  I cannot wait!

On Sunday, sister threw a fabulous shower for Rico & I, with the help of mama bear, although I am informed that sister really did most of the work.  (Thanks sister!  Thanks mama bear!  Thanks GGG for letting us use your house!)  Sister is quite excited to become an aunt, but I think that this guy (my grandpa) might be the most excited of anyone in our family…

The food table was overflowing with goodies & pretty flowers…  Mama bear & sister spent much of Saturday prepping some seriously delish salads.  And those cupcakes?  AMAZING.

Sister also organized some super-fun shower games, like stack a paper plate on your head & draw baby Rico.  One or two of the babies kind of looked like puppies.  Slightly concerning.

Sister also had everyone guess how big around I was using ribbon.  And let me just say that I was completely unimpressed by how big some people thought I was (ahem, I’m looking at you, cousin Haley!!).  My other cousin, Jessica, was only about 1/2″ over, perhaps because of her schooling in engineering?  Regardless, she’s my new favorite cousin!

Also!  There was scrapbooking!  My mom put together little kits to give to each of the guests & everyone put together a page for Rico’s baby book!  The pages turned out really cute & I’m glad to have this item checked off of my “to do” list…  All I have to do is take pictures of Rico, print ’em out, slap ’em on these pages, and I’ll have a whole bunch of special firsts recorded!

Sister went all out with the party decor, hanging little clothing & accessories from clotheslines, & displaying all sorts of other little baby goods out on the tables.  Really cute, and in a few months I’m sure that Rico will be able to put most of the decor to good use!

And, oh my, the presents!  Whoa.  I was (once again) completely overwhelmed by the generosity of our family & friends.  And especially stunned to realize how many talented crafts(wo)men are in my family!

For example, check out this awesome giraffe rocker that (Rico’s) Uncle Trevor & Gramps made…

Let’s just say that if I had known these two were such good woodworkers, I would have put them to work at my house months (years?) ago.  So cool!  And it looks so similar to one that I had as a little girl!

My gramma, who is a master knitter, made Rico this super-cute sock monkey & matching sock monkey hat!  I might have begged for commissioned this one after seeing a picture online (the free pattern is here for those of you as talented with yarn as my GGG).  She also made a beautiful knit ski sweater & hat (and Rico will get matching pants/skirt when we find out if he’s really a he or she).

Sister crocheted the white blanket on the chair behind me, and I was super-impressed because I didn’t even know she could crochet (also? a little jealous, since yarn skillz are something I don’t yet possess).

And my aunt put together this pretty little heart quilt.  My aunt made my sister and I each one of these when we were little girls (sister’s was blue, mine was peachy pink), so it was really sweet of her to put one together for Rico, too!

All-in-all, it was a really great day spent with some of my favorite ladies!  Such a good way to kick off the last few weeks of a pretty great pregnancy!!  Thanks, sister & everyone who attended for making it such a fun day!

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 11:41 am

    What lovely people you have in your life! And what loot Rico has!! 🙂 So sweet 🙂

  2. June 1, 2011 12:24 pm

    That giraffe rocker is beyond superridiculously cool! I am totally envious of your family’s mad skillz.

    The sock monkey is adorbs, but I have to admit, the hat scares me a teensy bit. It seems to be ready (and excited) to eat your head! And that heart quilt? Too. Die. For. Cute.

  3. June 1, 2011 1:30 pm

    Jen! That was not my fault, I took advice from previously pregnant women, I guess they were trying to sabotage me! I swear! You can like me again!

    • June 1, 2011 2:20 pm

      Ha ha ha!! They definitely were trying to sabotage you… 🙂

  4. brey permalink
    June 1, 2011 2:28 pm

    deb was definitely the disciplinarian in the house…… sean and i are still trying to figure out who is what and maelynn is 20 months old….we need to figure out quickly!
    your shower seemed and looked like it was awesome!!!! cannot wait to meet ricco!

    • June 1, 2011 2:30 pm

      What!?! Maezie is an angel… I bet neither of you will have to discipline her!

      When I told Jason that I couldn’t even imagine your mom yelling at any of you, much less punishing you, he said, “well, we were just really good kids, so she didn’t have to!” I can’t figure out whether I believe that or not…

  5. June 1, 2011 4:07 pm

    How wonderful. You look great! Hope you are feeling good and getting ready to become a mommy!

  6. GGG permalink
    June 1, 2011 4:39 pm

    Poor Grampa looks like he could use some of those baby clothes sooner that you will 🙂 What do you suppose he’s having, a Rico or a Rica? I’m guessing one thing —it’ll be bigger than yours! Sorry, I got hysterical when I saw the pic of the two of you 🙂

  7. June 1, 2011 4:45 pm

    What a fun shower! Looks like a great time. And I think Rico deserves all the spoiling he’ll get.

    I’m especially fond of that heart quilt (adorable) and the scrapbook pages (fun and functional).

  8. Debbie permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:02 pm

    First of all, I don’t really remember being a disciplinarian but if 2 of my children say it, it probably just means I was grouchier than Jim. However, I think the reason I don’t remember is because , as Jason says(and he is telling the truth), they were really good children. I didn’t have many reasons to punish them. I wish you the same.
    We have been so excited since we first heard the great news but everyone here in NJ who was at your wedding knew a certain soon to be great grandpa would be out of his mind with the news! I see you agree.
    How lucky are you and Rico to have such talented family members?! The quilts, scrapbook pages,giraffe, etc.. Ashley, congrats to you! Beautiful blanket! Rico/ Rica will certainly look to that side of the family for home crafted goods!
    Love the dresses you wore! The more pregnant you become, the better you look(if that is even possible).

  9. mom permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:56 pm

    OK, I am officially tired of waiting……Rico! Rica! Come on out and meet your NaNa! (…trying out grandma names….what do you think?)

    • mom permalink
      June 1, 2011 7:57 pm

      PS: I thought you only have 3 weeks to go so how is it you are only at week 35?

      • June 1, 2011 8:29 pm

        3 weeks on Friday… I’m a week behind with updates, since I write the update at the end of each week…

    • June 2, 2011 2:24 pm

      What!? NO! I need at least 2 more weeks to prepare.

      But Nana could work. As long as he doesn’t get you confused with “banana” it’ll be okay.

  10. June 2, 2011 8:14 am

    You scored big in the family and gift department! 🙂 Lovely things and lovely folks. By the way my dad was the disciplinarian in our family and so was my husband in ours. (Thank heavens!) 😉

  11. June 2, 2011 8:47 am

    I wish I had the idea of the scrapbooking pages for when my DIL had her baby shower. I’m sure I would have scored some major points.

  12. Katie permalink
    June 2, 2011 2:23 pm

    Ah – so sorry to have missed your shower! You look like a gorgeous mama to be – and I can’t wait to hear your news. Charlie sent Rico some of her favorite stuff in the mail…so hopefully he/she likes it as much as she did!

    • June 2, 2011 2:25 pm

      Thanks! We missed you… but we’ll have to be reunited in August when Amanda comes back to the midwest…

Leave a Reply

