Skip to content

snowmageddon?

February 9, 2011

You’ll probably remember that last week I was asking mother nature to bring on the snow!  And we were forecasted to get something like 20″ at one point.  We got ~12-15″ last week, overnight, and it was awesome.  Some might call this Snowmageddon. Here in the upper midwest, we call it Winter.

{Although, just between you & me, I think she could have done a lot better…  maybe hit us like she hit Chicago?  Keep in mind that when I’m actually, specifically asking begging for snow, it’s because we’ve hired a plow guy and don’t have to do any of the snow removal ourselves.  I’m sure that if I was out there with a shovel, I’d probably not ask for it as much!}

Both J & I were granted snow days from work, and spent the day working at home.  It was pretty fun to be home together mid-week, even if we were each on our own laptop.  We took a break to enjoy the snow — and I’d say that the dogs had the best. time. ever. running & chasing in it.  The above picture might be my all-time favorite of the two of them.  Between Barley’s happy expression & Jezzie’s ears flopping in the background, I’m just not sure they can get any cuter.  I might be biased, though.

The snow was up to their chests – maybe even up to Jezzie’s back in some places – and watching the two of them run hop through the woods was hilarious.  We were totally cracking up.

Luckily for Barley, the snow slowed down Jezzie’s usual superfast sprint, so he was able to catch up to her.  And wrestle her.  The two of them wrestled a ton out in the fresh snow – I imagine it’s more fun than wrestling on grass or carpet since the snow is a little softer than either of those.

I can’t get over Jezzie’s face in the above photo – ears back, face up, eyes almost shut.  I guess it must be a lot of work to pounce through snow that’s as deep as you are tall?

After about a half hour outside, we bribed two very. very. very. tired dogs to come inside with the promise of treats! (said, as always, in a the highest-pitched, sweetest voice I can muster).  I think Jez would have stayed out all day if we had let her, though…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 12:40 pm

    I live in central iowa so I got just a little less than this (about 12″) last week so I can definitely relate. I have friends in the south that got maybe 2 inches and they were freaking out. It’s funny what “a lot of snow” means to people depending on where they live. you have lovely dogs and it seems like they had a great time in the snow.

  2. February 9, 2011 1:30 pm

    The dogs sure did enjoy themselves. I am glad you have someone plow for you. You should get alot of snow due to the lake effect.

  3. February 9, 2011 7:13 pm

    HAHA Looks like they had a great time. 🙂 I bet they slept well that evening, or even took an early nap. I know I would!

    We still have not had over 4″ or so at our house. Super bummed.

  4. japortma permalink
    February 9, 2011 8:59 pm

    I love the top picture with the two dogs together…barley kind of looks like he is going to tip sideways. and Jezzy’s all “IMMMMMMM COMING!”

  5. February 9, 2011 10:07 pm

    Isn’t it funny that our dogs want NOTHING to do with the snow? Lola doesn’t mind it much but Franco would rather be anywhere besides outside. It’s hilarious.He thinks he’s a human.

  6. February 9, 2011 11:32 pm

    Aw they look like they were having a great time! They must really like the snow. I love that first picture too. If you want a few more inches you can come get some from us. ; )

  7. February 10, 2011 11:38 am

    Your dogs look so happy! 🙂 Thanks for the comment on my last post. I’m reading your pregnancy posts with the greatest interest! 😉

Leave a Reply

