Skip to content

pregnancy: week 24

March 11, 2011

More of the same this week: belly getting bigger, belly button getting creepier, clothing getting tighter, etc.

We went back to the doctor this week and everything is measuring as it should be.  Baby’s heart rate is 150 and mama gained a whopping 6 lbs in the past month.  And that was before I considered buying all of the gummy bunnies that Walgreens had in stock (which was only 14 bags, because they are DELISH and highly addictive).  In the end, I walked away with only 4 bags and I’m hoping they’ll last me through Easter, but I make no promises.  So much for eating healthy…

(the only picture taken this week… I’ve sent in my DLSR and am eagerly awaiting it’s return from Canon, so more pics of the belly next week)

Rico continues to move and shake in there, getting stronger with each passing week.  He kicked supermuch and superhard through this physics/neuroscience talk that I went to yesterday, leading me to think maybe he’ll be a future Nobel Prize winner?

This week I’ve started feeling movements in two places instead of one, and at one point this past week, baby must have just stuck a limb out and left it there, because there was a hard lump on one side of my belly.  I made Jason feel it, too, and we agreed that it was half creepy & half super super cool.

We went to a cloth diapering & baby-wearing seminar on Tuesday night with some new friends who are also expecting their first babies in upcoming months.  It was really helpful because it allowed us to check out all of the different diapers, slings, and baby carriers without any pressure to buy or any hidden agenda by the woman running it to get us to prefer one brand over another (she was a post-partum doula, meaning she’ll come in and help out after baby is born… so she had lots of experience with these things, but wasn’t selling them or anything).  So we feel a little more comfortable now with our choice to try to cloth diaper Rico, and I was particularly glad to try out a few different baby carriers before buying/making one… even if I did snap the fake baby’s neck as I was trying to insert it into the carrier (Rico, let’s hope your head is firmly attached to your body, because your mom is obv a newbee).

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 1:15 pm

    I’m honing in on the blue jacket. Love that color. Looks great on you!

    The cloth diapering class/seminar sounds cool! I just recently spotted one in our local independent newspaper and told a coworker that it would be interesting. (Although I don’t have a baby that needs diapers.) Will you share what you decide? I’m fascinated by it.

  2. March 11, 2011 1:36 pm

    I’ve never had those gummies before but I’m sure I’d love them.

    My mom said I loved to stick my foot up into her ribs and she could see the outline of my foot! She said if she would rub it I would move but then kick my foot back up into her ribs. 😉 Hope you don’t get it in the ribs but that’s cool little Rico is squriming around in there!

  3. March 11, 2011 2:12 pm

    Cool about the cloth diapering seminar…we are doing them too!! I’m really excited about be greener lol, umm more excited about saving CASH! lol 🙂

    Glad all is going well in your pregnancy…..

  4. March 11, 2011 2:15 pm

    I really envy people that can do cloth diapers – go you! Hope you are feeling good. My belly button is looking different these days too!

  5. March 11, 2011 3:49 pm

    How are you coping with the Canon?

    Eat some bunnies for me 🙂

    Keep well, Jx

  6. March 13, 2011 3:36 am

    at 150 beats we may be really seeing Rico Tortuga Ross not Rica. Anywho we are expecting a striker or a power forward with some sick skillz. (all Rico gets for birthdays and Christmas is hockey stuff…. maybe some ski stuff too…)

    • March 14, 2011 6:19 pm

      That’s an old wives (dads?) tale… heartbeat doesn’t have much to do with the sex of the baby.

      But I do think it’s a “he”.

      And you can buy it as much hockey equipment as you’d like, but you should probably include skating lessons in the gift or he’ll be one stylishly clothed broomball player. We are ice-skatingly-challenged over here…

  7. March 13, 2011 12:52 pm

    Hee, I’m sure you won’t snap your baby’s head off! 😉 You look cute in that blue coat. 🙂

  8. March 14, 2011 11:30 am

    Love that shot! I’m all about the starburst jelly beans!

  9. March 14, 2011 2:18 pm

    I can’t stop giggling about the fake baby anecdote! It’s like that episode of Friends where Ross goes to baby classes with Susan and steps on the baby! lol

Leave a Reply

