Skip to content

our next project: the nursery

January 21, 2011

Now that we’re expecting a {small, human} addition to the family (and I’m feeling well enough to start tackling projects again), it’s time to get cracking on the nursery.  At this point, we’re pretty much starting from scratch, so we’re going to need everything from baby-appropriate furniture and supplies to cute & colorful wall art & decor.

We’re going for a really colorful green & yellow nursery.  I painted the green apple walls before we started trying to have a baby, because I really really didn’t want to be pregnant and painting and I’m way too anal to let Jason do the cutting in around the ceiling.  Since we won’t know whether baby is a boy or girl until it makes an appearance, we’re going gender-neutral.  (And we’re hoping that this will save us from redecorating & repainting if parenting is fun enough to be repeat offenders.)

Here’s what we’re starting with:

My craft supplies have exploded all over the room.  And that square recessed light fixture lets off approximately 1 lumen of light.  Meaning: it’s outta here.

There’s a box spring in the middle of the room (we put an inflatable mattress on it when we’ve needed more than one guest bed), as well as a small bed, dresser, & dining room set (for our very, very small guests).  {just kidding, the small furniture is actually from my little Felicity collection… please tell me someone else was into American Girls Dolls when they were younger.}

More craftsplosion + ugly folding closet doors.  Bub bye.

{The green color is probably most accurate in the top & bottom pictures.}

I have my eye on all sorts of fun DIY nursery-related projects (mobiles! crib bedding! rugs!), and I’ve been scouring the internet for a new overhead light, as well as art inspiration!  I think I’m going to have a lot of fun with color & pattern in here…

If you have any tips/advice/photos of gorgeous nurseries/DIY projects I should try, please mention or link to them in the comments!

 

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 4:00 pm

    I had Samantha and Kirsten American Girl Dolls. They’re currently packed up in a box in the attic, along with some accessories. So you’re definitely not alone on the American Girl Doll front.

    I love that green color. I bet you’re going to make that nursery fantastic!

  2. January 21, 2011 4:07 pm

    I did my kitchen (which is in our rental house) a similar color of green. I can’t remember what Behr called the color, but I call it Granny Smith Apple Green. The accent color that I chose was a Periwinkle Blue, which turned out very nice. I understand you’re going for Yellow, but just thought I’d share my color choices. I also had like an apothecary jar filled with granny smith apples on the kitchen table – looked cool.

    Should be a fun project.

  3. January 21, 2011 4:39 pm

    Love the green color!! Can’t wait to follow the progress…I’m a sucker for nurseries, obviously.

    Regarding the lack of bags under my eyes…the sleeping at night hasn’t been to bad. It’s the three or four hour crying period before going to bed that is really the killer. Right now we’re still in the stage of wondering why/how people have more than one…but I’m sure it will get better! We sure do love the little guy, crying or not.

    xo,
    – e

    • GGG permalink
      January 22, 2011 10:13 am

      So, you have a little wailing fella on your hands -Try drying your clothes at night and put him in the wash basket on top of the dryer. I tried that with one of my grandsons and it worked every time!

  4. January 21, 2011 6:42 pm

    Oh I love the color! Looking forward to what you come up with. I don’t have any inspiration for you, sorry, but hopefully one day I can look back on your posts when I need inspiration when that day finally comes! 🙂

    I never had an American Girl doll. I wanted one, but my parents were mean and didn’t get me one. Booooo. So instead I played with the many that a girl I know owned, she had probably six of them I think with all kinds of clothes and furniture!!!

  5. January 21, 2011 7:41 pm

    You can do some fantastic things with that wonderful green wall color as a background! Love it! This is my first visit to your blog so I don’t know your design preferences, but I think you absolutely can do no wrong with that lovely green.

  6. January 21, 2011 8:19 pm

    I adore the apple green. It’s going to be amazing. I cannot wait to see it all come together! Best color combo ever.

  7. GGG permalink
    January 22, 2011 10:15 am

    Just one question, what are you going to do with all the crafty stuff?:)

    • January 22, 2011 4:00 pm

      It’s getting donated, trashed, or moved to the basement! I have a feeling there are a lot of fairly worthless things up there that I’ve just been hoarding thinking, “I can do something with that…”

  8. japortma permalink
    January 22, 2011 6:38 pm

    Jennifi every normal girl had at least one american girl doll silly! also–I love the paint color! I love that color green, if I had a house (or James let me paint his) I would have multiple rooms that color! 🙂

  9. brey permalink
    January 22, 2011 6:51 pm

    this baby is going to have the coolest nursery ever…… i cannot wait to see how it turns out because i know it will be awesome…. you have the best eye for EVERYTHING…..

  10. January 24, 2011 10:29 am

    Oh – how exciting 🙂

    Looking forward to seeing it progress step by step.

    Will have to have a peak into Avoca to see what they have that is apple green or yellow – any excuse to go into that shop!

  11. Tami permalink
    January 24, 2011 12:34 pm

    The green and yellow will be so cute! I also like the suggestion of the periwinkle blue from Yvonne. Just a little of that thrown in the mix could add a bit of zip. And girl babies might like blue too. 🙂

  12. January 26, 2011 4:20 pm

    I had Felicity too!

    One of my much younger cousins just informed me a few weeks back that they’ve either already retired or will be retiring all the oldies really soon. That makes me a little sad 😦

Trackbacks

  1. pregnancy: week 21 «

Leave a Reply

