Skip to content

pregnancy: week 33

May 16, 2011

This week we were encouraged to write a birth plan for our natural birthing class.

Here’s mine:

  • get the baby out.
  • bonus points if mom & baby are healthy.

Although, if all goes ideally (as in, both Rico & I remain healthy through labor, etc), I’ve got a whole bunch of other crazy requests to follow that up.

  • limit the number of interruptions/distractions (including monitoring!)
  • do not ask for pain ratings or offer pain medications
  • allow for movement during labor/choice of pushing position
  • light eating/plenty of water to drink
  • as much time as is necessary to labor/push
  • skin to skin contact after our baby’s birth

I’d love for this whole thing to be quick and easy (those of you that have been through this should feel free to laugh now), but I get that it can take some time.  We’ve decided that the key to the whole thing is staying home as long as possible.  So in 8 weeks, I might report back that I had the baby in the car on the way to the hospital.

I’m hoping to avoid an epidural – not because I have anything major against drugs, but because the thought of someone jamming a needle into my spine freaks me out.  Having said that, if the pain gets so bad that jamming a needle into my spine sounds appealing/necessary, I’m going to go ahead and ask for one.  Not knowing what labor will be like, I’d like to keep my options open, and I’d like to be proud of myself for giving birth regardless of whether there’s medication on board or not.  (I’ve read/met many women who are so anti-drug that they feel like they let themselves down if they’ve taken the epidural… I’d rather not feel like that – giving birth is a pretty big deal no matter how it happens!)

So I’m going to hope for a successful, normal drug-free delivery, and that’s why we’ve been taking this super-extended natural birth course.  So far, I feel like it’s been really helpful in preparing me for what will happen in (gasp!) roughly 7 weeks, and I’d recommend it to anyone who is expecting.  Even if I did ask for the epidural, there’s no guarantee that it would work, so I’m hoping that this course will provide me with some mad birthing skillz regardless, and will give J some good tips on being a great coach/support guy.  Either way, I’m just trying to stay relaxed & positive about the whole thing, and to remember that our main goal is to get a healthy baby out of the deal.

{The only picture taken of me this week – super-flattering, right!?  I sat down on the driveway to inspect the hostas I planted last summer, and Barley came over to snuggle with me and lick me.  Thus, the crazy face.}

Also, in a complete and total hippie-dippie move (and I mean that with the utmost affection for the hippie mamas of the world), I’ve started doing Hypnobabies (it’s hypnosis for birth!).  I’ve heard (via friends & blog-stalking) that this can be an incredibly helpful method of taking the edge off of labor.  I can’t get past the first 3-4 minutes of the hypnosis recording without falling asleep, so apparently this sort of relaxation is working a little too well for me…  (although I think my goal is to relax through the entire 30 min recording without falling asleep… oops).  I’ll keep you updated about it’s claims to reduce pain during childbirth, though, since I’m sure some of you (hi mom!) will be really skeptical.  I’m a little skeptical myself, but am trying to throw myself into it since pain perception is definitely a top-down process (i.e., controlled by your brain).  (We just finished covering “pain perception” in the class that I’ve been teaching, so I’ve been reading all sorts of scientific research on this sort of thing).

AND!  My sweet coworkers threw me a surprise shower this week!  I have probably mentioned it before, but I really like my job… partly because most of my students are awesome, but also because my coworkers are really really wonderful.  I’m really lucky, and feel like I’ve just sort of fallen into this wonderful job situation.  Now… to begin looking for very very part-time childcare for fall (as in, two half-days per week).  Wish us luck!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. GGG permalink
    May 16, 2011 9:54 am

    Now that you’ve covered just about everthing else on child birth why not try just some plain old positive thinking 🙂 Your’re going to pop that baby out just like your GGG did!!!!!

  2. Debbie permalink
    May 16, 2011 11:02 am

    Sounds like a well thought out plan to me and I know you always accomplish what you set out to do! I want to tell you that I had a 4 hour labor (start to finish) with Rico’s father. GGG sounds as if she also had a quick labor so we’ll hope you follow that lead. I had three completely different labors and they all had the same beautiful outcome. My wish for you is a happy healthy baby and that’s all that matters.

  3. May 16, 2011 2:08 pm

    Cute photo! My hubby and I just reviewed all the things he needs to know for our birth plan too and things he should be telling the “people” when we check into the hospital. Hope you are feeling good 🙂

  4. May 16, 2011 3:45 pm

    Your totally right -giving birth is a pretty big deal no matter how it happens! In the end, it will be what it will be and you won’t even care! You’ll be so tired that it really didn’t matter if it was 4 hours of labor or 11 (like mine), if you had an epidural or not! I set up a birthing plan as well and it all sounds good on paper (text) till it hurts! Enjoy being pregnant for a few more weeks.

  5. May 16, 2011 8:31 pm

    I love your birth plan! In fact, I love anyone’s birth plan. I just love that everyone can approach labor from any point of view and that none of them are wrong. And just in case you do go the epidural route, I was super freaked out about the needle in the spine part but found it was zero concern when I got to that point (but remember, my induced labor caused constant, intense contractions at 3 cm, something that just wouldn’t happen in a natural birth–you’ll probably still be at home at 3 cm!! ).

    I am so excited for you! You definitely have the right attitude and you are going to be GREAT!

  6. May 17, 2011 11:47 am

    I thought perhaps the photo was of you practicing your labor face!

    Love your plan, especially the first line – and your flexibility!

    I’ve ended up with 3 epidurals (and 3 sections) and all worked.

    Everytime I spot you in my Reader, I click over quickly wondering if something has happened, like a birth for example!

    • May 17, 2011 7:04 pm

      Oh my goodness – I hope baby doesn’t come anytime soon! I still need a few weeks! 🙂

  7. May 18, 2011 1:00 am

    I’m so excited for you guys! Granted I’m not the one who has to pop out a wee one right now, but you know what I mean. I think your birth plan sounds great though and I agree about the epidural. **Again, not pregnant here so I don’t know much but just my thoughts** I think if I can do it without great, if not, then so be it. I too find the needle to be freakish and seriously, why can’t they come up with a better way to administer after all these years? 😉 I’ve only known a few women who gave birth over the past few years, when it seems like the “natural is better and if you don’t you are horrible” trend has started and it saddens me. Thankfully the women I knew did what was best for them and I’m glad they did…I would hate for a friend or family member to feel bad if they just had to do the epidural, or seriously wanted it planned ahead, it’s their choice!

  8. Kate permalink
    May 19, 2011 3:48 pm

    I’ll be honest, go into labor with a completely open mind (which it sounds like you are). You never really know how it’s going to go for you in terms of pain. Some people manage really well, and others just really need the pain relief. Plus it depends on so many factors- your bone structure, baby’s presentation, how big baby is, induction or natural, and your body’s reaction to pain.

    For me, I was induced twice and managed the pain ok. But once I got the epidural I was able to relax, and I dilated super fast after that. I think I clenched my muscles rather than letting the contractions do their work. Even funnier, after two babies, I still haven’t had a normal contraction only pitocin contractions- my body never wants to deliver. ha ha.

    But to be honest, all the pain in the world is worth it when you get that baby. Plus I would go through labor 10 times rather than be pregnant for 9 months. 😉 Oh, and I’ll be honest the needle in the back never scared me, I was more worried about having a huge baby- they tend to run in my family. Hence the inductions.

    Best wishes for a safe and healthy labor & delivery!

  9. May 20, 2011 3:13 pm

    It’s getting so close!!! Just keep picturing a nice smooth and quick delivery – I’m so in that mindset 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. What pregnancy has taught me « Little Seed of Hope
  2. What pregnancy has taught me | Rainbows Reborn

Leave a Reply

