Skip to content

pregnancy: week 21

February 19, 2011

The belly seems to be growing exponentially.  As it should be, I guess.

I took Jason & the camera (& the dogs, of course) outside earlier this week and forced J to take some pictures of me.  My college roommate, the boss, emailed earlier in the week and told me to document the belly size because she really wishes she had documented her belly size when she was pregnant with her now almost-one-year-old baby girl.  And far be it for me to argue, since we all know what the boss says goes.

Unfortunately, I think JT and I are going to need to work on this a bit.  My modeling skillz are, umm, kind of non-existent, since I seem to be making some sort of crazy face in almost all of the 70 or so pictures he took.  Also, his photography skillz may need some practice — I’m completely out of focus in about 70% of those 70 photos.  So here I’ll share the more -ahem- “normal” photos in the bunch.  But my mom is going to hate the pictures of my tongue sticking out.  I think she has a weird tongue thing.

{On a random sidenote: My blog vernacular seems to be making it’s way into my life at not-so-great times — I went to write a student recommendation last week and mentioned something about her “skillz” — with a “z”.  My guess is that sort of thing is not going to help her get a summer internship…  Oops.}

Anyways.  The baby!  Seems to be doing fine, likes to kick mostly in the morning & at night.  Really enjoys kicking during yoga.  Which, speaking of, it’s becoming harder to bend at the waist.  For obvious reasons.

The boss also shared some other words of wisdom that I’ve been thinking a lot about this week: I should enjoy this now, because soon enough this baby is going to break loose and then I’ll really miss having it with me 24/7.

Other noticeable changes this week:  I’m actually hungry — REALLY hungry when I wake in the morning.  My body likes to wake me at 3:30, at which point I try to use the bathroom and then toss and turn until the alarm goes off at 6.  I haven’t figured out why exactly my body is doing this (preparation for things to come?), but this situation is becoming increasingly problematic, as I’m sleepy all day and trying to avoid caffeine.

We’ve been working on Rico’s room slowly over the past few days, and after filling a trash bag & a bag to be donated, I think I’ve got my craftsplosion under control.  I hope to share more pictures & my ideas for the room next week!

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    February 19, 2011 11:05 am

    Your modeling skills are just fine! What a great backdrop for the pictures too. The one on the top right could be in an ad for motherhood Maternity or something like that.
    I’m glad to see Rico is “thriving” as my beloved Mother used to say.
    Should I start grocery shopping now in anticipation of your visit? LOL!

  2. GGG permalink
    February 19, 2011 11:42 am

    I agree with Debbie, that top right picture is fantastic!

  3. February 19, 2011 12:33 pm

    You look great! I am really hungry as soon as I wake up too. I’m at 26 weeks now. Forget it, if I got up to pee in the middle of the night (which I haven’t had to yet) I’d be raiding the fridge for a snack. Feel good!

  4. February 19, 2011 1:01 pm

    You look so good! Yay for Rico growing and kicking! Boo for the not sleeping part. Definitely preparation for things to come…

  5. February 19, 2011 1:39 pm

    I LOVEEEE the two pictures on the top with the white background! They are super cute and you are one hot looking momma!! I like the tongue sticking out–its totally you! (and I can say that since you lived in my room for years) 😛

  6. Catherine permalink
    February 19, 2011 2:21 pm

    Dang momma bear! 🙂 I can’t wait to be the best influence on your baby!!! (I bet you can’t wait either for me to show Rico/a the ropes!)

  7. February 19, 2011 7:08 pm

    “Dang” is right! You really popped now! Twins? Leave it to your mom to say something “nice”. And I do not have a “tongue” issue but you always were a challenge to get a straight face in a picture.

    I love the top right picture. Your face captures that look of “first time mom uncertainty” perfectly! (Hair looks great, too)

    Based on the belly shape, I might have to change my prediction to a boy…

  8. February 21, 2011 1:28 pm

    You are a very cute pregnant gal! 🙂

  9. February 21, 2011 10:53 pm

    Super adorable pics! I am ridiculously un-photogenic, as is the Mister… We always look like we’re constipated, chocking, or pissed off. No good. Yours are great! Try having Jason take some pictures while you’re playing with the fur-babies – those should make for awesome shots! I love the snowy background. Did you guys get more snow this weekend?

  10. February 22, 2011 12:49 pm

    Your little bump is so cute!! I’m just getting around to take ing some prego pics (not looking forward to it) I’m huge already sigh

  11. February 22, 2011 4:49 pm

    Holy freaking cuteness!

  12. Lisa permalink
    February 23, 2011 5:03 pm

    That skillz thing is hilarious! Okay, people said that to me too, about wishing your baby was back inside. Um, maybe if your baby is colicky or something. I’ve never once wished that. As to the hunger, you’ll need the extra weight if you plan on nursing. I’ve been eating whatever I want (which is a LOT of BADASS food) since I got pregnant and now, with a 5 month old, I’m only about 5-8 lbs over my pre-pregnancy weight. I mean that’s without even trying. And barely moving because the winter has us stuck at home.

  13. February 24, 2011 5:16 pm

    How flippin’ cute are you? I love these pictures and the fact that you did them outside. And that yellow sweater on you? Adorable.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention pregnancy: week 21 « -- Topsy.com
  2. baby #2: weeks 20-21 |

Leave a Reply

