Skip to content

restored

February 24, 2011

Our power was restored Tuesday evening — two days earlier than estimated by the power company (yay!).  So we’ve been warm & showered since then.  And we’re remembering not to take flushing the toilet for granted.

For a minute there, the temperature inside the house hit about 40 degrees and we began thinking seriously about what we were going to do to prevent frozen pipes.  (We eventually decided that we could have drained the water from them & left them open…  my aunt reminded us, though, that we should then shut off the breakers to the water pump & water heater so that when the electricity came on, we wouldn’t make a mess or break the water heater.  It all seemed very complicated, which, in my experience seems to be par for the course with country living… everything out here seems to be just a hint more complicated than it might be in the city.)

Our daylight hours were spent cleaning & gathering flashlights & candles — the movement (and the 5 layers of clothing we were wearing) helped keep us warm.  The dogs also provided a bit of heat, and when we weren’t cleaning the house, I could be found sitting on the floor, cuddling them under 3 layers of blankets… which I liked to refer to as my “doggy-powered blanket” since I’m pretty sure the two of them heated me up as well as an electric blanket could have.

I read quite a bit of the book that Rico & JT got me for Valentine’s day: NurtureShock, and it’s really great.  The book takes research on child psychology into account & explains why many of society’s theories about how to rear children might not actually be beneficial for our kids.  I’m pretty fascinated by parenting stuff right now (for obvious reasons), but appreciate something with a more scientific basis than many current theories on parenting have to offer, and this book seems to do it.  Not that I think the secrets of parenting can be found in a book, and like my dad said yesterday, you just do the best you can with what you have.  But it certainly is interesting to read about & consider.  Anyways, if you’re into kids or psychology or easy sciencey-type reads, you should check it out.

As much as I missed the internets & tv, it was really nice to just spend time reading.  I think Jason agreed, too (he spent the day at home with me, taking care of things around the house & reading).  We had a really nice, quiet afternoon together Tuesday, both reading while the dogs slept.  It was kind of restorative, and a good reminder to unplug once in a while and just be quiet.

And it was especially beautiful outside when the sun reflected off of the icy trees.  And it snowed Monday evening, which stuck to the ice on the trees, making us feel like we truly, officially, and completely live in a winter wonderland.

But I’m glad we’ve got the inet back so that I can share it with all of you.  Oh, and the heat & showering/toilet-flushing capabilities are pretty great, too.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 1:10 pm

    Hi Gen,
    Those are very beautiful wintertime photos. However, they remind me why I moved from there to Texas. 🙂

    Bob

  2. February 24, 2011 1:15 pm

    Yay for power! I came home Sunday night from work in the mess. Once back at the house after shutting up the birds and letting the dogs out to do their business, I filled buckets and jugs with water, just in case. During last night’s mess that was coming down, I was thankful that I hadn’t dumped out the water. I just might still need it, since the snow was super cold and hard (it sounded like sleet pelting the windshield). It was nice to have sweeping snow, but this morning, thanks to the warmer temps, it’s just heavy crap to move. I’m dreading what they’ve forecasted for tonight/tomorrow.

  3. Lisa permalink
    February 24, 2011 1:21 pm

    Hadn’t heard of that book and just went and read a synopsis. Sounds amazing, and sound. Thanks for mentioning it! Glad your power is back 🙂

  4. February 24, 2011 2:25 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how something so beautiful can be so potentially destructive?

    I’m surprised the dogs weren’t turning into muttcicles. Ours insist on being under the covers once the outside temp reaches 40. I kick them out of bed every night and they are in bed when I wake up. lol Your babies must be heartier than our wussie dogs!

    That book definitely sounds like something I would read if I were pregnant – fascinating.

  5. February 24, 2011 3:39 pm

    Welcome back! That is scary…glad it worked out.

  6. GGG permalink
    February 25, 2011 9:43 am

    Your pictures are beautiful. I always think when we have ice storms that everything looks like it has turned to glass.

  7. February 25, 2011 11:30 pm

    That picture of the ice on the chicken wire is so interesting and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

