Skip to content

pregnancy: week 29

April 18, 2011

This week we were showered with more baby love (& gifts!) as our sweet friends threw us a fun little party in anticipation of Rico’s arrival.  We are lucky lucky people to have made such wonderful friends in the 2 years we’ve lived here… and Rico is one lucky kid to already have a community of people here who are crazy about him!

It was a swanky party, held at our friend’s condo association clubhouse.  The food was just amazing – one of the party hostesses is an AMAZING cook and made a seriously awesome lasagna dinner (with homemade noodles and sauce!).  I made Jason take note that our two new dad friends held their babies so that their baby mommas could sit down to eat, suggesting that should be him in 11 weeks.

The centerpieces on the table were simple, but gorgeous – tulips of all colors in glass jars.  So springy & fun!  (Note: it’s snowing here as I type this, so I’m looking at these photos & hoping that spring will come back soon).

And for dessert?  An amazing 4-layered chocolate cake.  I am drooling a little just thinking about it all…

Also this week, we planted seeds for this summer’s vegetable garden (which will be Jason’s baby once I’m too big or too busy with Rico).  And I’ve been cleaning up the flower gardens around the house…  It’s no small feat since a) they’re pretty big, b) I was too sick/tired last fall to properly clean & weed them, and c) we live in the woods and are constantly inundated with weeds.  Oh, yes, and also?  We’ve seen ferile cats wandering the yard in the past, so I am a bit paranoid about contracting toxoplasmosis (a potential Rico-killer) and insist on wearing latex gloves any time I even think about touching anything outside.  It’s really something. 🙂

{Truthfully, as I type this, I wonder if I should be concerned about my little cat-like dog who was found last week swallowing an entire chipmunk that she later threw up and then tried to lick, and would have been successful had Jason not chased her off with a shovel.  I hope this is another item on a rapidly growing list of ways dogs are not like kids, because I just don’t think I could handle TWO chipmunk-eaters at my house.}

I woke up screaming Wednesday morning with a massive charlie horse in my calf.  Poor Jason – I think I gave him a heart attack thinking that I’d gone into labor.  I guess next time I yell, “owowowowow”, I need to clarify that it’s a leg issue, not a belly issue.

And, finally, week 2 of natural birth class went well, with the exception that I was horrible about tracking my food intake last week (and the teacher asked us to record & submit our eating patterns), and that I might have gotten Jason into trouble.  At the end of class, we did a relaxation/meditation exercise, and all of the other couples were cozying up, and I look at Jason and go, “you don’t need to touch me“.  So we plop down on the floor – separately – and the teacher looks at Jason and says, “the point is to make her comfortable!”  I tried to save him by mentioning that I just wanted to be left alone to relax – that I’d be distracted by him – but I’m sure the rest of the couples in the class think we’re headed for divorce court.  Oops…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    April 18, 2011 11:01 am

    Gorgeous shower! I can only imagine how yummy lasagna would be with home made noodles. I had totally forgotten those charlie horses… ugh! Hang in there!

  2. April 18, 2011 12:43 pm

    Beautiful shower! Those tulips make my heart go pitter patter. 😉

    Love the boys holding the babies. What great daddies.

    • Atsuko permalink
      April 18, 2011 3:39 pm

      I am same with you. I feel that the man carrying a baby is very attractive.

  3. Atsuko permalink
    April 18, 2011 3:38 pm

    What a nice baby shower!

  4. April 19, 2011 2:11 pm

    The shower looks amazing! I’ve had those nasty legs cramps too, owww! I’ve been doing a little stretching before I hit the sack, so far its work! 🙂

  5. Mom permalink
    April 19, 2011 7:46 pm

    Yep, forgot about those charlie horses…only time I ever had them was when I was pregnant. Those in the know at the time said to flex, not point your foot and that it upping your calcium intake would help. What do they say to do now?

    • May 2, 2011 10:00 am

      Flex & bananas are apparently the way to go. Fortunately I haven’t had any other cramps… yet…

  6. April 24, 2011 1:16 pm

    Oh I hate those leg cramps – I kept a spare floor tile from our bathroom for the purpose of putting my foot on it in the night to stop the cramp – not sure of it worked, but it give me something else to do while screaming!

Leave a Reply

