Skip to content

camera strap cover — with lens pocket!

January 26, 2011

My sweet friend, Elizabeth, celebrated the 31st anniversary of her birth a few weeks ago.  She’s awesome and crafty, and I knew she’d appreciate some homemade lovin’ for her birthday.

Well, that and, I needed an excuse to get the ole sewing machine out.  And, I really wanted to make myself a cutie cute camera strap cover but needed an excuse to actually do it.  Elizabeth’s birthday seemed like as good an excuse as any.

Also, Michael made a cover using this tutorial, so I decided I should, too.

I’m not going to reinvent the wheel here by posting another tutorial.  I will tell you that it was a relatively easy project, and that I love the little pocket in the strap — it’s *perfect* for holding my lens cap while I’m shooting (pictures to come later this week).  Also, I was able to use some of my fabric scraps in the process of making this… only 653 more camera straps and I’ll have the entire messy stash cleared out!  Ha, ha.

I will also tell you that I was really excited to sew my little “handmade by” label to the strap!  My SIL picked my name for our Christmas gift exchange, and I was the happy recipient of this little piece of crafty goodness.  Aren’t these little labels sweet?  And so thoughtful!  Now I think I need more excuses to craft for others…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 2:00 pm

    What a fun gift and I love it! Um, ::ahem::, my birthday is March 5th! Just saying 😉

  2. January 26, 2011 2:05 pm

    so cute. good job lady! 🙂

  3. Amy permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:14 pm

    Glad you like the labels! They’re dorky but fun, and this way no one will say, “geez, who made me that awesome baby sling/quilt/camera strap cover/miscellaneous awesomeness.” Because people, they forget.

  4. January 26, 2011 5:51 pm

    it came out so pretty! love the fabric you choose

  5. mom permalink
    January 26, 2011 9:04 pm

    Those labels were a great idea! A personal gift that totally says “you”. Wish I’d thought of it…

  6. January 26, 2011 9:53 pm

    Love the handmade by tags. So cute! Love the fabrics you chose, too. This is a great project.

  7. January 27, 2011 6:54 am

    Adorable!!! Love the labels…

  8. GGG permalink
    January 27, 2011 3:34 pm

    I think I need a label on my “plastic bag holder” 🙂

  9. Elizabeth permalink
    January 31, 2011 2:28 pm

    OH MY GOSH I MADE THE BLOG! I AM SO EXCITED! And I absolutely love the handy dandy gift. You are the bestest. xoxo.

    • January 31, 2011 8:43 pm

      yay! Glad you love it! I love mine, too! And — WE MATCH! (or at least our cameras do!)

Leave a Reply

