Skip to content

pregnancy: week 26

March 28, 2011

I spent the 26th week of this pregnancy in South Jersey visiting with family.

Thanks to spring break, I had an entire week off, and JT & I packed up the dogs & hit the road.  The 10-hour drive turned into 12 since we had to make a few extra stops & also since we thought it’d be a good idea to pull the dogs out & walk them a little more than we usually do (this was as much for me as it was for the dogs!).  Still, it’s not a horrible trip, and it’s made much better (for me) by the fact that JT doesn’t mind driving the entire way.

My sweet MIL had a wonderful baby shower planned for us on Saturday, and we were lucky enough to have great weather for the event – sunny & warm!  Yay!  (On that note, I am a little jealous that they’re getting spring already… green grass, blooming forsythia & daffodils… sigh.)

Rico thought he’d play a little prank on me by NOT MOVING AT ALL Saturday morning.  Not one to overreact, I spent the morning pondering how horrible it would be to have a shower for a baby that died in utero.  You know, because this is like a super-normal thing to think when your baby decides to sleep in.

I drank a little of Jason’s Coke at lunchtime, though, and that seemed to get Rico moving.  Checkmate, Rico.

We had a great time chatting with cousins, aunts, & siblings that we don’t get to see enough.  And the number of cute (and very stylish) small children at these family gatherings seems to be multiplying faster than we can keep track.

The back-to-back belly shot cracks me up.  Even if mine is bigger than his.  And even though we both desperately need hair cuts.

My BFF & her fiance drove from NYC to join us for the afternoon, and I was so thrilled to see them and get a chance to catch up!

Unfortunately, I didn’t get many other photos than the ones above, but I think I can probably steal a few from other family members.

What we did get a lot of on Saturday were awesome presents!  We were so blessed by the generosity of our family and friends – whoa!  Notably, Rico can now head home from the hospital in his new car seat, and he’s got lots of bathy stuff & gear for solid-food feedings, as well as clothes & books & sheets & monitors.  (Seriously, the car was so packed on the way home that one of the dogs almost had to stay in Jersey.)

I think, though, best of all is knowing how lucky our baby is to be surrounded by so many people who love him.  Lucky, lucky kid.

Also, I’ll mention that it was nice to hear so many people say, “you look great!” even if I think that’s a standard line fed to pregnant ladies. 🙂  I’ll gladly take the compliments, but it’s interesting to me that even strangers have started commenting on my physical appearance like it’s their job.  As long as none of them are like, “YOU LOOK LIKE YOU’RE GONNA POP!” or “ARE YOU DUE TOMORROW?”, I can probably deal with it.

Other than the shower, things haven’t changed much from last week’s pregnancy update: belly getting bigger, belly button still creepier than creepy, slight acid reflux at night, weird dreams, sleeping slowly becoming uncomfortable/difficult, Rico moving like crazy (except when he wants to give his mama a heart attack), etc, etc, etc.  So this is good, I think.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 3:09 pm

    What a fun time it sounds like you guys had! Cute dress by the way 🙂 And I swear, if someone ever says, “YOU LOOK LIKE YOU’RE GONNA POP!” or “ARE YOU DUE TOMORROW?” I will knife hand them in the throat–that’s so rude!

  2. March 28, 2011 3:28 pm

    You look fantastic! Hope it was fun being “showered”.

  3. March 28, 2011 3:41 pm

    Love the back-to-back photo too 🙂

    If you are like me, the journey probably took longer as you needed to check out and use every public bathroom en route!

    Enjoy all the pampering and attention.

    Met another American blogger face-to-face yesterday, and it reminded me of our lovely lunch in Avoca Cafe 🙂

  4. Elizabeth permalink
    March 28, 2011 4:48 pm

    I love this! The shower was fantastic and it was so great to see you both. xxoo

  5. Debbie permalink
    March 28, 2011 6:33 pm

    So glad you had a good time! I loved doing it for you!

  6. March 29, 2011 10:37 am

    You DO look great! And I love that dress! 🙂

  7. Atsuko permalink
    March 29, 2011 1:44 pm

    This is my first to post a comment as I recently came accross your wonderful blog.

    What a nice road trip you both had! I love the picture and your dress.

  8. March 29, 2011 4:39 pm

    It sounds like y’all had a wonderful time. You do look great! (I’m not just saying that!) I hope you have a great rest of the week. xo

  9. March 30, 2011 9:49 am

    You do look amazing!! Looks like a super fun trip!

  10. March 30, 2011 12:36 pm

    My husband works for a company that engineers airbags, seatbelts and steering wheels. They just had a seminar about child safety seats. I went because, as you know I’m a grandmother now and we need to know all of this kind of stuff just in case we get the opportunity to drive the babies around with us.

    Anyway, I will send you the PowerPoint presentation (to the email address you have at the top of this blog). It was better if you were there in person, but you may be able to make out some informative things from the presentation.

    BTW, the day before the presentation, the governmental body that governs child safety seats now require that children stay in their rear facing child seats until age 2. And don’t worry about them being all crammed in without knowing what to do with their legs…they say it won’t bother them.

  11. March 30, 2011 2:37 pm

    Lordy – I’m sure if I had your past experiences I would be ridiculously paranoid every. single. moment. about the health of the baby… Does a little jolt of caffiene get them moving everytime?

    I think your hair looks cute this length too. People are probably telling you you look great because you do! For realz.

  12. March 31, 2011 1:51 pm

    Seriously, you guys are too sweet!

    {but thank you! 🙂 I do appreciate it!}

    • Christina permalink
      March 31, 2011 4:46 pm

      You do look awesome. Love watching Rico grow through pictures. Let me know the next time you’re in Milwaukee! Would love to see you. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

