Skip to content

fall table

November 22, 2010

I mentioned last week that I didn’t have time to put together a pretty centerpiece for our friends thanksgiving dinner.

Instead, I thought I’d throw together the centerpiece I wish I’d made last week THIS week so that I could join in Kim’s Dare to DIY party.

So here it is:

The acorns & nuts came from trees in the back yard, and everything else (candles, holders, etc) was already on hand.

The walnut place holders are my fav – I copied the idea from Martha (in the Nov issue of her mag).  To split the walnuts justatinybit, I wedged a razor blade in the natural break between the two halves.  Then just write each person’s name on a pretty little piece of paper and slip it in there.  Easypeasy.

As much as I dig this set up, let me just say that as much as I like the candles & whatnot on the table, I think I appreciated a table topped with food & surrounded by friends a little more…  And I’m looking forward to round #2 later this week!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 7:53 pm

    It’s so funny cause I was thinking I saw that in Martha. Yours is prettier. And, your centerpiece is breathtaking. Just lovely. I’m a fan of it.

    Thanks for joining in. As much as I love tablescapes, I love friends and family more. I’m totally with you there. =)

  2. mom permalink
    November 22, 2010 8:50 pm

    Are those hickory nuts mixed in with the acorns? They sure look like it! Better bring some along for Grandma B; she loves hickory nuts and has the best cookie recipe for them!

  3. November 22, 2010 10:06 pm

    I love this…natural centerpieces. Beautiful

  4. November 22, 2010 11:39 pm

    So simple and pretty! I love all those natural elements and colors. Such cute place holders!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. GGG permalink
    November 23, 2010 9:20 am

    You better get to Aunt Tamis early and set up a center piece for the rest of us—-Maybe bring some nuts—I don’t think she grows them:)

  6. November 24, 2010 9:01 am

    that’s beautiful!! those candlesticks are amazing!

Leave a Reply

