Skip to content

ornament wreath

December 14, 2010

You all know I’ve been bit by the Christmas spirit.  So much so, in fact, that blogging has totally fallen by the wayside.  Oops.  But let me just say that cookies have been made, halls (and living & dining rooms) have been decked, presents have been purchased, made, and wrapped (okay, only some have been!), and Christmas cards have been designed & ordered.  Not to brag, but I am like a super-elf this year.

And!  I even had time to whip together one of these ornament wreaths – which is kind of amazing, since I’ve wanted to make one since Eddie Ross first posted about them.  (He’s got directions, so I’m not going to reinvent the wheel here)

I picked up 5 boxes of ornaments from the Salvation Army 2+ months ago (and Jason rolled his eyes) for the low, low price of $5.  The wire coat hanger & ribbon were already at my house.  It took about one America’s Next Top Model rerun to glue the tops on these & string ’em on the hanger.

I’m hanging it on the inside of the front door for now – you can’t see our door from the street, and I figured I should at least enjoy looking at it, since no one else will.  Now that I look at Eddie’s version again, though, I think I might switch up the positioning of the ribbon to the very top of the wreath… hmm…

(Also, I know I’m late to the party, but if you’re interested in more DIY deck your halls goodness, head over to Kim’s blog… while you’re there, you can admire her ornament wreaths, too!)

(AND, if you want one of these bad boys but don’t want to make them, Yvonne is selling some seriously stunning vintage wreaths on Etsy!  Love the blue & gold one!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 3:53 pm

    Funny, when I saw your post heading, I thought you were going to refer to my blog and the wreaths I’ve made this year…but alas…

    I have read Eddie Ross’ directions and found that using a styrofoam wreath form makes the wreath very stable. I will try the hanger way when I find a wire hanger – LOL! I don’t use wire hangers…must be a Mommy Dearest fear.

    Your wreath turned out quite nice.

    • December 14, 2010 4:17 pm

      How did I miss this? Maybe I was too busy staring at the cute pics of your granddaughter to the right of your posts? She is seriously cute!

      I love the wreaths you’ve posted about & added on Etsy. I think using wreath forms for these is genius – your wreaths look so full!

      • Yvonne permalink
        December 15, 2010 11:11 am

        Thanks, she is very cute, I must admit 😀

        I’ve sold 2 so far on Etsy and have given away 3. I really like making them. Fun and not too complicated. The glue gun fumes get to me a little.

  2. December 14, 2010 3:55 pm

    Just for your reference 😉
    http://andtheycalledherminimoo.blogspot.com/search/label/wreaths

  3. December 14, 2010 4:20 pm

    Oh that wreath is just lovely! I should take a photo of the wreath I made last year but never posted about…..ssssh, no one has to know it wasn’t this year! Right? 🙂 Right.

  4. December 14, 2010 7:24 pm

    i’m loving all the ornament wreathes lately and yours is no exception! just beautiful.

    visiting from newlywoodwards! 🙂

  5. December 14, 2010 7:35 pm

    Love the wreath and the colorful balls. It’s really such a quick project, isn’t it? It makes me want to make tons of them.

    • December 15, 2010 10:29 am

      I know! SO easy. If only I had an unlimited supply of ornaments…

  6. December 14, 2010 10:53 pm

    Looks great! I’ve also had this wreath on my DIY project list for a long time now, but unlike you, I’ve never gotten around to making one! Sounds like it didn’t take too long, which is good!

  7. December 15, 2010 9:21 am

    I really like how full your ornament wreath is. Did you plan it out in advance or just jump right in?

    • December 15, 2010 10:28 am

      Thanks, Amanda! I actually just jumped right in, kind of arranging things as I went, spacing out the different colored ornaments somewhat evenly. Which is why I was surprised when it turned out so well… I was expecting that I’d have to rearrange ornaments a whole bunch of times before it would look decent!

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

