Skip to content

pregnancy: week 30

April 28, 2011

Week 30.  Whoa.  Where has the time gone?

Had another good check up with the doc this week – have gained 22 lbs total, baby’s heart rate was 153.  Rico’s head appears to be conveniently lodged up and under my right rib, or at least near it enough to cause a little discomfort by the end of each day (the near bone-to-bone contact in there also creeps me out).  But really, I can’t complain.  We’re still feeling so lucky to have a healthy baby and pregnancy, and let’s face it: he’s way easier to take care of when he’s in there than he will be once he breaks out (Rico: *pleasedon’tbeacolickybabypleasedon’tbeacolickybabypleasedon’tbeacolickybaby*).

We’re still rocking the natural birth class, and I think we might still be the least touchy-feely couple in attendance (we laid down to do relaxation techniques and I’m all “don’t look at me!” — just as the teacher walked by.  At least she reassured me that I might not be the first mama to kick everyone out of the delivery room.).  Jason obtained a list of instructions for the birth — my favorite (and rule #1) is make sure you have good breath.  Other gems include don’t complain about being tired/hungry/etc and don’t yell at her like you’re a football coach.  He also received a list of things that he SHOULD say while I’m in labor, so it looks like he’s all set to rock this thing.  I, on the other hand, have like 4 more weeks of in-classroom training and then (hopefully!) 6 more weeks of trying-to-wrap-my-head-around-this before the big event.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 3:59 pm

    Yay your almost to the finished line!! and your looking great, I’m just a two weeks ahead of you.

    How’s the nursery coming along?

    • April 28, 2011 9:21 pm

      The nursery is coming along well, but I still have so many projects that I want to accomplish before baby gets here… I can’t wait to see how yours is coming along!

  2. GGG permalink
    April 28, 2011 4:40 pm

    Pleasdon’tbeacolickybabypleasdon’tbeacolickybaby 🙂 Think that’ll help?

  3. April 28, 2011 8:37 pm

    Time flies when you’re having fun! 😉

  4. April 29, 2011 12:02 pm

    I love the 30 week pictures! You look great! At this point in my pregnancy I blew up like a balloon on steroids. I hope your class works well for you. We took a natural birthing class. It really did help.

    • May 2, 2011 9:58 am

      Thanks, Janelle! Glad to hear the class was helpful for you… I hope the class we’re taking will be helpful!!

  5. April 29, 2011 1:58 pm

    Holy Cow! I can’t believe it’s 30 weeks already! Our baby’s heart rate was at 170 when I was there. My mom says we are having a girl. lol…Can’t wait to see the nursery!!!

  6. April 29, 2011 4:40 pm

    You look GREAT! And the time is flying by! Our baby Logan was born on April 14… I just haven’t gotten around to posting about it. Hopefully I can start on that this afternoon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

