Skip to content

pregnancy: weeks 9-13

January 19, 2011

(This is a super-long post. So bear with me. Or skip it all together. Either way. 🙂 )

Week 9

I am continuing to sleep a lot and feel like I ran a marathon after an hour of yoga.  Going upstairs leaves me out of breath, and I’ve had a cough the past few weeks that isn’t going away.  Not that the cough is pregnancy-related, but it might be out-of-breath related since sometimes I think I cough because I’m having trouble breathing.  And sometimes the cough turns into gagging, which is something else I’ve heard pregnant women do.  So I am really just a big ball of hotness right now.

I occasionally have pain at the back of my hip bone that I assume means something is growing in there.  It’s a little awkward.  I mean, I’ve never had something press up on the inside of my hip like that.

This week we headed to Minneapolis for Thanksgiving.  I shared our good news with my mom, figuring that through the magical powers of mom telepathy she probably knew already anyways.  It was really hard not to tell anyone else.  Really hard.  But, after losing the last one at 9 weeks, we really wanted to get through this week without a big announcement.

And we kind of felt like we were keeping our fingers crossed all week that this was really real and that we wouldn’t lose this one.  In fact, I had started a particularly obnoxious string of conversations regarding what would happen if we were to lose this baby.  Not very helpful, and often met with eyerolls from JT.

Week 10

Jason woke me up this week by whispering “10 weeks!” which made me insanely happy because 1. we decided we’d both breathe a huge sigh of relief when we got this far, and 2. this meant that Jason’s been tracking this pregnancy in the same way that I have been.  He just talks about it much less than I do.

Remember in week 7 when I thought I was nauseous?  Ha ha ha! That was so funny.  And I was all “This is what people complain about?  This is nothing!”  And, it was nothing compared to what’s going on this week.  Ugh!  What a gross feeling.  Luckily, I have the best dogs & husband in the world, and they let me sleep when I need to or prepare me dinner and force me to eat when I should.

I had another doctor’s appointment this week, and got to hear baby’s heartbeat on the doppler!  The fast little beatbeatbeat (160 times/minute!) of his heart was such a relief to hear!

Week 11

It’s all starting to get really real up in here.  Our conversation is moving from “if this one makes it” to “this time next year there will be 3 of us”.  It’s convenient timing, really, since I’ve been out and about holiday shopping and it would appear that 85% of parents are crabby and impatient this time of year.  I’m starting a list of things I hope I never do as a parent, and screaming at my child in the middle of Target is going to top the list.  (Here’s where those of you who are parents roll your eyes.  I know.  Give me 3 years and I’ll be THAT parent.)

I like to tell Jason about all of the Christmas-y things baby is taking part in: picking out the tree, decorating, making & eating cookies… but Jason informs me that it doesn’t actually count until next year.

The nausea was accompanied by heartburn this week, and suddenly I find myself waking up every night in the middle of an uber-weird dream and completely unable to fall back asleep.  It’s really strange since I feel exhausted almost every minute of every day.

Another fun side effect of this week is my constant second-guessing.  I randomly have thoughts like, “what if we hate being parents?” and “what if the kid just screams all the time?” and “are we really really ready for this?”  I’m blaming it entirely on the hormones, since, logically, I know it’s gonna be great.  Right?  Otherwise everyone would just stop at one.  Also, J and I are keeping our expectations for ourselves low.  We hope to be perfectly adequate parents, and have decided that we’re a big success if no one in our little family becomes incarcerated in the next 20 years.  Sure, I’m giving us bonus points if the kids pass 3rd grade, or, heck, let’s dream big and send ’em to college.

Week 12

This week started off with a second ultrasound to check whether baby is developing normally; whether baby is at increased risk for Down’s syndrome or other genetic disorders.  It was an optional ultrasound, but you can bet yours truly jumped at the chance to see baby again.  We also thought that, in the event that baby was at increased risk, that we’d be better off researching & preparing for it now instead of waiting until after baby is born.

Luckily for us, the ultrasound looked great, baby is developing as he should.  Although, he’s a bit obstinate.  As in, kiddo was kicking, fist-bumping, and squirming in there until the exact moment the ultrasound tech needed baby to squirm into a fully-extended position.  At that point, baby curled up and stayed still, no matter how hard the ultrasound tech jabbed my belly.  Jason quickly pointed out that it was it’s mother’s baby… I know you wouldn’t believe it, but yours truly likes to do things on her own schedule…

Week 13

This week was exciting for us since we finally got to share news of the baby with our families.  Also exciting?  The crazy nausea and desire to eat all available cheese, eggs, and bacon have begun to subside.  Seriously.  For a few weeks there, all I wanted was melty cheese, scrambled eggs, and turkey bacon.  So. Weird.

I visited with my family for an early Christmas celebration, and found out that mom had told sister and brother about the baby, and sister, thinking that dad already knew, had told dad.  Also, I think at this point, mom’s bunco friends knew, though I can’t really be sure.  And I still can’t figure out how mom managed to tell everyone BUT dad, since we figured that if mom would tell anyone, it would be dad, and that would be okay, since we’re not sure dad appreciated the baby thing being sprung on him last year (let’s just say that he got a little verklempt and had to leave the room for a few minutes).

Anyways, the news popped out sort of unceremoniously over dinner, which was fine since the entire family claimed that they knew already anyways.  Something about me not drinking at Thanksgiving?  Which I find a little strange since I usually don’t drink enough much around family anyways.  I guess my 4th serving of mashed potatoes might have tipped them off, too, but I’d like to think I would have gone in for 4ths even if I wasn’t pregnant.  I love mashed potatoes.

As it turns out, everyone was excited (but I don’t think anyone was more excited than my grandpa who has been waiting for a great-grandchild for like ever), and the announcement was followed with hugging, belly-poking, and ultrasound picture sharing.

Later in the week, we made the trip to New Jersey, and decided to immediately tell J’s parents when we got there — because we didn’t think we’d be able to keep it a secret from them for the few days until Christmas.  We put the dog’s super-awesome t-shirts on them and let them run into the house to share the news.  J’s parents were thrilled, and his mom said that she’d been trying to decode whether we were expecting or not from blog posts & facebook statuses.  I think we managed to fool her into thinking we were not expecting, which made it even more exciting for us to announce that we were!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 12:41 pm

    I’m glad baby is healthy and everything is going well! And I’m with you on the weird cravings. In the beginning, all I wanted to eat was Chick-fil-a. Then that disappeared, and now it’s back! I’m still so excited for you!

    • January 19, 2011 1:19 pm

      Chik-fil-a!? My husband would LOVE it if I craved that (or if they had any of those in SW MI!). The weirdest part about the entire situation is that I usually don’t even like cheese (except on my pizza)…

  2. January 19, 2011 1:32 pm

    I am so excited for you 🙂 I know that getting pass the 9th week must have been a HUGE relief. I love the dog T-shirts I think that is a super cute idea. When I was pregnant in the Fall I only wanted to eat (this is so weird) chocolate pudding and dill pickles….strange right? I hope you continue to feel better. xoxo

    • January 19, 2011 1:52 pm

      Thanks, KA! Chocolate pudding and dill pickles? Awesome combo. I hope you weren’t eating them together… 🙂

  3. January 19, 2011 5:20 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing all this, it’s great! I remember craving popscicles all the time those first weeks. 🙂

    • January 21, 2011 3:50 pm

      Popsicles!? Probably a little healthier than meat, eggs, & cheese! 🙂

  4. January 19, 2011 9:00 pm

    awww… I love that they expected it. So cute. And I totally went for 4ths at Thanksgiving. Is that so bad?

    • January 21, 2011 3:45 pm

      4ths is kind of a necessity at Thanksgiving… right?

  5. brey permalink
    January 20, 2011 12:16 am

    jen:
    i am so happy your weeks are going well {for the most part}….. i craved american cheese when i was pregnant with maezie cakes…. i liked and still like cheese, but i craved cheese in the beginning and towards the middle and end, i CRAVED chocolate…..i had to eat chocolate at EVERY MEAL and in between….. your baby is going to have awesome grandparents {your parents of course and mine}…… i miss you…..maelynn could be gently rubbing your belly if we lived closer to each other….. we miss you lots!!!!

    • January 21, 2011 3:46 pm

      Chocolate? Nice! I’ve not really been into candy & sugar (surprisingly).

      At least not until the stores put out the gobstopper hearts – now both J & are are hooked.

      Miss you, too! 🙂

  6. japortma permalink
    January 20, 2011 12:28 am

    Ohh Jen, I suspected it during Thanksgiving, but when you (and I) were sitting at the table at Xmas time and you were drooling over the food that wasn’t even at the table I knew for sure… Sure, i was doing it with you, but I always do that..you have never done that before. DING DING! Jennifer Wins! but Jennifi have always been so smart at everything, so its only fair that we take turns! 😉

    • January 21, 2011 3:47 pm

      I was STARVING at Christmas. Thank goodness the food came out when it did or someone might have gotten hurt! 🙂

  7. Catherine permalink
    January 20, 2011 1:37 am

    ahhhhhh! I’m so excited for you and jason! 🙂 I can’t wait to be the best influence on your baby! Who knows, maybe i’ll even be lucky enough to get a 3am phone call 😉

    • January 21, 2011 3:49 pm

      I hope the only 3am call you get is one from me when I’m up feeding the kid. I think the conversation will go, “I AM SO TIRED, NEVER DO THIS.”

      If you get any other 3am calls, let me know so that I can make sure to ridicule the kid and take her for breakfast with greasy hair.

      Also, move to Michigan (or at least visit more often). You are too far away to be the best influence on baby!!!

  8. GGG permalink
    January 21, 2011 1:01 pm

    You just can’t get away with anything.:) Yes, you were the talk of the house when you and Jason left after Thanksgiving! Everybody seemed to have had an “A HA” moment.

  9. Janelle permalink
    January 27, 2011 9:30 am

    Congrats! Baby’s are so much fun( I mean work). We just welcomed a baby boy into our house 3 months 1 week and 2 days ago ( I know the minutes too but that would be over kill). I think the best weeks of being prego were beteen 26 weeks and 34. After that your so over the big belly bump and you just want to hold your peanut. I love the dog shirt and nearly rolled off my chair. We did the same thing to our cat, as he was the ONLY baby we even knew. Well good luck designing the room. That is always really fun and I enjoyed reading your blog.

    • January 27, 2011 11:54 am

      Thanks for the congrats & sweet comments!

      I’ll be looking forward to weeks 26-34! 🙂

  10. amy permalink
    January 27, 2011 9:44 am

    congratulations!

    The dog’s shirts were adorable!!! Way too cute.

    I craved tortillas with my daughter (now 5) and that is now her favorite thing to eat, we go to a Mexican restuarant and she asks for nothing but tortillas and lemonaide. With my son I craved eggs, which before I was pregnant I would gag on, I mean I would not even eat potato salad if it had eggs in it…I had seen them as totally disguisting ever since I was about 5. Now my son is 1 and his favorite food: EGGS!!!! Crazy hugh???

    • January 27, 2011 12:24 pm

      Thanks for the congrats & I’m glad you dug the dogs’ shirts!

      That’s really funny about your kids food preferences — and about the eggs (you’re the first person I’ve heard who also wanted eggs! but luckily, I’m kind of over the weird egg craving!).

Leave a Reply

