Skip to content

happy heart day!

February 14, 2011

We don’t have elaborate valentine’s day plans.  In fact, we are those people who rarely have elaborate plans to do much of anything (I think we’ve had Papa John’s pizza on our anniversary for two years running now… so romantic).  Tonight, I’m going to make stuffed shells, and we’ll probably watch tv, maybe do a little work on Rico’s room, and I’ll probably even grade a few papers.  I know, I know, we are the ultimate romantic couple!

The dogs gave me the valentine’s day luxury of sleeping in until 10 this morning (love you, dogs!).  Later today, we’ll give them new bones for v-day (a necessity since our little chewer has destroyed their Christmas bones already).

Rico is moving and shaking, and even though that is a v-day present in and of itself, Jason & him have picked out a little somethin’ somethin’ for me and even wrapped it!  (The wrapping part of the gift is huge. And I’ve been informed that I may be getting a homemade card, which, will be awesome if it’s anything like last year’s card).  I, on the other hand, ordered Jason’s present late and it won’t be here today… Valentines Day FAIL.

We picked out this book for Rico, as the first of what we hope will be a very large library.  (On an unrelated note: do you know how hard it is to find children’s books that could be about how either parent loves their child?  Everything is about mamas loving their babies — which is great, but doesn’t exactly scream happy v-day from both parents.  Also?  We just found out that we have no public library access and would have to pay $200/year to join our local library.  Is that insane, or is it just me?)


I think that most of the reason we’re not big on celebrating those you’re-supposed-to-be-romantic days is that we generally appreciate the ways in which we show each other love everyday — not just on designated holidays.  For example, Jason has been particularly sweet recently (esp now that I’m preggo) and I’ve noticed an assortment of thoughtful things that he’s done for me — without being asked!  He spent hours yesterday scraping ice from the walkway & driveway so that I don’t slip.  He insists on carrying anything heavy for me.  He leaves me the “good car” anytime I have to drive somewhere, instead taking our older vehicle.  He’s done way way more than his share of the dishes recently.  I probably don’t acknowledge these things as much as I should, but I do appreciate them!  I am a lucky girl!

And, there you go.  My v-day rant.  Hope yours is super-swell, whether you’ve got elaborate dinner plans at a swanky restaurant, or you’re eating cheap homemade pasta and watching Criminal Minds reruns Jason-and-Jen-style.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    February 14, 2011 1:20 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you! That is one of my favorite books and I know Rico will love it. I love the idea of staring a library before babies are born; books are my favorite gift to give always! Have a great day!

  2. February 14, 2011 2:11 pm

    Happy V-Day!! We don’t really celebrate V-Day, My husband is always good about getting me card…but we always perfect showing love and affection 365days a year vs. that one day —

    As for books – I loved reading to me son – Goodnight Moon among many other books. We have a ton of books left over for when he was young that I couldn’t bare to part with, which turned out to be a good thing! He loves to read, which makes me smile.

    I can’t believe you have to pay to join your local Library!! That’s crazy, good thing Barnes & Nobles and other book stores offer story time for little ones, which will be great for your baby (making new friends and mommy & daddy too)

    As for dinner plans its rainy here – I’m thinking chili and corn bread! lol

  3. February 14, 2011 3:25 pm

    This is so sweet. I love that you are already starting Rico’s library. The gift that keeps on giving. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. February 14, 2011 5:05 pm

    Happy V day! I am excited to start a library for out little one (due in May) too. Looks like a great book you picked! Have fun tonight with your honey, no matter what you do. Our best times together are spent sitting in front of the fire, watching tv together, sipping coffee/tea together and just being at home with each other. We’ll be home tonight too and I am SO ok with that.

  5. brey permalink
    February 14, 2011 6:29 pm

    that book looks so cute!!! it is hard to find a book that incorporates both parents loving the child because i usually see mommy loves you books or daddy loves you books… grammie and poppy got maelynn You Are My I LOVE YOU by Maryann Cusimano Love. I love it! that stinks about your library….. our valentine’s days have been nothing speical either….just a normal day….maezie did make her daddy a valentine’s card {hand-made!}….other than that just a normal day….your dogs are so nice to let you sleep in….. maelynn has made NO her new favorite word…..great! we love you guys!!!!

  6. February 14, 2011 8:54 pm

    We don’t celebrate. Although the Mister did bring me a little heart shaped box of Turtles, so that’s cute. Plus he actually went to a real store and bought a card with pugs on it – impressive. I think that’s the most effort he has ever put into any of my presents… lol

  7. February 14, 2011 9:36 pm

    We’ve had a pretty similar valentine’s day as you for 29 years. It’s all good. 🙂 Isn’t it nice when hubby’s are being so thoughtful when you’re preggers. 🙂

  8. GGG permalink
    February 15, 2011 9:40 am

    Grandpa came home with lobster tails last night!!!!!!! How about that for a valentine?

    • February 16, 2011 3:11 pm

      Sounds like a great v-day to me! Much better (tasting) than flowers!!

  9. February 15, 2011 5:51 pm

    Enjoy the pampering and spoiling while it lasts! 🙂

    Not big into V day here either – usually avoid going out as everywhere is extra expensive, the service isn’t great, every possible item of food is heart shaped and you feel rushed out the door so the next romantic couple can come in and dine!

    Yesterday, on V Day I remembered an hour after Cliff left for work! So I texted him a “Happy Valentines Day”.

    He was delayed at the hospital, so didn’t make it home for dinner, had his reheated at 8pm in the microwave, then went back to work at 9pm.

    This is the reality of Valentines Day after almost 19 years of marriage!

    But as you said, we don’t need Valentine’s to be romantic and share our love.

    One of my kids made me a card though! 🙂

  10. Auntie To Be!! permalink
    February 15, 2011 11:36 pm

    Awww! I only notice Kyle doing nice things when he knows that I’m made at him, or have just complained about not getting any help… He did, however, make dinner for v-day… mac & cheese with hot dogs cut up in it, healthy, I know! We need to talk soon, I have some brain picking to do!

  11. February 16, 2011 12:10 pm

    $200 a year to use the library?! are you serious?

    I love the string of hearts. so so sweet.

    • February 16, 2011 3:09 pm

      I know! It’s insane, right!?

      Thanks for the nice comment on my string of felt hearts!

Leave a Reply

