Skip to content

pregnancy: weeks 14-19

February 7, 2011

I’m 20 weeks today, which means that this is the last mega-update you’ll get re: my pregnancy.  After this post, I’m hoping to just go week-by-week, updating you on the previous week each Friday.  No promises, though.

Week 14

Merry Christmas!

Week 14 started on Christmas Eve, and there really was no better Christmas present that we could have received than making it to the second trimester.  (Which I am confused about: some websites list the 12th or 13th week as the beginning of the second trimester, but the ultrasound tech mentioned that it was the 14th week.  So, we decided we’d just count week 14 the beginning of the second trimester & call it good.)

We were finally able to share our good news with J’s siblings on Christmas, and they were all *thrilled* about the new addition to the family.  (Maybe because we’ve gotten a new niece or nephew in 2007, 2008, 2009, and 2010, and this gets them off the hook for 2011?  Who will take 2012 is currently being debated…  ha ha ha.)

Christmas may have taken on a slightly new meaning since we’ve become expectant parents…  I mean, I have a long list of hopes & also fears for this new little being we’re creating.  And that’s for a child that we’ve been hoping & praying for, that we’ve tried to create a stable household for, and that we think we’re probably as ready as we’ll ever be for.  Which puts into perspective how crazy terrifying it must have been on that first Christmas.  Whoa.

Also, it’s crazy to imagine how different next Christmas will be from this one.  I’m pretty psyched to play Santa.  And you know I hung up an extra stocking for Rico.  And filled it with a few little presents — my favorite was a Gap my first favorites one piece with little bulldogs on it in honor of Rico’s doggy brother & sister (I had heard that the my first favorites line from the Gap is the softest, bestest stuff for your baby & was psyched to find it in a cute, gender-neutral pattern!).

Week 15

Happy New Year!

We rang in the New Year on the first day of the 15th week.  Our sweet friends D&M threw a really rad Black & White-themed NYE party, complete with AMAZING 3 course meal & dancing.  I squeezed into a black & white skirt, paired with black tights & black sweater.  As I was pulling the tights on, Jason expressed concern that they might suffocate the baby.  Ha ha, so funny.  As it is, I’m barely fitting into some clothing, relying on longer shirts to cover the fact that I’ve not actually completely zipped them.  I’m not mentally ready for maternity clothes yet.

We rang in the New Year with dancing, hugs & kisses, and sips of champagne.  (In my case, 2 sips to be exact.  I’m certain that others at the party had more. 🙂 )

My 15 week appointment went well – just a little check in to listen to baby’s heartbeat & meet one of the other docs in the practice.  Baby’s heart rate checked in at 168.  And every time I hear it, I breathe a million sighs of relief and smile an excited smile.

Week 16

Rico had his first (of what I hope will be many MANY) ski outings this week.  Yep, this to-be mama has committed herself to downhill skiing until it’s physically impossible (or very difficult).  Those of you concerned with the two sips of champagne I consumed on NYE are probably over the moon with this one, since downhill skiing is one of those absolutely-not-under-any-circumstances pregnancy activities.  I will say: I know the risks – that I can fall and injure self or baby when I ski.  But the risks of not skiing, at least for me, seem much worse: a long, long, long winter in which I sit on my butt inside the house and slowly fade into the depths of seasonal affective disorder.  Blah.  No thanks.

{As a caveat, I will say, though, that I only ski on weeknights, when there are few people on the hill because I’m pretty afraid of getting hit by an out-of-control skier.  I learned to ski at 2, and have skied 2-3 times/week every winter since then, with the exception of 2 very long and depressing winters in grad school, so I would say that my confidence on skis > shoes.  Seriously.  I fell 3 times wearing Uggs last winter (the heavy-duty kind with the traction).  I fell 0 times on skis.}

I like to come home from skiing and announce to Jason that Rico LLLLLOOOOOOOVVVVEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSS skiing.  I hope it’s true.

The above picture was taken at 16 weeks, 5 days.  I haven’t decided whether I feel comfortable baring my belly on the Inets, so for now, you get a shirted glimpse of what looks like a few extra Thanksgiving meals in my belly.  For serious.  I don’t have a cute little uterus bump like most early preggos have, I’ve got more of an ate-too-much look going on.  I’m going to attribute this to the fact that my uterus was installed backwards — that way I can ignore any thoughts that, perhaps, I have indeed eaten too much.

Week 17

This week we horrified our lunch table neighbors by spending almost an entire lunch date talking about circumcision.  Over a delish cheese & black olive pizza.  Looking forward to the days when our convo on dates is all about baby poop!  Because at this rate, it’s going to happen, and fast.

The thing is that we’re suddenly finding ourselves in the midst of making decisions for a completely helpless little human – big decisions – like, should we cut off part of his body for cultural reasons if there’s not a whole lot of medical reason to do so?  Who would we leave him with if something happened to both of us?  How can we best provide for his future – financially, emotionally, spiritually?  Big stuff.

And, what we’ve decided is that we’ve entered the Era of Always Being Wrong.  This contrasts dramatically the Era of Always Being Right that we’ve enjoyed since our teenage years, although, I imagine we might enjoy it more than the Era of Knowing Absolutely Nothing and Being Deserving of Sarcasm and Eye Rolls that we’ll enter when our own kiddo becomes a teenager.

Seriously, though, with so many of these things, there’s not a clear cut answer about what should be done.  We’ll trust our own instincts, maybe sometimes we’ll listen to your advice, sometimes we’ll wing it, and other times we’ll just have to research the hell out of it and make an educated guess.  (Also? It’s a little funny to realize that our own parents, who we thought knew everything, were (are?) just as clueless as we are).

Week 18

At 18 weeks, 5 days, the coolest. thing. ever. happened.  I felt Rico move!

Up until then, there were movements in my belly, but nothing I could attribute to anything other than GI rumbles or muscle spasms.

And then.  Jason and I were sitting on the couch, watching our usual Thursday night shows (Community, The Office, Parks & Rec are our faves, but we’re slowly warming up to 30 Rock).  And I felt what seemed like a little muscle spasm just south of my belly button.  And then it happened again.  And two more times.  I squeeled!

And since then, I’ve felt more movements in there – mostly when I’m sitting and doing nothing or laying in bed trying to fall asleep.

Week 19

I’m not sure exactly when it happened, but at some point this week, my belly just showed up.  Pictures to follow. (The pic that I took during week 19 is NOT attractive — and I am vain enough to withhold all non-adorable pictures.  You’ll have to just wait for week 20).  🙂

I continue to feel movements – more of them now that I know what they feel like.  It probably doesn’t hurt that baby’s getting bigger, either.  I notice them when I’m sitting at my desk working, or even when I was lecturing once or twice.

During a discussion of futures, I mentioned my pregnancy to my class.  One or two students said, “I knew it!” but I’m a little skeptical.  I still don’t think I look actually pregnant, and I’ve been doing my best to hide any extra belly weight & unbuttoned dress pants behind long cardigans & scarves.

Also in news this week, I’ve officially begun to wear a few maternity items.  My biggest clothes issue isn’t necessarily that things are too tight – for the most part, they’re waaay too short now that my front is getting bigger.  My faves so far are a $7 pair of jeans from Old Navy + a $6 maternity bebelly tank from Target (it’s awesome – I can wear it over my unbuttoned pre-maternity pants and it holds them up and covers up everything!).  I’ve also picked up a few long-sleeved Gap maternity shirts on clearance ($8-9 each), and they’re super-comfy.  Pair that with two $7 dresses and a $15 pair of khakis, and I think I’ve spent about $90 on maternity clothes thusfar.  I was the lucky recipient of a whole bunch of maternity clothes, the majority of which are summer things that will be super-helpful as my belly continues to grow exponentially, so I’m hoping to save a whole lot of money by not needing to buy much more than I already have.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Janna permalink
    February 7, 2011 1:36 pm

    Yay for healthy pregnancy! I think your week recaps are awesome!

    Oh and I went white water rafting when I was pregnant. Obviously off limits, but my doctor said, “if you did something for a living -I was a white water rafting guide – you’re probably good enough to do it pregnant without getting hurt.”

    So have fun skiing! 🙂

  2. February 7, 2011 5:34 pm

    Oh I can’t wait to see your bump! I’m rocking a full on belly bump 🙂 lol and will be 22weeks in a few days…its flying by fast!

    I love love the be-band — I’m still wearing my while at work w/my dress pants. Is it me of is it hard to find a good fit when it comes to black work pants? lol

  3. Christina permalink
    February 7, 2011 6:27 pm

    Looking good, my friend, looking good. So happy to read about Rico’s progress. I can’t wait to see pics of your belly as it grows! Love you. xoxo

  4. February 7, 2011 7:03 pm

    Everything sounds wonderful. 🙂

  5. Debbie permalink
    February 7, 2011 8:21 pm

    I always enjoy reading your blog, however, this current topic brings me more joy than you can possibly imagine, Yea, Rico (actually I’m pulling for RicA)! Continued happy pregnancy wishes are coming your way,

  6. GGG permalink
    February 8, 2011 9:46 am

    Oh, Sweet Pea! It won’t be long and you will have your own “Sweet Pea” Wonderful! 🙂

  7. February 8, 2011 1:59 pm

    YEAH for another ski baby! I agree – I am much more stable on skis than wearing normal footware. I think that it has to do with the redistribution of weight over a longer surface area… do you buy my theory?

    • February 8, 2011 2:08 pm

      I totally buy your theory. 🙂

      Now someone has to move so we can be ski mamas together.

  8. February 8, 2011 5:01 pm

    I’m so glad everything is going well! You look fabulous! Isn’t it amazing to feel them move inside? Crazy! Keep us posted on everything!

  9. Mom permalink
    February 8, 2011 7:19 pm

    I’m too excited to speak…

    Trevor wants to know when we will get to see you again?

    • GGG permalink
      February 8, 2011 7:28 pm

      I’m with you ,Trevor 🙂

      • February 8, 2011 7:36 pm

        looks like you should hitch a ride over here with those two!

    • February 8, 2011 7:35 pm

      You know where I am… when you coming to visit? 🙂

  10. February 9, 2011 7:10 pm

    This is all so exciting!! I love to read your updates 🙂 I know for a fact I will not be baring the bump, when I get one, to the world. I’m with you!

  11. Amy permalink
    February 11, 2011 2:57 pm

    I think the prohibition against skiing and other similar sports is more for your safety than the baby’s – all that relaxin your body is making throws your joints out of whack. It’s why two of my three children have given me tendinitis from picking them up.

Leave a Reply

