Skip to content

more pics from Jersey

March 31, 2011

Can I be really honest with you?

Our trip out East was exhausting.  And I think most of that has to do with the adorable little children that we played with all week.  Don’t get me wrong – we loved every minute of it.  It’s just… there were a few times JT looked at each other and said, “are we really ready for this chaos?”  (Luckily, my MIL reminded me that there’s a reason kids don’t usually arrive 4 at a time 🙂 ).

Here’s a quick recap, for those of you who are curious about these sorts of things (hi mom!):

Saturday: baby shower, dinner w/my BFF EAH & her fiance, arrive back to the house in time to wave goodbye to sleepy children (or in Jason’s case, make silly faces with them), hang out with MIL & SIL

Sunday: family day!  (except that I ran to GapMaternity mid day & picked up 2 sweaters for $10 total – score!  just in time, too, as all of my non-maternity warm layers are not fitting like they used to…)

JT, his dad, & brother took down a tree in the front yard as the women & children watched.  There was a moment or two where I wondered if it was a good idea for my baby daddy to be running around with a chainsaw (especially since I sort of bullied them into taking the tree down…).  But no one was hurt & the tree was down & chopped up just in time for the township to collect everything!


Monday: we hit up Ikea!  yay!  I miss living near Ikea…  picked up some cheap sheer white curtains for the office & a yellow trash/dirty clothes/diapers bin for Rico’s room.  Score!

Tuesday: the zoo!  The entire clan, with the exception of 2 of the men (they were working) hit up the Philadelphia zoo.  It was super-fun, the weather was nice, and the kids seemed to enjoy themselves.

Wednesday: shopping + Chipotle = happiness.  Especially when your shopping companion is so cute…

Thursday: J’s mom brought over one of the little girls she watches & the two little girls had a blast playing in the dogs’ kennels.  Note to self: skip expensive baby toys, buy additional kennel instead.

 

Afterwards, we headed into Philly to have lunch with a friend, and I shopped at Spool for a minute (a fabric store – because I found their stuffed bird pattern online & was smitten with it).

Friday: brunch with SILs, nieces, & nephews at a cute little retro diner.  Was totally asked which one was mine & happily pointed to my belly. 🙂  The banana french toast was amazing and I think I’m going into a sugar coma just thinking about the caramel/banana topping on it.

We played with the kiddos for a bit, too — they were initially headed to the children’s museum, but we were particularly excited that when given the choice between museum and play with barley, jezebel, aunt jen, & uncle j, they chose us…

Friday night we headed into Philly to meet up with J’s high school friends & their significant others.  We happened to walk past the liberty bell on our way to dinner, which was simultaneously a) thrilling (I previously whined about going all that way and not even getting to see touristy things), and b) not thrilling (it’s a giant bell locked behind a bunch of glass).  Dinner was great & I really enjoy catching up with J’s friends.  I’m kind of certain, though, that bar environments were not made for preggos – it’s hard to squeeze through the crowd to head to the (increasingly dirty as the night goes on) bathroom without bumping a few peeps with the belly, and I am very selective about who gets to touch the belly these days.  I wonder a little bit about how many crazy looks were thrown my way, because I stopped paying attention after the first two.

Saturday: say bye to the fam, drive back to MI, collapse, exhausted into bed around 1am Sunday.  Phew!

In other not-related-to-our-trip-but-still-exciting news, I got my teaching evals back for last term & for some crazy reason, these students seem to like me.  They were really great evals & I’ve been asked to teach again next year!  I’m particularly excited about this opportunity because I’d still be working only part-time, so would get some extra time during the week to spend with Rico, but would also be using my brain/education for something.  We just started a new term here, which should partially explain my absence this week (I teach for the next 10 weeks, baby is due in 12, hope he doesn’t come early!).  I’ve got my fingers crossed that the students in this class will appreciate my teaching style as much as the last one seemed to…

Also, WE BOUGHT A DISHWASHER!!!  This is huge news as we’ve been hand-washing dishes since 2007 and are completely over it.  We got a great deal on an open item dishwasher at the Home Depot ($312 for a $530 machine, including a 3-year warranty), and it was one of the four we’d been stalking for the last month, so we went ahead and bought it.  We’ll have to build a cabinet for it & have plumbing/electrical installed before we can use it, but methinks this is a step in the right direction…

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    March 31, 2011 11:46 am

    It is sooooo different when it’s your own kid. And also when you only have 1 instead of 2. Don’t get me wrong – there are still rough moments. But nothing like it seems “on paper” before it’s your own child you’re dealing with.

    • March 31, 2011 1:48 pm

      That’s good to hear! 🙂 I sort of figured it would be that way, but when it’s my own I’ve got to actually discipline & change diapers… (who am I kidding? Jason will totally be in charge of those things.)

  2. Auntie to-be:) permalink
    March 31, 2011 12:17 pm

    Awww! Those pictures of J with the kids at the top of the blog are adorable!

  3. March 31, 2011 12:57 pm

    I seem to remember that you live near A2, right? If so, there is an Ikea very close to you – in Canton, MI. I think that’s about a 20 or so minute drive.

    http://www.ikea.com/us/en/store/canton

    • March 31, 2011 1:46 pm

      Nah, I’m much farther west… the closest ikea is 2 hours from here… 😦

  4. March 31, 2011 1:25 pm

    Pfew… I’m worn out just reading about all your Philly adventures! That pic of the girls in the cages is hilarious.

    Congrats on the teaching gig! And on the dishwasher! Sounds like everything is going super-great right now.

  5. March 31, 2011 2:42 pm

    Your trip sounds like so much fun, I can see why you were exhausted busy busy! The little girls in the dog crate * priceless *

    I so agree about chipotle + shopping = happiness! YES! 🙂

  6. Debbie permalink
    March 31, 2011 5:56 pm

    Jason looks so happy holding Thomas. He’s probably thinking “this one stays still for a while; so THAT’s what it will be like.
    It should be noted that the girls went into the kennels of their own accord and really enjoyed it!
    Congrats on the dishwasher! I know it will come in very handy leaving you more time to snuggle with Rico.

  7. March 31, 2011 9:10 pm

    A new dishwasher, yay! 🙂 I love the photo of the kiddos in the kennels. Who needs a playpen? 😉 You are looking great.

  8. March 31, 2011 9:27 pm

    Seriously, I wish we lived closer. You love IKEA? You love Chipotle? You go to the zoo? I think we were made to be friends.

    And for real, awesome deal on the dishwasher. I need to check for open items. Need to get on that. Is it white?

  9. mom permalink
    March 31, 2011 11:19 pm

    I’m tired just reading about your week! Sounds like loads of fun, though. I think I just read what Dad’s rainy day project will be~the dishwasher? Did I mention he is a master plumber and electrician??

  10. April 1, 2011 4:58 pm

    Welcome home to your new dishwasher – I’m sure you will all be very happy together 🙂

  11. April 2, 2011 2:50 pm

    You are due in 12 weeks!?!? This is FLYING by! So exciting.

  12. April 4, 2011 5:22 pm

    Yada, yada, yada – fun trip, cute kids, great time . . . HOLY CRAP you have a dishwasher?! I’m so insanely jealous you have no idea! 🙂 Super cute mama!

    • April 5, 2011 3:31 pm

      Don’t be too jealous (yet) – it’s sitting wrapped up in the dining room until we have a cabinet/electricity/water to connect it to…

  13. April 9, 2011 3:10 pm

    What a great week! I love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

