Skip to content

Thanksgiving 2010, two weeks late because I’m not on my blogging game lately.

December 7, 2010

Almost two weeks later and I’m finally getting around to Thanksgiving.  Gah.

I’m going to blame my blog absence on recovering from a massive holiday road trip, and on feeling under the weather lately (I’ve been coughing for like a month now… not awesome).  Truthfully, though, I’ve just not felt like writing (does this ever happen to you?).  And there’s just so much that I want to do in preparation for the holidays, that my writing will probably fall by the wayside the rest of the month, too.  Because it’s finally snowed here (yay!) and all I want to do is rock out to Christmas tunes, make cookies, sew homemade gifts, buy & wrap store-bought goodies, and finish decorating the house.

Anyways.  Thanksgiving.

My cousin’s dog, Remi is so stinkin’ cute.  We almost dognapped her and brought her back to MI.

We left the dogs at home with a dog sitter & headed to Minneapolis, splitting the 9-hour drive in half with an overnight at my parent’s house in Milwaukee.  Jason was so kind as to invite himself to my aunt & uncle’s house for Turkey Day way back in May, and from there the event snowballed into everyone making the journey from Milwaukee to Minneapolis last week.  Really, we were both looking forward to seeing family & friends that we haven’t seen since we left Minneapolis, and revisiting some of our old haunts.

We arrived noonish on Wednesday, and went immediately to the MegaMall (aka Mall of America, aka Shopping Heaven for the girl who currently has few shopping options).  Mama bear, brother Trevor, and I shopped the place for about 6 hours – and I think we walked at least 3 miles in the process.  Jason quit on us mid-afternoon to meet a few of his former coworkers at The Muddy Pig in St. Paul.  Mama bear, Trevor, and I met him there for dinner, and were quite happy that we did – the food was great.

Thursday was the main event, of course, and it was really great to have the whole gang together.  We snapped a quick family photo before lunch (PS why didn’t anyone tell me to fluff my hair? It’s looking kind of flat.)  And by “a quick family photo”, I actually mean “at least 20 family photos” so that we’d have ONE that all of us are actually smiling in.  This one’s pretty cute, though, even with the Movember nonsense on my husband’s upper lip.

JT got a lesson on turkey carving from my uncle, so hopefully we’ll be better equipped for next year’s friends thanksgiving feast.  My aunt prepared an amazing Thanksgiving meal, featuring TWO crockpots of mashed potatoes.  Yum.

And we all ate a million pounds of mashed potatoes & gravy and all the other typical turkey day fixings and it was so good.  After the 3rd (or was it 4th?) serving of mashed potatoes, I was thankful that the seams on my pants were still in tact.

And of course, we were all thankful that our family could be together, thankful for food, shelter, warmth, scrabble and all of the other blessings of the past year.

After our delish turkey day meal, we had the ultimate scrabble tournament, in which I -ahem- let my first round opponents to win (okay, I’m lying. But no fair that my first round opponents were the best in the family.  I should have definitely sat down at an easier board).  You’ll be happy to know that I was the winner at the loser’s table.

Friday, we visited with friends at two more fav Minneapolis haunts – Black Sheep Pizza and the Herkimer.  I am really so thankful that we had such amazing Minneapolis friends and that we’ve been able to keep in touch with them, and that we had an opportunity to see them again!

We made sure to stop by our old abodes.  The first apartment we shared was in the heart of uptown, and made me miss being able to walk or hop on a bus to go out to eat.  And we were pleased to see that the fence we put up at our previous home was still standing!  Each visit to each home brought back what seems like a million memories – the time I put my down vest on Barley to walk down to the Pond Hockey Championships in -15 degree weather, running across the street from our condo to pick up fresh bread at Kowalski’s, etc, etc.  We smiled and laughed about each, but decided that we’re happy with where we are currently, and we’re not sure we’d trade our house in the country for a home in the city.

Saturday, we headed to visit our friends & their sweet newborn baby girl at their house just north of Minneapolis.  At only 3 weeks old, their peanut was so tiny & cute, and I was definitely happy to have the opportunity to meet her and to catch up with her parents!

Of course, I’m neglecting to mention how great it was to wake up at my aunt & uncles house to a smorgasbord of breakfast goodies & the cheerful chatter of my grandparents, cousins, aunt, & uncle.  For a few minutes, I thought I just might as well move back in (I’ve lived at their house twice in my adult life).

Saturday evening, we headed back to Milwaukee, and arrived just in time for everyone to be finishing the meal my mom prepared for the family (sorry we were late, mom!).  We did fit in some conversation time with them, though, and the reheated leftovers weren’t too bad. 🙂

We had time to watch brother Trevor play hockey before heading out of town on Sunday.  Their team lost in the last 2 minutes of the game, but it was fun to see Trev play anyways since he improves dramatically every time I see him!

Phew.  That was a long post!  Congrats if you’ve actually made it this far…

And now, it’s time for me to get back to my cleaning & Christmas preparations.  Perhaps I’ll be back later this week to tell you about the tree that’s taking up 1/3 of our living room, or show pics of my adventures in cookie making.  Or maybe I’ll be too busy Christmas crafting.  I know!  The suspense!

Just as a note, if you’re looking for rad homemade Christmas ideas, stop by Newlywoodwards or the CSI project.  I wish I had my act together enough to show off my homemade Christmas gifts, but to be honest, they’re all still just figments of my imagination at this point…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. GGG permalink
    December 7, 2010 6:26 pm

    Glad you finally told us about Thanksgiving:) It sure was a lot of fun!

  2. mom permalink
    December 7, 2010 10:49 pm

    Hey, I have a lot of Christmas figments too! The parts are scattered all over the dining room table!

  3. Debbie permalink
    December 7, 2010 11:39 pm

    Yea! You’re back! We’re thankful that Jason has another loving family to celebrate the holidays with. We can’t wait to see you in TWO WEEKS! Maybe I’ll be almost ready by then.

  4. December 8, 2010 1:14 pm

    I’m the same way lately…all I want to do is decorate for Christmas bake goodies and sew. Once my finals are over I am going to do just that. I hope you are having a good time baking and creating. I’m glad y’all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I hope you have a great rest of the week and a very merry Christmas! xoxo

  5. December 8, 2010 2:57 pm

    You are a busy gal! I’ve been wondering where you were. 😉

  6. December 8, 2010 9:01 pm

    Love the group photo. What a great shot. Looks like you’ve been busy and had lots o fun. Tis the season.

  7. December 8, 2010 11:42 pm

    You guys have such a great photo! Neither side of my family has done that–ever! Need to keep it in mind for next year for sure. Sounds like you guys had a fabulous time though. Also, you aren’t behind, I am. I’m “supposed” to be writing about wedding recaps—-I got married in September, I’m waaay behind. HA!

    Also, saw the photos of the house. I love love where you are guys are and the country cabin look on the outside. The house has really good bones and I’m jealous of that sunroom! You guys are coming along really well with the house and I can’t wait to see more updates.

  8. December 16, 2010 9:51 am

    Now that’s an amazing Thanksgiving!

Trackbacks

  1. early Christmas «
  2. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

