Skip to content

walnut turkeys

November 15, 2010

Sorry to ditch you like that last week.

About a week and a half ago, I decided to throw a friend’s thanksgiving dinner on Sunday.  With the help of my awesome friend, Andrea, we had an amazing meal last night with 13 of our friends.  It was great, but required a lot of planning, especially since I’ve never cooked a meal of that magnitude before.  I’ll fill you in on more of the details (and recipes!) tomorrow.

For today, I thought I’d show off a cute little project I made as one of my friend’s thanksgiving preparations.  (Idea stolen borrowed from here).

Here were my supplies: walnut, acorn, glue gun, red/orange/yellow construction paper, thin cardboard, and a sharpie (you’ll need scissors, too, not pictured)

Basically, I grabbed red, orange, and yellow construction paper and cut tail feathers, a beak, and that red hangy piece that stretches down the turkey’s neck (it’s name escapes me right now).  And I cut little turkey feet from a thin piece of cardboard (think cereal box material).  Then, I glued everything together with my hot glue gun.

The whole thing took about 5 minutes.

And the two little girls at the party loved them.

That is, until one fell on the floor and Jezebel devoured it.  Oops.

Today I’m joining Kim’s super-awesome Dare to Be Thankful party, mostly because I think Kim is awesome (umm… her & her hubby just tore down their garage & built a new one in like 3 weeks.  so impressive!).  Head on over to check out other super-rad Thanksgiving ideas.  I’m also linking up to the DIY Show Off’s Fall Festival & The Shabby Nest’s Frugal Friday – two other inspiring sources for ideas!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 2:50 pm

    oh my goodness!

    so sweet. they’d make amazing placecard holders! thanks for sharing!

  2. November 15, 2010 3:12 pm

    This is the cutest thing EVER! We are hosting Thanksgiving lunch at our house, and I’ve been looking for table setting ideas. This will be perfect! Thank you for sharing, and I’m glad your dinner went well! 🙂

  3. November 15, 2010 3:59 pm

    They look great and they are so simple to made. I should have saved some of my black walnut this year.

  4. ourhumbleabowed permalink
    November 15, 2010 4:04 pm

    Jen, they look great! Thanks for the shout out, too. I’m glad you were able to find a little inspiration 🙂

    Amanda

  5. November 15, 2010 6:49 pm

    These are so adorable. How can they be chic and cute? I don’t know, but you did it.

    And, as always, your photos are gorg.

    Thanks for linking up. Really appreciate it.

  6. amy permalink
    November 15, 2010 7:17 pm

    snood – it’s as much fun to say as it is to craft with the 3 & unders

    if this didn’t require a glue gun, I’d steal it myself

  7. November 15, 2010 10:04 pm

    Um… so adorable. I’m kind of wishing for a Thanksgiving do-over so I could try these myself 🙂

  8. Catherine permalink
    November 15, 2010 11:40 pm

    those are too cute, i’m recruiting you for decorating instead of myself for thanksgiving! 🙂

  9. November 16, 2010 1:21 am

    Oh how adorable. My girls would love this. I think you have just made their day! Thanks

  10. November 16, 2010 4:14 am

    Okay your walnut turkeys are adorable! But even more I am LOVING the idea of throwing a friends thanksgiving party! What a great idea!

  11. November 16, 2010 12:13 pm

    So adorable!

  12. November 16, 2010 1:51 pm

    O My God…how cute!

  13. GGG permalink
    November 16, 2010 2:32 pm

    How can one person be so clever ALL THE TIME!

  14. Tami permalink
    November 16, 2010 4:33 pm

    Yes, you are officially nominated as the assistant (to Catherine) holiday decorator. We will need several bouquets, napkin rings, name tags and 2 dozen little turkeys. 🙂

    • November 17, 2010 11:28 am

      Okay, but in exchange for my services, can uncle Doug please teach Jason how to carve a turkey? The butchering of our friends thanksgiving turkey left much to be desired…

      • Tami permalink
        November 17, 2010 11:59 am

        HA HA…seriously, you know that uncle Doug learned how to carve a turkey by watching a cooking show on PBS! AND, inspired by you, we have decided to cook a second turkey on the grill (23 + people and all…) so we need to talk before next week Thursday.

      • November 17, 2010 2:37 pm

        Awesome. I know Jason would LOVE to help with that. He’s quickly becoming the beer-can poultry master of SW MI.

  15. November 16, 2010 9:50 pm

    So cute!

  16. November 17, 2010 1:11 am

    I love them too – they are very sweet!

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

