Skip to content

square patchwork baby quilt

April 14, 2011

I started making this quilt for our friend’s newborn baby girl…  and then I got sidetracked with other projects (this seems to happen to me a lot – I get halfway through something and then give up and start another project…).  But!  I finally finished & I’m pretty psyched with the final product.  (I used Nicey Jane fabrics by Heather Bailey for the front & Kona cotton for the back).

I went with a sort of random patchwork design & then quilted on either side of each seam to make a box pattern.  (I’m really proud of the quilting on this one – I think my sewing-in-a-straight-line skillz are definitely improving!  And actually, I feel a little bit sad for those people who were the recipients of my first few quilts, because this one is definitely better than all of them…)

The quilting looks super-cool from the back, too.  (I think the only reason you can see through the back here is because I’m shooting towards the sun, because the blue backing doesn’t look this see-through when it’s laid out on the couch…)

Next up I will attempt to make a zigzag quilt for Rico.  Fingers crossed that a) I have the skillz to pull it off, and b) I have the attention span to finish it before he gets here…

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 11:19 am

    That is gorgeous! I love the patterns and colors and it’s something that can work well beyond the infant years. So pretty 🙂

  2. April 14, 2011 11:31 am

    What a lovely quilt!

  3. April 14, 2011 1:21 pm

    I really like it! The fabric is great. And I’m digging the quilting. I like to quilt with straight lines along seams, too. Good look.

    Cannot WAIT to see the zig zag quilt. I have a charm pack I want to make into a zig zag quilt for myself, but I don’t know when that will happen. =)

  4. April 14, 2011 2:42 pm

    Amazing! I’m like you – halfway through a project, I usually get bored and move on… I’d never be able to finish anything this detailed. You rock!

  5. April 14, 2011 4:13 pm

    Oh it is just beautiful! I’m so insanely jealous. I think that I have to give up on my quilting dream due to our new budget. I have all of the fabric for the front, but not the back or the batting. 😦

    Great work Jen!

  6. Debbie permalink
    April 14, 2011 6:04 pm

    I love it! Love the colors! The recipients of your previous quilts were lucky as well. I’ve seen some of them!

  7. April 14, 2011 6:57 pm

    its so pretty! Love it!! 🙂 I also love the fabric you choose for the border!

  8. Atsuko permalink
    April 15, 2011 7:29 am

    So cute and beautiful! I wish I know hot to quilt. By any chance, do you think you will make a new category on how to quilt?
    Thank you for sharing your fabulous work.

  9. April 15, 2011 9:59 am

    Sooo cute! 🙂

  10. Tami permalink
    April 15, 2011 3:33 pm

    Charming quilt! I love the colors, patterns and your quilting.

    As far as Rico’s quilt goes…I hope you finish in time. BUT if you don’t, I doubt he will notice. I believe I was on the floor pinning the backing on Jim and Jennifer’s quilts the day before they were born…and I heard no complaints from them. Good luck! 🙂

  11. April 17, 2011 9:01 pm

    Gorgeous! I love your choice of fabrics. And, um, hello…your binding and quilting look PERFECT! Getting Ike’s quilt done was one thing I did not finish before he was born. Heck, I haven’t even started it (although I have all of the material on hand). But, I figure he still can’t sleep with blankets for a while…

  12. Heather M. permalink
    August 7, 2011 3:14 pm

    I googled patchwork quilts, and your came up. It looks beautiful! I have a question, what kind of thread did you use for the quilting?

    • August 8, 2011 10:34 pm

      I just used cheap cotton thread for the quilting… I’m not sure whether this was a good idea or not, but it’s what I had on hand. I’ve made a few quilts with cheap cotton thread now and haven’t gotten any complaints about how they’ve held up after washing, etc, so hopefully it’ll hold up for a while!

Trackbacks

  1. square patchwork baby quilt « | sofa|Pillow|Sofa cushions|Quilt|Cushion – Xintiandi Plaza, welcome to buy home - sofa,Pillow,long pillow,mattress,baby bath towels,Sofa cushions,sofa mart,cushion,heated seats,Bedspread,Towel,tea towel,Quilt,quilt pa
  2. baby quilts! «

Leave a Reply

