Skip to content

snow!

February 1, 2011

It’s been a particularly pretty winter at our house – large snowflakes fall almost every day, but more than 3-4″ rarely accumulates.  The temperatures are mild – mid-20s or so.  But rumor has it that the beast is going to be unleashed later today – blizzard warnings everywhere!, and I say bring it on, mother nature.  Bring. it. on.

Of course, crucial to any upper-midwesterner’s winter experience is the embracing of said snow — at least if it’s to be a positive experience.  Otherwise it’s 6 months of misery.  {Seriously, mother nature, bring it on.  I am ready for your blizzard!}

Meaning that we’ve been walking the dogs through the woods.  Jason goes more frequently than I do. (I am a little terrified of slipping and ruining my knee.  Which might make me a selfish futuremama, but baby’s got a heck of a lot more protection than my ACL.)  Last weekend, I decided to join JT and the dogs for a short walk, though, camera in hand.

It was a great walk.  (And I am very thankful for warm, waterproof boots!) Jezebel is hilarious when let off the electric fence and out into the woods – she sprints everywhere, tail high up in the air, hopping over bushes, crawling under logs.  Just watching her, you can tell it makes her the happiest. dog. ever.  Which makes Jason and I pretty happy.

Barley is pretty happy to run free, too.  But not quite as happy as Jezebel.  And, while she’s sprinting in circles around us, never getting far enough away to be out of site, but never close enough to touch, Barley is much more likely to hang back near the humans, exerting energy only when absolutely necessary.  Or when Jezzie finds an animal nest that needs to be sniffed out — he’s more than happy to assist her with animal nest sniffing.

And, just having a few quiet moments in the great outdoors is always good.  It’s time away from the TV or stacks of dishes that need to be washed, time to talk and laugh with Jason, time to dream out loud about the future and how much different our walks through the woods will be next winter.

PS BRING IT ON, MOTHER NATURE. I AM READY FOR YOUR SNOW!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 1:54 pm

    Nice pics.

    We had about 22 inches a couple weeks ago, I think I’m ready for Spring.

    Raven

  2. February 1, 2011 1:56 pm

    We’re taking bets at work that it’s just going to be a freezing rain and nothing will accumulate. Otherwise, we’ve got tomorrow off!!! SNOW DAY! I hope so.

    • February 1, 2011 2:33 pm

      I know — my actual guess is that we get about 5-8″ of snow, if that. But I’m crossing my fingers (atleastalittlebit) for a snow day for everyone!

  3. Debbie permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:11 pm

    I love the snow too and we’ve had our fair share this winter so far. However we’re now getting the freezing rain of which I’m not quite so fond. Enjoy your snow. Next year will be even more magical in the snow!

    • February 1, 2011 2:39 pm

      I’m not jealous of the icy mess that you guys are getting! Or that the southern half of the country is getting! Yuck! I think I can only embrace winter because the snow is soft & fluffy. 🙂

  4. February 1, 2011 2:30 pm

    Awe Jezebel looks like she’s having a blast! I’m jealous you have so much land you can just let her off leash. We live by too many nearby roads to let our dog do that.

    Stop teasing mother nature! ; ) We’re going to get 20″ of snow by the end of Wednesday and we don’t need anymore than that!

    • February 1, 2011 2:33 pm

      I know – I should be careful what I wish for, right?! When the power goes out from all this snow we’re gonna get, I’m sure I’ll regret this post… 😉

    • February 1, 2011 2:38 pm

      I know! We are so lucky that the backyard is so big & our neighbors on one side are elderly, and to the back & other side, we have empty lots! We should take advantage of it more, but during hunting season it’s terrifying to be out in the woods!

  5. February 1, 2011 4:14 pm

    Today’s our (hopefully first) snow day and it’s wonderful! Usually we get a big icey mess down here in the south, but our backyard is actually full of the white fluffy stuff today. I love it! I hope you get your snow day!

    • February 1, 2011 4:16 pm

      Yikes! I meant (hopefully “first but not last”) haha. It’s definitely the first snow day of the year! As you can tell from my post-nap comment that made no sense :p

  6. February 1, 2011 4:24 pm

    The weatherman was right about when it would start in southern WI about 3 PM. I am glad you are enjoying it. I am not looking forward to raking off my roof again this year. If I could only play in it, it would not be that bad.

  7. February 1, 2011 4:47 pm

    It’s currently about 0 with wind chill of -15 or so and could drop to about -35 overnight. But we have no snow, well a dusting we do have, on the ground. If it’s this cold I want a freakin’ blizzard so I don’t have to report to my sucky job. UGH

    P.S. Your dogs are so cute and that very first picture is so beautiful!

  8. mom permalink
    February 1, 2011 7:29 pm

    5:20pm Tuesday and It’s hitting pretty hard here. Everything is cancelled tomorrow in anticipation of the big BLIZZARD! As long as the internet stays on, we are set… Poor Comet has to tunnel to find a place to do his business!

    • February 1, 2011 10:00 pm

      We’ve got some heavy snowfall & winds. They even canceled school tomorrow (they NEVER do that – all the students are already there!). My guess is that we won’t get the accumulation that we’ve been promised… And I wonder what dogs do if the snow is too deep for them to squat? Jezzie’s too ladylike to lift a leg… 🙂

  9. February 2, 2011 10:10 am

    We’re expecting another snowstorm today too. We’ve had four snow days this year already. 🙂 We have to dig paths for our dogs to even get outside, let alone squat! 😉

  10. GpaGG soon to be GGpaGG permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:24 pm

    It is absolutely beautiful out. Your Dad and brothers just came and shoveled us out. Good thing toooo becaue Gramps had just put his boots on and was going to do it himself and then I get to watch so I can call for help when he passes out:) The only thing is, now I’ll have to give up the computer again so he can play solitaire:(

    • GpaGG soon to be GGpaGG permalink
      February 2, 2011 5:20 pm

      That was written by GGG. I don’t know why he can’t leave my computer alone!

  11. February 3, 2011 11:25 am

    Beautiful pictures! Just lovely!

  12. February 3, 2011 11:15 pm

    Greetings from a transplanted Michigander now living in Texas. I am from Muskegon and my wife, Ann is from Beaulah, near Traverse City. I stumbled across your blog on a link from another blog. I’ll be looking forward to seeing some of your photographs.

    Bob Zeller
    http://www.bobzeller.wordpress.com

  13. February 6, 2011 9:23 pm

    P.S. I added you to my blogroll so maybe some other Texans will check to see what is going up north. 🙂

    Bob

Leave a Reply

