Skip to content

pregnancy: week 22

February 26, 2011

I didn’t take any new photos of myself this week, probably because I spent much of the week cold & dirty.  (So this will be a rare photoless post!)

I DID, however, note that my belly button seems to be wider & shallower than ever before.  It’s a little alarming.  (Super-thankful that I took out that belly button ring… it would definitely not look cool at this point).

Also, in super-exciting news, this week Jason finally felt Rico kick.  I went to bed early one night this past week & woke up when Jason came to bed.  Rico was kicking, so J put his hand on my belly and actually felt him move!  This probably would have been more special had I actually remembered it the next morning, but instead I awoke thinking that I dreamed the entire episode…

Re: feeling Rico kick, Jason says, “It was cool.”   (I think I’m more excited that he got to feel Rico, too, than he is about actually feeling Rico.)

And, I think we’ve finally figured out what sorts of things we might need or want for Rico when he makes his appearance.  This has been a multi-week challenge, including two trips to the oh-so-terrifying-and-overwhelming Babies R Us, an afternoon spent reading books on baby products at Barnes & Noble, and many many many hours reading consumer opinions on everything from bottles to baby swings.  All of it seems incredibly overwhelming, in fact, upon our first BRU trip, both J and I freaked out and left soon after entering.  I’m blaming this on the fact that we were most definitely overstimulated, as everything in the store seems to light up and play music and have 40 gazillion functions!  Gone are the rusty metal & vinyl swings and highchairs of our youth!  (This is probably a change for the better.)  Also, we’ve discovered that the sheer quantity of stuff that you are supposed to have to raise a child seems to have multiplied exponentially from what we remember of our own childhoods, and the number of options for each baby item seems to be nearly infinite.  I suppose I should be grateful for the options, but it seems to make choosing one that much harder!

(Also, and sorry to my male readers, who knew that my boobs will need 4.2 million products of their own before this whole ordeal is over?  Shields and pads and pumps and lotions and aaahhhh!  I find this apparatus particularly disturbing, although my guess is that it’s likely useful?)

For any of you going through similar baby-product-finding challenges, a friend recommended Baby Bargains (hi Kitty!), and I second her recommendation.  It was by far the most helpful book about baby stuff that I could find at B&N.  The ranking system in the book is super-helpful, as is the fact that they consider how much everything costs as they rate the products.  Not to mention, they seem to really value their readers/consumers opinions on the products.

That’s about it from here.  My babydaddy had his wisdom teeth removed on Thursday, so we’ll be spending the remainder of the weekend laying low.  I’ve got some rad projects to share with you next week, though – as long as our power stays on! 🙂

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 12:46 pm

    AH…Babies R Us was so overwhelming for us too! We went 3 times before we actually started our registry. Have fun!

  2. February 26, 2011 1:30 pm

    So glad that you have power restored! Regarding belly buttons…mine still hasn’t returned to normal! I’m glad that you’ve navigated through the baby products…it is entirely overwhelming and I can guarantee once you have it all you will discover that you MUST HAVE this one other thing, and then another thing. Sigh. Here’s to a few years of molded, bright colored plastics!

  3. Amy permalink
    February 26, 2011 2:21 pm

    BRU makes me twitch and we avoid going there if at all possible. We made the mistake of trying to pick out a stroller and I almost had a seizure with all of the choices.

    I laughed at the bra – I think the simple wish is that it actually would work.

  4. February 26, 2011 10:50 pm

    On a completely unrelated note, I posted a picture on my blog that features the postcard you sent from Ireland. 🙂

    http://heatherirenep.blogspot.com/2011/02/ben-beer-snob.html

  5. Katie permalink
    February 28, 2011 11:10 am

    hi jenny! glad you found the book useful – it saved this crazy mama from losing her mind too. 🙂

  6. February 28, 2011 12:13 pm

    That sounds like a great book. I’ll have to get my hands on it for my daughter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

