Skip to content

pregnancy: week 31

May 2, 2011

This week I traveled to MKE for the weekend to visit with family for Easter.  JT and the dogs stayed behind, with strict instructions to clean out the garage.

I am nesting.  In my case, this means that all I want to do is hang out with my sewing machine and bark orders at JT to finish some of our half-done projects.  I also have this crazy desire to throw away EVERYTHING.  Seriously, nothing is safe right now.  Mwah ha ha ha…

I do not have any desire to a) cook or b) clean, which is good news for the giant dog fur tumbleweeds in the hallway, but bad news for the blog (dirty house = no desire to post pics of some of our more recent house updates).  Maybe I’ll change that up this week – I’m getting a little bored with myself talking only about this pregnancy, so it might be time to talk about something else for a while.

It was good to visit with family over the weekend, and I think the belly grew exponentially during my time with them.  Or at least mama bear said that the belly looked bigger every time she looked at it.  Some days I really have trouble believing that it actually CAN get any bigger, but then it does… whoa.

Sister was the only one who has actually poked Rico and gotten him to poke back.  Largely, he ignores my attempts to get him riled up, and he hasn’t responded to anyone else, either.

In new pregnancy symptoms, my pelvis ACHES.  It’s not too bad when sitting, but moving around is slightly painful (is this why pregnant women waddle?).  Any suggestions on how to reduce this are welcome — or am I just stuck with this until Rico shows up?

In awkward moments this week, I was passing papers back to my students and BUMPED ONE WITH THE BELLY.  Mortifying for both of us, I suspect.  Turns out I’m not as small in real life as I am in my head.  Oops.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 2, 2011 11:46 am

    I love this picture of you and Ashley sharing a special moment together. It was even more heartwarming to see firsthand.

  2. May 2, 2011 11:55 am

    Oh yeah, I’ve got the waddle going on these days too. Didn’t think or know if it would happen, but it has! I’m at 37 weeks tomorrow…and feeling ready. Glad you had a good visit with your sister and baby moved for her. Very sweet. Feel good 🙂

  3. May 2, 2011 12:35 pm

    lol! Yup pregnancy waddle, oh the joy! I think I just started waddling around too, lol

    I’m so excited to see what you’ve been up to at your sewing machine, hurry up and share! lol 🙂

  4. May 2, 2011 8:46 pm

    Oh keep posting pregnancy updates. I love them and it never gets old. I can’t wait for baby #2, and you better believe it I will be posting tons of pregnancy updates (along with baby #1 updates). The aches in the pelvis- I use to do the yoga move -HAPPY BABY. It helped, but I couldn’t hold onto my toes, just knees. It felt good and I am sure if someone was video recording me, It looked comical. (big belly sticking out, rocking back and forth and sometimes I pee’d, gross right, but it helped) . I love the OMG I dont fit moment. I had a few of them when I was 9 months along. Kinda makes you laugh and cry all at the same time. Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day!

  5. May 3, 2011 9:11 am

    I’m certainly not bored reading about your pregnancy. Too cute! 🙂

  6. May 4, 2011 4:40 am

    Oh yes – the waddle and the pelvis pain 😦

    Once getting into the car the mat on the floor was wet and my foot slipped – the pain in my pelvis was incredible – 14 years on I still remember it!!!

    Is it at the exciting / scary / daunting / over it already / blooming stage? I was usually all of these on any one day!

    • May 4, 2011 10:38 am

      Whoa – that’s the best way of describing where I’m at that I’ve heard yet! I’m really excited to meet the baby, a little scared of what that’s going to be like, overwhelmed at this new responsibility, kind of sick of being pregnant/waiting, and also feeling pretty awestruck by what my body is doing!

Leave a Reply

