Skip to content

garden grief

May 25, 2011

Our garden is growing.  Somehow, seemingly overnight, things just popped up & began blooming.  The forest is suddenly alive!  Birds are chirping and small woodland creatures are appearing (and being hunted by our little dog).

I’m always surprised when things pop up & begin to grow each year.  We’ve inherited a giant floral garden with this house, and I feel like I should celebrate that I haven’t killed it yet!

Also?  How can you look at flowers and NOT feel cheery?  I think it’s impossible.

Impossible.  Unless you begin to look around your yard and realize that the grass is actually mostly weeds, and your garden has become overrun with dandelions & garlic mustard.  Sigh.

I told my mom that I was determined not to let the garden stress me out this year, but I might have lied.  Especially since the garlic mustard flings seeds at your eyeballs when you try to pick them.  Not my favorite.

I am currently crafting a secret plan for counter-attack.  Wish me luck.  I’d like for my eyeballs to come out from this unscathed.

Part of my secret plan of attack has been to weed & then lay paper & mulch down in the garden.  I give myself bonus points for being out there on my hands and knees with a 30 lb load hanging from my midsection.  Also?  Bonus points for this project being free — we have 4 giant boxes of paper in the garage from our move 2 years ago because I am a hoarder and the mulch is from last year’s giant branch clean up (we rented a chipper & chipped a ton of branches laying out in the yard from the giant trees we had removed the previous fall).  Hopefully using the DIY mulch from last year won’t introduce any additional problems to the garden…  So far, it seems to be working out as a great weed block (I mulched the first section of garden almost a month ago & it has yet to get weedy).

Fingers crossed that this might be at least part of the solution to a weedless garden this summer…  (and also? fingers crossed that I don’t go into labor prematurely while out there on my hands & knees this weekend…)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 11:32 am

    My goodness, doing this when you are so close to due date?! Girl, you have willpower and strength far beyond my level and I’m not in your position! I love the photos though, so pretty! I had to plant a lot of bulbs last fall because we had nothing from the previous owner who lived there. She didn’t do yard work apparently. My iris still need to bloom and I think I need to evaluate my flower bed because it’s not all that organized to its fullest potential. Go you though for being out there on your knees with a baby kicking you in the ribs!

    • May 25, 2011 11:36 am

      Thanks, Sara! The weeds drive me so crazy that I just have to get out there & do something about them… I should note that I do work at a much slower pace now and Jason has to haul the mulch for me…

      You should post pictures of your flowers when they bloom!

  2. May 25, 2011 11:56 am

    Ugh. Weeding is by far my least favorite thing to do in the entire world. Like to the point that everytime I traipse over to the ex’s to pick up Dozer, I actually breathe a massive sigh of relief that his garden full of weeds is no longer my concern. I’m evil.

  3. May 25, 2011 12:31 pm

    Your garden looks great. Take it easy though! 🙂

  4. May 25, 2011 12:39 pm

    Hi, I’m the same Yvonne from http://andtheycalledherminimoo.blogspot.com, but I thought I’d give you my other blog “My Garden Blog”…and you can take a look at what I’ve got in the garden.

    Yeah, weeding stinks and I used to rarely do it until we bought this house and inherited a beautiful garden that I just couldn’t have go to waste. It’s a J.O.B., let me tell you and here we are at the end of May and I still have to remove leaves from certain portions. Ugh! I would not even want to do it if I were pregnant!!! Like the girl before said “Go YOU”!

  5. mom permalink
    May 25, 2011 10:21 pm

    Are those the phlox we moved from the front of the house to the back (next to the screen porch?) If so, they lived!

    • May 26, 2011 12:12 pm

      Those are the phlox we moved – I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how well they’re growing! They looked so sad last summer…

  6. May 25, 2011 10:37 pm

    OMG we’re in garlic mustard hell also! Two weekends ago we hand pulled 4 extra large garbage bags full of it! Make sure to not compost them. They are a never ending problem at least for the next 10 years…that’s how long their seeds can last in the ground before they germinate. If you don’t have time to pull them you can just clip the tops off before they go to seed.

    • May 26, 2011 12:14 pm

      They’re insane, aren’t they? I foresee a lot of clipping in my future — I read on the Wisconsin DNR website that if you hand pull them, you should tamp the ground around where they are to make it more difficult for any seeds that remain to germinate. It also suggested clipping them as close to the ground as you can right as they begin to flower, and, as a last resort, spraying them with chemicals (although it makes me a little sad to use any sort of chemical in the woods…).

  7. GGG permalink
    May 28, 2011 9:53 am

    I just wish my neighbors would pull their mustard weed. Seems like I’m getting nowhere when I pull mine and their yards are still full of it!

Leave a Reply

