Skip to content

Christmas 2010 (2 weeks later)

January 13, 2011

To say that the last 2 weeks have been hectic would be kind of an understatement.  I’m back at work, teaching at localsmallcollege and loving every minute of it.  I’m also out on the ski hill a few nights each week – coaching little kids downhill ski racing & mouthing off as the official ski racing time announcer (and promoter of sales in the chalet).  Between these two super-fun jobby jobs, you can bet I get my 10,000 words in each day.  Maybe this is why the blog has remained so silent in 2011?!?

Anyways.

Christmas 2010.  It was our year to visit with J’s family in Philly.  We made the 10-hour trip in a mere 12.5 hours and had to up our usual potty break & gas stop from 3 times to about 7.  Sigh.

  • We arrived in time to get the dogs into J’s parent’s house and dress them up in their big sibling tees for the big announcement.  I think we most certainly surprised J’s parents, although there was a moment of confusion when they were unsuccessfully trying to read the tees due to the movements of 2 very excited, tail-wagging dogs.
  • We headed to the aquarium w/J’s brother & family.  Their kids are ridiculously cute, and each time we visit, they are more fun to hang out with than the time before.  I’m attributing this mostly to the fact that we can now understand most of the (often hilarious) things that they say, but also to the fact that they’re old enough to remember us now.
  • One of our favorite moments of the week was being greeted by our niece, Lucy, in the entryway to the aquarium – “I’M WEARING MY PAJAMAS!” she yelled.  And she was totally wearing her pj’s – over about 7 other layers (including 2 dresses).  We were informed that the young fashionista is dressing herself nowadays, and that made me wonder if I’ll have the patience to let our two-year-old dress herself someday.  Mmm… the jury is still out on that one.
  • Our other favorite Lucy moment of the week was when she licked Jezebel (click on link for video footage stolen from my SIL).  So disgusting, so hilarious.  We were pretty happy that the kids weren’t totally terrified by the dogs, and they seem to get more comfortable with them each time we visit.  More comfort = fewer distressed kiddie screams, so this is definitely a good thing.
  • In other funny kiddo moments, when Peter, our nephew, found out that we were expecting, he apparently, asked his momma if we were going to have a baby baby or a dog baby.  Crack. me. up.  {and also? Maybe I will take his suggestion.  I’m sort of on the fence about this one.  A dog baby might be easier to care for – and especially potty train.  But who will mow the lawn in 10 years when Jason & I are sick of it?}
  • Christmas day was fun & hectic.  The kids all had on matching outfits, purchased by their grammy, and you know that I love this practice so, so much.  Next year, we’ll be visiting for Thanksgiving, so I’m hopeful that Grammy will pick up some matching Turkey Day outfits for the kiddos (hint, hint 🙂 ).
  • We had the opportunity to spend some almost one-on-one time with our little niece, Maelynn (her momma, grammy, and poppy were there).  She’s such a little voyeur… when she’s around the whole family, she sort of quietly watches all of the activity.  But get her one-on-one (or almost one-on-one) and she’s a chatty, giggly little charmer.  I can’t wait until she’s saying things that I can actually understand… mostly because I’m curious about what will come out of this little one’s mouth!
  • I know I’m leaving out our new nephew, Thomas, but I have no funny stories to relay.  I mean, he’s still at that eat-poop-sleep-cry phase, but now with a little bit of smiling and giggles.  My guess is that he’ll be as hilarious as his siblings when the time comes…
  • We were so lucky to also visit with friends on our trip – and we found out that some of our favorite Minnesotan friends (who also have Philly connections & were in the area for the holidays) are expecting their first baby the day before we are!  I’m looking forward to sharing notes with them, and I think we’re having a who-can-have-the-baby-first race (starting at 36 weeks, of course).  So. excited. for. them.

The day after we returned from Philly, my mom and brothers stopped by to drop of Christmas presents.  They completely & totally spoiled us.  My fav present?  The garage door opener that will save me from getting out of the car & manually lifting the door from now on!  I’m nothing if not practical. 🙂  (Also, thanks to Jason for installing the garage door opening the next day! In the cold!)

New Year’s Eve was spent with newly-engaged friends who hosted a wonderful Black & White party.  Jason broke out his high school track jacket – somehow, it’s the only piece of black and/or white clothing that he owns.  Hilarious.  The three course dinner was amazing, as were the conversations that followed.  We danced, kissed, sipped champagne, and cheered at midnight.  And then, exhausted, we headed home to wish the doggies a Happy New Year! and hit the hay.

And, as I mentioned earlier, it’s been a flurry of activity since then.  I’ve been working on a few sewing projects, though, which I hope to share with you soon.  And I’m going to need to purge & declutter things this weekend – I’m starting to feel the weight of some of the unused nonsense I’ve been hoarding, and it’s suffocating me (I’m looking at you, large pile of 8-year-old wool sweaters that I’ve been meaning to felt).  So maybe I’ll have additional blog-worthy material soon.  Fingers crossed. 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. tami permalink
    January 13, 2011 4:17 pm

    I LOVE IT!!! It seems your new baby has “matching outfit genes” coming from BOTH sides of the family! 🙂 Good job Grandma R! Cute kids in cute clothes!

    • Debbie permalink
      January 13, 2011 7:40 pm

      Thanks Tami! Thanks to my other daughter in law for permitting me to do this.

  2. GGG permalink
    January 13, 2011 4:58 pm

    Tooooo funny! Loved the video! Does Debbie know your story about the mathcing outfits?:)?

    • Debbie permalink
      January 13, 2011 7:41 pm

      Oh, Jan! Do tell!

      • GGG permalink
        January 14, 2011 4:57 pm

        Yes, Debbie, I did it! Jennifer never said a thing until a year or so ago. Then she told me how much fun it was wearing the same thing the two year olds had on:) I really carried it to extremes!!!! But you’d love the picture-I’m sure Jennifer has it sone place.

      • January 14, 2011 9:39 pm

        One of my favorite matching cousins pictures is here: https://homeinthecountry.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/img_00011.jpg

        Check out my hair!!!

        Poor Trevor, he never got to experience the joys of matching his cousins. Maybe we need to fix that? Next Christmas!?

    • GGG permalink
      January 15, 2011 9:14 am

      That’s the picture I was thinking about! What color do you want to wear next Christmas, red or green?:)

      • Debbie permalink
        January 15, 2011 9:42 am

        I love it!!!!!!!!! What an adorable group of children they were. I’m sure Trevor would be all for it next year. 13 year olds like that sort of thing…. don’t they?

  3. January 13, 2011 6:18 pm

    Wow! You’ve been busy. We got our garage door opener as our housewarming present from my parents. So exciting!

  4. January 14, 2011 1:32 am

    Sounds like a fun trip! Ha I like the dog baby question. That video is hilarious BTW! If that was our dog she’d be licking back.

    • January 14, 2011 11:35 am

      I know! It was so funny – I think Jezebel was too stunned at first to do anything – she actually took a few steps back the first few times Lucy licked her!

  5. January 14, 2011 10:44 am

    Sounds like you had a great Christmas! We all seem to be jumping on the decluttering band wagon lately. Good luck with yours. Be ruthless. 🙂

  6. amy permalink
    January 27, 2011 9:49 am

    My friend made these really cute buttons for her daughter who dressed herself. One said, “I dressed myself today” and another said, ” I am responsible for this ensemble” maybe you could make a set for Lucy’s mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

