Skip to content

nursery update

March 2, 2011

The last time you saw Rico’s nursery, it was a complete and total disaster.  Oh yikes.

Thanks to a few weekends of purging, though, it’s looking much, much better.

We purchased a new light fixture from CSN stores, and because we bought it from their clearance center, we saved about $200 (paid only $80 for that beast of a light fixture!).  (Their clearance center contains all sorts of goodies that people have returned… based on the packing slip in our box, we found out that the previous owner didn’t like the color of the shade.  Works fine for us!).  The light is ginormous – 22.5″ diameter – which was perfect for our needs since we had an ugly square recessed light that was 16″ across.  The hugeness of this thing means that we didn’t have to try to patch any plaster or repaint the ceiling — the new light covered the entire hole left by the old recessed lighting!  Also: kudos to my husband for installing it himself!

We’re hoping that the crib & a small rocking chair will fit on this wall (although that might be optimistic, given the tiny size of the room).  I am in love with a white Jenny Lind crib, so hoping to get that & fit it with yellow bedding.

Also, this chair made it’s way to our house last week (but with deep purple cushions), another sale find by yours truly.  I have plans to recover the cushions in a bright yellow fabric… maybe this one?  Either way, I think it goes smashingly with the mid-century dresser that’s already in the room…

The rusty metal closet doors will be removed & replaced – either by new wood doors or some sort of curtain.  I think I’m also going to try to convince someone to paint the inside of the closet a fun color — yellow?  turquoise?  or maybe even just white…

And you’ll notice that JT’s already hung curtain rods in preparation for the floor-length curtains I’ll be making from the fabric below.  I’ve had two HUGE panels of the fabric for at least two years now (it was bought on clearance at Urban outfitters — $9 for enough material to make 2 floor length curtain panels was just too good to pass up).

I also picked up the cute white elephant lamp a few weeks ago…  I might recover the shade (the texture of the material is weird and stretchy and kind of shimmery and it’s not my favorite).

I’m also starting to look into other fun kid fabrics that I can somehow add to the room… maybe in the bedding or throw pillows or wall hangings?  There is just too much cute fabric out there!  Below are some fabrics that I’m loving right now (click on the picture to be redirected to the store/name of each):

I’ve also been stalking cute DIY mobile & rug options (the brown rug can stay… or it can go…).  So far, these are my fav (again, click photo to be redirected to the source):

And, of course, I’ve also been scoping out all sorts of fun things, from crocheted animal softies (that I hope to convince my gramma to make for Rico, since I have no clue how to crochet) to Anthropologie’s faux animal heads (I could totally DIY this, right?) and ceramic animal hooks (although I haven’t decided whether I am willing to spend $20 for something that’s going to be covered by whatever is hanging on it?).

I think the only hitch may be that this baby is coming in 4 months, and my “to do” list may be just a tad too long…

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 12:47 pm

    omg! That lamp is too cute for words!

  2. japortma permalink
    March 2, 2011 1:02 pm

    OH MAN!! That whole room is going to be soooooo cute! I can not wait for it to be completely done and have a cute little rico/a in it!! I am so impressed with your decorating skills!! I remember that fabric too and I have been in love with it since you bought it!! Yeah! I am so excited for you, Jason, the baby, and your awesome evolving house! I will have to make a trip down to you soon to see it all (and when I say soon, I actually mean within the next year or two)!

  3. March 2, 2011 1:30 pm

    I really love the look you guys are going with. So not the typical blue wall and the regular. UGH I hope you can get most done what you want to get done and if you don’t then you don’t. I doubt the baby will care, just as long as he/she will have diapers, place to sleep and some butt wipes! HAHA Have anyone else who can help out or possibly just wait until after?

    • March 2, 2011 2:54 pm

      I am SURE the baby won’t care, you’re right. In fact, I think this whole nursery might be about 95% about me & what I think is cute and only about 5% functionality for the baby…

  4. March 2, 2011 1:31 pm

    And I just assumed you were having a boy. Maybe you are? hmmmmm HAHA Okay, regardless, I love the change up you guys are going for—love!

  5. March 2, 2011 1:54 pm

    Love this! The colors are FABULOUS!!! Can’t wait to see it start to come together!

  6. March 2, 2011 2:13 pm

    I love, love, love everything! That rocker is gorgeous, and the texture of the fabric you chose would be perfect for cushions! Oh, I am so excited for your nursery (and for your baby!!).

  7. March 2, 2011 3:26 pm

    I love your plan! That rocker is perfect for the space and the yellow fabric choices will be fab! A friend of mine is creating a similar nursery and is using a brightly colored abstract rug with bright green, blue, and orange in it. I can’t remember where she’s getting it from but I can find out if you’re interested.

  8. March 2, 2011 3:58 pm

    This is going to be so darn awesome. I love the green and yellow theme and the bright colors.

    And, um… awesome deal on the light fixture. And I think I want that rocker. Just awesome.

  9. March 2, 2011 4:43 pm

    Update here is the rug:
    http://www.cb2.com/rugs/accessories/watermarks-rug/f6426

  10. GGG permalink
    March 2, 2011 5:19 pm

    That lamp is so precious! I am a little suprised that you didn’t go with “woolies” somewhere:)

  11. March 3, 2011 7:26 pm

    Such cute things! My daughter wants to do her nursery in yellow and green too! 🙂

  12. March 4, 2011 9:03 am

    Oh my gosh! I know it doesn’t exactly go with the elephant lamp, but I’m totally loving that owl fabric! They’re all fun!

  13. March 4, 2011 2:04 pm

    Wow! I’m seriously impressed! Keep on moving lady!

  14. Tami permalink
    March 7, 2011 10:42 am

    So cute. The yellow zig zag will look great on the chair. And the other fabrics are fun too (blue background elephants would be my last choice to go with the drapes). It’s so nice that the ceiling lamp killed two birds with one stone, making light and a hole cover. The elephant lamp…fantastic! How fun!
    PS. Glad to see that “mid-century” is so “now”. HA HA HA. 🙂

  15. March 7, 2011 1:52 pm

    Jen, I so excited to read this post (um, how did I miss this???) Ive been looking forward to your nursery updates 🙂

    I’m so glad you went w/that chair and totally feel the vibe of the mid century modern for your nursery! 🙂 I too love the Jenny Lind Crib in white – I love everything your thinking of for the nursery — the bird mobile is a must!!!

  16. March 7, 2011 11:02 pm

    Love it! I have those UO curtains in my library 🙂 Also, I really really want to use the yellow zigzag in my art room (or anywhere in my house).

  17. March 9, 2011 9:28 am

    I love the bird idea. I also did something similar in my nursery using birds and trees. I really enjoyed decorating my nursery and I hope your having fun too. Can’t wait to see your final results.

    ps.
    I love the elephant lamp. My favorite.

  18. March 9, 2011 10:06 pm

    Looking good!
    Beautiful fabric selections and I LOVE the finish of the furniture 🙂
    Can’t wait to see how it will all come together!!!

  19. Kelly M. permalink
    July 30, 2011 11:33 pm

    Hi, I was doing a search for elephant lamps and came across your blog. I would love to know where you found your lamp. It is adorable! You have put together a beautiful nursery.

    Thank you!

  20. Vicky permalink
    January 3, 2012 11:29 am

    Whete did you get the elephant lamp?

    • January 3, 2012 1:18 pm

      I found it at TJ Max a while ago… haven’t seen it since! Good luck!

  21. Jamie permalink
    June 29, 2012 12:37 pm

    Hi.. I was wondering if you could tell me where you got the lamp? It’s absolutely adorable! I love all your choices!

    • July 3, 2012 9:35 am

      Thanks, Jamie!

      I picked up the lamp at Marshall’s a while ago… I’m not sure what brand, etc it is… not sure how much help that is to you, but good luck!

Leave a Reply

