Skip to content

pregnancy: weeks 27-28

April 13, 2011

I sort of dropped the ball on the blog updates last week… I’ve been sick with whatever the latest virus to hit campus is (I am definitely blaming this one on my just-returned-from-swapping-germs-over-spring-break students).  Last week was a pretty miserable week, involving losing my voice, a temperature!, and having absolutely no energy whatsoever.  This thing is on it’s way out, but it’s left me a week behind where I’d like to be with work, taxes, etc, etc.

That, and the weather here has been gorgeous and springy the past few days, and who wants to sit in front of a computer screen when they could be outside enjoying the sunshine?  You can relate, right?!  We’ve been slowly cleaning up the yard & preparing for this years new & improved vegetable garden…

And!  I have been crafting, so I actually do have some fun things to show you this week.  First up, though?  I have to satisfy my mom’s insatiable desire to see the bump.  (Also, I’ve updated the bump photo that I never posted for week 25 here).

Week 27

Baby hiccups! happened this week, and they’re cute and sort of tickle-y.  I don’t know really how to describe them, they’re just sort of like a series of tiny repetitive movements.

The only other notable thing that happened this week was that Jason got all deep and philosophical on me and asked, “Do you feel bad about bringing this kid into such a horrible world?”  Which, I’ve heard is like all you cry about when you get postpartum depression.  {Thank you, JT} But, for right now, I don’t feel bad about it, and that’s mostly because I’m hopeful that we can raise our kiddo to be an active contributor to a better world.

Week 28

aka week of sickness & misery.  I can’t believe how much this little virus has knocked me on my butt.  And that’s all I’m going to say about that because I’m hoping that it’s on it’s way out.

My mom, dad, & brother Trevor stopped by over the weekend to check out the baby bump.  I have a little guilt that this might go down as the lamest. visit. ever. for them because I basically laid on the couch and moaned all weekend.  But!  Dad did get out the chainsaw & go crazy cleaning up some of the fallen nonsense around the yard {thanks dad! you were a rockstar! can’t wait for you to come back & re-roof the house!}.  And Trevor went to the local air museum & loved it.  And, really, no one takes care of you like your mom, so it was good to have her on hand.

We headed back to the doctor this week, meeting a new member of the practice, one I’m not exactly thrilled about.  The two other docs in the practice that I’ve met are really great, but this one’s got me wondering if I ought to change providers?  All is looking good, though.  I’ve gained 5 lbs since the last visit, coming to 21 lbs gained total, which puts me on track to gain the 25-35 lbs that they’ve suggested (and hopefully not too much more).  Baby’s heart rate is 144, and he likes to move a lot when listened to!

We also started our 8-week, 2.5 hours/week natural birthing class last night.  Jason earned bonus points for being an active participant in the class & also for his hilarious interpretation of what he expected from the teacher/class.

(The interpretation involves him, using a high and very soft voice, and saying something like, “oh! it’s just such a wonderful, beautiful moment when you bring a new being into this world of tsunamis and school shootings!”  Let’s just say that when we envision Rico’s eviction day, “beautiful” is not at the top of the list of things we’re imagining.  Probably words like, “gruesome” or “painful” or “raw” are.)

Fortunately, our teacher is pretty down-to-earth.  So we talked about things like nutrition, listed ways to manage pain, and learned some back/tummy exercises.  She’s also really great about saying, “hey dads! this is where you’re supposed to help out!” so hopefully the class was at least a little bit relevant for JT.

We did watch a fairly awful video in which women discussed their home birth experiences, but gave the impression that anyone who chooses a medicated birth is somehow less of a mom/woman/etc.  Not a fan of the this is what we did, everyone else sucks approach, but it seems to run rampant through much of the parenting stuff that I’ve encountered.  I’ve yet to figure out why this is, but will actively be trying to avoid the mama drama.

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 10:46 am

    Looking good! Glad to hear you are feeling better. Good luck with your birthing class 🙂

  2. April 13, 2011 11:59 am

    You are far too young to be that jaded and cynical about the future… Stuff happens and much of it not good BUT there is more good than bad and you really need to “see it” everyday. It is a simple as the guy at the 4 way stop “letting you go first” to the 2 year old child in the check out line that smiles at you. Forget the “sensationalism” of the media. Rico will be loved by mom and dad and family… and will be a positive contributor to the greater good, this I know.
    Neatest deal I did all weekend was to stand in your woods and listen…

    • GGG permalink
      April 14, 2011 12:17 pm

      I’m all teared up. I guess I “mothered” successfully by what D wrote.

  3. April 13, 2011 3:48 pm

    O god! You sound like me! I freaked myself out thinking about our 10 year old having a cell phone! lol…I didn’t have one then, so why do they need one? Sometimes, the media can scare the crap out of me.

  4. Lisa permalink
    April 13, 2011 5:09 pm

    Um, lol. Having vaginally (but barely) delivered a 10 lb baby – whose head was in the 99th percentile for circumference – I have to chuckle at those who think medicated deliveries make one less of a woman. I really find that view steeped in subconscious sexism and generally simple-minded thinking. To each their own, I say. If you happen to have a childbirth safe and easy enough to go natural, that’s great, but not everyone will. Giving birth is a mere 12 (average – in my case 33) hours of about 500,000 hours of being a *mother* to your baby. It seems like the be-all end-all before you do it but it’s really just the blink of an eye and it doesn’t define you as a woman or a mother.

    Anyway that illness sounds awful, it’s SO hard to be sick when you’re pregnant!

  5. April 13, 2011 7:34 pm

    You look so good! Ack! I am so excited for you. I was horrified by videos in our short one-day child birth class. To this day, I still tell myself that I didn’t actually do what I saw in those videos.

  6. Amy permalink
    April 13, 2011 11:09 pm

    Just remember all of this business of being a parent (and especially a mother) is akin to a religion. It’s so personal and it matters so much (raising little ones to be beacons of good in this crappy, crappy world). Just as people will be confounded/outraged/confused/put off by your religious beliefs, so too will they by your parenting philosophy.

    (By the “religion” analogy I mean that you’ll meet mothers who essentially espouse “believe what I believe or you’re going to Hell” and those who are more “this is what I believe, it works for us, but you seem like a good person even if you don’t do it, too.”)

  7. April 14, 2011 11:26 am

    UGH, being pregnant and being sick like that–you poor thing! You’re looking great though 🙂 So have you guys decided what you are doing for the birth–too nosy for me to ask? I just always like to hear all sides. I too have been told by women (who have never been pregnant and I’ve never been pregnant either) that if I do choose to use medication while giving birth then I’m poisioning my baby and making them all foggy/sluggish like, etc etc I swear, opinions are like assholes, everyone has them and no one wants another one. 😦

  8. GpaGG permalink
    April 14, 2011 12:34 pm

    Hey, It’s a beauti9ful world out there and Rico can’t wait to get to it. Jason you know that. Just got back from the orphans in Haiti and they know it too. I know it too, and it’ll be even better when we all get a new baby. Kids, the real hope of the world. Love to all.
    Great gramps

  9. GGG permalink
    April 15, 2011 8:50 am

    I love the hair-do on the “bump” picture:)

Leave a Reply

