Skip to content

pregnancy: week 20

February 11, 2011

A good week.

I can feel Rico’s movements more & more each day.  It’s starting to feel less like tiny muscle spasms (or “bubbles” as a friend described them) and more like strange alien movements in there.

We had our mid-pregnancy ultrasound this week, and it looks like baby’s brain, heart, and kidneys are all doing what they should.  Big sigh of relief!  Rico measured right on track, with an estimated due date of only 2 days before the due date previously given to us by 8 & 12-week ultrasounds.

{view of the face, looking straight at it.  both jason and I think it looks creepy from this angle… kind of alienesque.}

{profile of face – Rico is much cuter from this angle.  Which is odd since his mama HATES her profile.  Maybe he got J’s nose?  You can see the nose up top, as well as the lips & throat, and we saw the little tongue moving!  Baby’s hand is at the top of the pic, just right of the nose}

{more profile with hand goodness}

{and another profile – with hand & leg.  I think the dark spot in baby’s chest is probably it’s little heart}

{tiny little foot}

Seeing how much Rico has grown in the last 8 weeks was incredible!  We could see his face pretty clearly, and we watched him stick his tongue out and drink some amniotic fluid (delish?).  He was moving & shaking in there, we watched him grasp his fingers, and we saw his entire body move.  He rolled away from the camera during the ultrasound, at which point I mentioned that he’s definitely NOT his mama’s baby.  Jason was all, “Uhh? Rolling away while we’re trying to get a good picture?” and I was like, “Hmm.  Yes, baby’s on his own agenda.  Maybe he is mine.”

And, of course, all of this “he” and “his” talk is merely speculation — we didn’t find out the sex of the baby (and we don’t intend to).  Actually, even though we told the ultrasound technician that we didn’t want to know, I thought that maybe we might catch a glimpse of something that would allow us to speculate the sex of the baby.  Not so much.  We saw kidneys & femurs but nothing in between.

{the belly at 20 weeks}

We also had a doctor’s visit, and it looks like I’m measuring on track.  I’ve gained only 1 lb in the past month, and probably about 7-10 overall, so things are looking good there.  I’m not overly concerned with weight — I basically just eat when I’m hungry, as I normally would, and when I do eat, I try try try to reach for something healthy.  But when the belly is expanding & things are no longer fitting, it’s hard to even estimate how much weight is being added on.  (To be clear, the weight thing is sort of a 3-fold issue: 1. I don’t want to have a ton to lose this summer, 2. I don’t want to birth a 15 lb baby, 3. Babies born to mothers who gained a lot of extra weight are at risk for childhood obesity.  So it’s not just my own selfishness driving this issue — even if that’s kind of part of it!)

Also this week: my early 20s called and asked for my only form of teenage rebellion back.  Meaning: I took out the belly button ring that I horrified my parents by getting on study abroad in England.  (My mom: “HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME ON THE DAY BEFORE MY WEDDING ANNIVERSARY?”  Me: “Umm, you do know that it’s MY belly button that’s pierced and also that it’s completely removeable & reverseable whenever I want it to be?”  Can you imagine what would have gone down if I had gotten a tatoo?  Or smoked crack?  Or {insert other form of teenage rebellion here}?  Yikes.)

So the belly button ring is gone.  It stopped being cool like 20 minutes after I got it anyways.  And, with my expanding belly, I was nervous that I was beginning to look like this:

No thanks. 🙂

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 9:44 am

    I hit the 26 week mark this past week….and we are not finding out the gender either. Have fun! Feel good 🙂

  2. February 11, 2011 12:39 pm

    🙂 This would make a GREAT Halloween costume! My friend was a trucker with a beer gut last Halloween.

  3. Catherine permalink
    February 11, 2011 2:51 pm

    first of all, i would like to share with you that the first feeling of movement felt by the mother is called quickening. (yay lifespan psyc class.. haha.) maybe you already knew that.. hmm. oh and i love those troll dolls… i still have a couple of those somewhere at home 🙂 but looking like one of those would be questionable… although, bright orange hair would be pretty awesome on you. 🙂

  4. brey permalink
    February 11, 2011 2:59 pm

    so glad the baby is doing well….. i totally support your eating habits….my doctors always told me not to eat for two because you do not want to gain too much weight…. your belly is looking cuter and cuter!!!! you got a naval ring to be rebellious, i in fact got a tattoo…. oh well the things we do when we are young…. so glad the baby and you are doing well…. the dogs in the snow pictures are awesome!!!!!

  5. February 11, 2011 4:22 pm

    The first baby movements always reminded me of the way a goldfish feels in a plastic bag when you’re carrying it home from the pet store. Random childhood sensory memory, but the light and quick movements always reminded me of the feeling of holding that bag.

    Oh man, the belly ring really takes me back… Mom freaked out more about the piercing than the tattoos…how does THAT make sense? I managed to keep it in until about 2 weeks before my oldest was born. Finally had to take it out before it popped off and shot across the room!

    P.S. You are a lovely preg-o!

  6. mom permalink
    February 11, 2011 8:04 pm

    Looks like there is a big brain on that one….Rica Tortuga is going to be smart!

    Did I really say that about your belly ring? It really seems like a trivial thing now…

    • February 11, 2011 9:25 pm

      You said exactly those words! I remember — I knew you were going to be surprised/unimpressed… didn’t realize you’d take a hole in my belly so hard. Lucky that was the worst I put you through, huh? 🙂

      PS Rico, if you’re 20 and reading this, a belly button ring better be the worst you put us through, too! OR ELSE!

  7. GGpaGG permalink
    February 12, 2011 12:13 pm

    Way to go baby (both of you). Remember excellence comes out every other generation but it is passed down from that other generation(you)because every rule has its exception. Must of gotten that big brain from his/her great grandpa.
    LOL (thats lots of love to all 3 of you)
    Grandpa

  8. February 12, 2011 12:45 pm

    Wow! Halfway through already. And you look fantastic. Good for you for keeping your eye on the weight thing. Take it from me, it’s not as easy as you would think to shed those pounds…especially in the freezing cold winter when you can’t go anywhere or do anything!

    SO excited for you.

  9. February 13, 2011 12:37 am

    I seriously laughed out loud at the troll reference. Ryan took me to get my belly button ring when I was 17. (He was 18.) When my mom found out, she said, ‘IF YOU HAVE TO GO OUT OF STATE FOR SOMETHING WITH RYAN, YOU PROBABLY SHOULDN’T DO IT.’ I had to go across the river to get it because I wasn’t 18. Haha…. It’s still something we laugh about.

    Love the foot picture. That’s just so amazing to me. =)

  10. February 13, 2011 4:42 pm

    Ha! love the belly ring conversation with you and your mom. 🙂 Glad things are progressing well and you’re feeling great!

  11. February 14, 2011 3:06 pm

    I’m so glad the 20-week visit showed everything is healthy and going well! And you look fabulous! I am with you on the eating plan. I have tried to hard my whole pregnancy to just eat like I used to so I wouldn’t gain a ton of weight, and thankfully it’s worked so far. Now, I’m getting so full when I eat the same amount that I used to, so I’m having to eat smaller meals more frequently. Still so excited for you! 🙂

  12. Auntie To Be!! permalink
    February 15, 2011 11:30 pm

    WOW! You look great for being half way there! I would have thought at 20 weeks you would have more of a belly… I love the pics of Rico, especially the one of him laying on his back where you can see his vertebrae really well. I’m glad my future first neice/nephew is doing well!!

    • February 16, 2011 3:10 pm

      Thanks – that’s nicer than what mom said! Ha ha ha! 🙂 I’m sure the belly only gets bigger from here… After all, the kid is 14 oz, which means he’s got like 8 lbs to put on in the next 20 weeks… yikes.

  13. February 17, 2011 4:28 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad that your ultrasound went well! There’s just nothing sweeter than seeing a healthy baby. 🙂

    And you my dear look great!

  14. February 21, 2011 10:59 pm

    My belly button was the last thing I pierced. After having every color hair under the sun, getting multiple tattoos, and dating guys with multiple tattoos/piercings (most notable were: a guy with the bridge of his nose pierced and a guy with a very anatomically correct {and large} female angel on his leg). Mom: you should be happy Jen is comparatively normal!

    I think taking my piercings out would be the most difficult part of my being pregnant. It sounds selfish, but they have been a part of who I am for so long I would feel like I was giving up a part of myself… But I suppose gaining a much greater gift in return…

Leave a Reply

