Skip to content

early Christmas

December 20, 2010

Since we’ll be spending Christmas with J’s family this year, I headed to my parents’ house over the weekend for a whirlwind family Christmas.  I came home last night, super-exhausted, but happy.  The weekend, in bullet points, with dog pictures taken by my husband’s iphone because I didn’t bring my camera:

  • Mama bear trimmed my hair again, which is a good thing, because it was getting sort of long and boy-ish looking.  And I know those two things don’t usually go together, but trust me, it was bad.
  • Mama bear, Grandma, and I took my 6 year old cousin, Lexy, to the mall for dinner & the ultimate Build-a-bear experience.  Lexy had never been to Build-a-bear before, and she was so cute checking out all of the stuffed animal & outfit options (ohmygosh do they have a million options!).  She picked out a cute little stuffed Clarice Reindeer doll with a ridiculously cute polka dot dress & shoes.

Jason reported that Barley waited by the door for my return all weekend.  He’s definitely become my dog recently, and a pretty sweet one at that! (He used to be Jason’s dog.  Ha ha, Jason!)

  • Saturday, mama bear & I shopped till we dropped.
  • And then we headed to my grandparents’ house to celebrate Christmas with the entire family (pictured here), since everyone won’t be able to get together next weekend.  As usual, Gramma made a delish dinner (yay turkey & mashed potatoes!), and we all had a great time talking & laughing.  (Although, I was surprised to find out that sister Ashley & I were the only small children to be spoonfed the juice off the steak plate by my grandfather…  I can still hear him insisting that “It’s like mother’s milk!” over and over in my head.  My mom claims that this all happened in the days before they realized that wasn’t really the most healthy thing to do, but I’m just gonna put it out there that I didn’t see her partaking in this little ritual.  Just sayin’…)
  • Sunday we woke to scrambled eggs & bacon made by my brothers, and headed to brother Trevor’s hockey game.
  • I stopped by my grandparent’s house to pick up a few gifts (thanks!), most of which you’ll probably see in action on the blog at some point (but I have to keep them secret for just a bit longer b/c sister will be getting the same gift next weekend).  I made my grandma one of these plastic bag holders for Christmas, which is kind of nerdy, but useful, and a great last-minute gift, since it’s easy & relatively quick to sew.
  • Then, mama bear, grandma, aunts, cousins, & I gathered at aunt’s house to make cookies.  Only I didn’t make cookies so much as sprinkle colored sugar on the chocolate covered presents everyone else was making.  I’ve sort of has my fill of cookie-making this year, and was really just along for the social aspects of cookie day.

And then, like I said, I arrived back in MI late last night to see these two cuties & my husband.  And now?  Time to pack up and prepare for this weekend’s holiday festivities!  Hopefully I’ll get a few minutes to snap some photos of our holiday decor today so that I’ll be able to share them with you before the week is over!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 2:20 pm

    What a fun weekend! Oh no, your husband didn’t get to go? Bummer! Cute dogs, what are they? So many questions, I know, sorry.

    I hit the jackpot on Saturday afternoon at Ross—three santoku knife set with block and wooden cutting board by Wolfgang Puck for $27. LOVE 🙂 It was like my Black Friday since I never get out on that actual day, people can be nuts.

  2. Debbie permalink
    December 20, 2010 10:37 pm

    What a fun filled weekend! So glad you had a good time! Now it’s our turn; yea! Can’t wait to see you and hope you have a safe trip.

  3. Mom permalink
    December 21, 2010 12:09 am

    Um, in my defense, I was never offered the prized “mother’s milk” from the meat plate. Grandpa had complete control of that plate and only dished it out to his favorite grandchildren. And yes, these were the days before HDL, LDL and all the cholesterol concerns. I wasn’t thrilled about seeing you kids drinking “meat juice” but you know how insistent Grandpa can be and at the time there was not any known harm in doing it…

    PS: Why are you always trying to make me look so bad? Don’t you know you should never make your hairdresser angry???

  4. December 21, 2010 1:20 pm

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

