Skip to content

what’s cookin’ good lookin’?

January 17, 2011

I have my grandfather’s voice in my head, echoing that statement – “What’s cookin’ good lookin’?” – over and over and over now.

Also, I’ve been reading a whole lot of posts in blogland lately re: meal planning, and I’m hopping on board.  I can’t remember when we started really seriously planning our meals & then shopping for them as needed, but we’ve been doing this a while.  I think we started because it’s a hassle to get to the grocery store (it’s ~20 min from the house) and neither one of us is interested in running back out to grab something once we get home from work (this also tends to result in interesting substitutions when we do actually forget an ingredient).

Here’s what we’re planning on eating this week – feel free to join in the fun by cooking along with us or sharing what you’re eating this week!  One of my favorite ways to find new meals is via other bloggers, so share away.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:19 pm

    We’ve been meatless at home for almost two years, although we’ve started adding chicken once a week since Lucy’s a total carnivore. It’s saved us a ton – our grocery bill has remained about the same even though we have two and a half additions to the table.

    • January 17, 2011 10:30 pm

      I’m not surprised that your bill has been so cheap — the meat (esp now that we’re buying more local meats w/out added antibiotics/hormones) is the most expensive part of our bill… We’re total carnivores, though, so I’m not sure we could ever cut it out completely. Especially in winter, when there’s not an abundance of local fruit & veggies to snack on. We’re going to try to cut back on our meat intake, though, and try to grab our nutrients from other (cheaper) sources.

  2. January 17, 2011 9:05 pm

    Man, those spinach stuffed shells sound delish, but I’m not sure the Mr. would eat them. I guess the only way to know is to try!

    • January 17, 2011 10:32 pm

      They were really great – you should do it! I actually only made a 1/2 batch since there’s only two of us and I’m not into eating the leftovers for lunch for the rest of the week. I also substituted cottage cheese for ricotta (and left out the half & half) – I have a weird dislike for ricotta cheese – maybe it’s the texture? They were delish & Jason even decided that I could make them again sometime!

  3. January 17, 2011 11:02 pm

    I’m so glad you liked the spinach stuffed shells. I think I’m going to use cottage cheese next time, too. I prefer the texture to ricotta.

    And, I wanna come over for cilantro lime rice. One of my faves.

  4. GGG permalink
    January 18, 2011 3:00 pm

    What’s cookin , good lookin? That bugs the “beegeebies” out of me!!!! I guess it’s because I hear it almost every night when he comes in the door! He even says it when we have already made a date to go out for dinner(which doesn’t happen often enough). I didn’t realize other people had heard him say that:)

  5. GGpaGG permalink
    January 19, 2011 10:54 am

    Wots cookin’ good looking??? Hope it’s apple pie now that you have all that Hi-tec apple pie equipment you got for Christmas. Hows the baby and when do we get new pics. Jason better be around when that baby comes cause GGG is right, He’ll regret it for the rest of his life if he isn’t.
    Love you guys,
    GGpaGG

    • January 19, 2011 11:37 am

      You’ll get new(er) pics and maybe even a video (if I can get that high tech) in February!

      And I’m sure Jason will be there… he was just kidding about skipping it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

