Skip to content

pregnancy: week 32

May 9, 2011

I know I say this every week, but whoa.  How did we get here?

From our doctor’s visit: Rico’s heartrate = 143, the belly measures at exactly 32 weeks, I’m up 5!?! pounds this time for a total weight gain of… 27 lbs (am hoping this weight is not all gathering in my butt, as that is the one area that I cannot reliably check out right now – the rest of me seems to be okay).

Also, Rico appears to have moved into head down position, which is causing a huge sigh of relief from this girl since no one in our area will even attempt to deliver a breech baby and I’m hoping to avoid a C-section.  Thanks for cooperating, Rico!  Now, maybe you can just stay there for a few weeks (at least 6, please), and when it’s time to come out, just make one definitive break for it.  None of this 50 hours of travel bit that I’ve been hearing about other babies pulling.  Mmmkay?

Also this week, we met & picked out a pediatrician, and JT’s been working his butt off trying to get all sorts of odds & ends finished up around the house.  I know Rico doesn’t care whether the bathroom fan works or how pretty/functional the laundry room is, but it makes me feel better knowing that these are things we won’t have to worry about this summer when our house is full of Rico-loving visitors.

We were assigned to watch a really long video about natural childbirth for this week’s class (it was seriously an hour or more of naked ladies birthing babies), and while both JT and I were urging the film to quickly come to an end (so we could go back to watching Criminal Minds), it’s probably good to have the affirmation that all this birthy stuff is completely natural and miraculous and wonderful and all of that mushy sentimental crap that I usually roll my eyes at.  On a related note, my latest plea to Jason is DO NOT LET ME WALK AROUND THE DELIVERY ROOM NAKED, even if I seem to think it’s a good idea at the time, DO NOT LET ME DO THAT.

Also in news this week, I discovered the joy that is the green smoothie.  Green because there’s spinach in it.  I know, I know, it doesn’t sound awesome, but it is.  I’ve been told to get more iron & leafy greens in my diet, so I’ve been trying to force myself to eat a lot of spinach lately and I’m completely over it.  The green smoothie rocks my world because I can get at least a cup of frozen spinach (2 servings!) in without actually tasting it.  If you’re brave enough to try the green smoothie, my version contains ~1 c frozen spinach, a frozen banana (and sometimes other frozen fruit), plain yogurt (either regular or greek – but the greek yogurt has more protein, which I also need), and OJ.  The secret of the smoothie is that you’ve got to add banana to naturally sweeten it — other fruits won’t sweeten the smoothie as much.  Bonus points for you for combining spinach & vitamin C because vitamin C increases the amount of iron your body can absorb from the spinach.  And that is 2 hours worth of inet research coming at you.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    May 9, 2011 9:36 am

    Jenny! You look FANTASTIC. I can’t wait to meet your kiddo!

  2. May 9, 2011 9:41 am

    You look wonderful! Hoep you are feeling great 🙂

  3. May 9, 2011 10:23 am

    You look great. Those green smoothies are truly amazing! 🙂

  4. Tami permalink
    May 9, 2011 11:45 am

    Two words: Cream of Wheat and Coco Wheats. OK, so that is 5 words, 6 if you count “and”…BUT…. check out the nutrition labels on the sides of those boxes. Cream of Wheat has 45% of an adult’s daily amount of iron, and Coco Wheats has 90%…90%! (don’t forget a chocolatey taste!). You can add toasted almonds for protein or fresh/dried fruits to the cream of wheat or just cinnamon and nutmeg for flavor. It helped up my iron intake while I was waiting for Jim, Jen and Catherine to show up.

    • May 9, 2011 11:55 am

      ohmygosh – really? I LOVE Coco Wheats! Looks like I’m headed for the grocery store…

  5. May 9, 2011 1:19 pm

    The part about walking around the room naked made me laugh. I don’t know why. I’ve just been told that by the point, you don’t care and do anything you can to get comfortable. I don’t think hubby can stop you if you wanna walk. A woman in labor gets what she wants. 😉

    You look awesome, btw.

    • May 9, 2011 1:22 pm

      Thanks, Kim. I’ve been told I won’t care in the moment either, but right now, I totally care. And afterwards, I’ll probably care, too. 🙂

  6. GGG permalink
    May 9, 2011 2:13 pm

    Now you can get kicked in the ribs! 🙂

  7. May 9, 2011 3:31 pm

    You look great for 32 weeks! And that smoothie sounds amazing!

    Also, I’m laughing at “DO NOT LET ME WALK AROUND THE DELIVERY ROOM NAKED, even if I seem to think it’s a good idea at the time, DO NOT LET ME DO THAT.” I don’t have kids and am not pregnant, but it sounds like good advice to live by.

  8. May 9, 2011 4:36 pm

    You are looking BLOOMING marvellous !!! 🙂

    (I never bloomed, for any of my 3 kids!)

    Keep well, and let JT do all the work – enjoy the rest while you can.

  9. May 9, 2011 6:53 pm

    Thanks for all the sweet comments guys! This is where I note that maybe it’s Jason budding photog skills that are able to capture me looking half-decent?! 🙂

  10. Amy permalink
    May 9, 2011 8:59 pm

    We’re big fans of spinach in smoothies, too. But. I hate to be the one to tell you this: calcium and iron do not mix. (See http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/1600930)

    My go-to iron boost were eggs. Yolks are the source, but egg yolks alone make me nauseated. Bonus for all of the cholesterol your baby needs for his growing brain!

    • May 10, 2011 11:19 am

      OH, sad. Now that you mention it, that does sound familiar… sigh. At least I still get the other leafy-green goodness, right?

  11. mom permalink
    May 9, 2011 11:47 pm

    Oh, you are looking great, it is all baby weight! We are getting so excited here we can’t wait! It’s really less than 7 weeks right? You are posting about week 32 after you complete it, not while you are in it, right? Seems it is all we can talk about here lately…I must be nesting too because I am cleaning out all of the closets…
    btw, was that snake in facebook really found that way or did Jason carefully position it to test his new photography skills?

    I’m still holding firm to boy predictions so far…a view from behind might help though!

  12. japortma permalink
    May 11, 2011 2:18 pm

    Oh my gosh you look so cute!! You make pregnancy look like so much fun and it fits you soo well! 🙂 It (almost–dont worry mom) makes me think all Jens can look this good pregnant! Miss you so much!!

Leave a Reply

