Skip to content

2010 Fall Decor

October 20, 2010

I thought I’d take a minute to show you the {very small} changes we’ve made to the house to fall-ify it.  I didn’t do a ton of decorating, and really tried to use natural-ish things to decorate.  Out here in the woods, the beauty of fall is apparent with just a glance out the windows… and I decided not to compete with mother nature this year.

{also! exciting news! we got the chimney cleaned out yesterday and once we remove the gas line, we can have real fires in there! which means that my husband will allow me to move the tv and hang something pretty up there!}

{I did pick up the dried gourd this year… and you can only imagine the eye rolls from Jason when I came home and excitedly showed off the gourd.  He’s like, “great. more crap in my house.”}

{I wrapped twine & berries around some cheap ikea candles that I had on hand}

{same shot, different focus.  see why I can’t compete? the colors outside my windows are absolutely stunning.}

And that’s that.  Our little fall home tour.  I’d love to see what the rest of you have done for fall decor (feel free to link up in the comments!).  Do you keep it simple?  Or have you added tons of fall fun to your house?

PS Last year’s fall decor, mainly consisting of dead floral arrangements here.

Also, I’m taking postcard requests for our upcoming vacay.  Email me your addy & I’ll send you some mail love – jen.in.the.country{at}gmail.com!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Tami permalink
    October 20, 2010 9:26 am

    Nice! So understated and pretty like the rest of your house! Those little pumpkins in the jars and the orange polka dotted black ceramic pieces are great.

  2. October 20, 2010 9:29 am

    So warm and cozy! Love it!

  3. October 20, 2010 10:56 am

    Love the fall decor! Nice and warm for the season!

    The picture with trees outside through the window…fabulous!

  4. Janna permalink
    October 20, 2010 11:32 am

    Looks beautiful! My favorite is the polka dot vases & the twine and berries vases – adorable!

  5. GGG permalink
    October 20, 2010 3:38 pm

    Everything looks so neat and tidy———–beautiful!

  6. October 20, 2010 9:22 pm

    It looks great. You are very good at making things festive but not over the top. I typically go the way of over the top.

    Are those the same shelves in your kitchen as in your bathroom? I love them and think I may need some in our house.

  7. October 20, 2010 9:47 pm

    I love it! Very understand and savvy! I adore those brass(?) partridges!

  8. October 20, 2010 9:48 pm

    oops .. that was supposed to read understated

  9. October 21, 2010 6:07 pm

    God, I just so love everything you have done in your home. The paneling on the fireplace is beautiful and the pendant in the kitchen is adorable! Where did you get those little pumpkin things in the jars? They’re super cute!

  10. October 22, 2010 11:21 am

    I like your holiday decor. I’m pretty understated as well, but I mix in some “Halloween” along with “fall”, and later when Halloween is over, I bring out a few little “Thanksgiving” items, and keep the “fall”.

    Here’s a link to some of my decorations: http://picasaweb.google.com/ourspolairebear/Fall2010?feat=directlink

  11. October 24, 2010 1:13 pm

    Great fall decorating! It’s getting me in the mood for my own place.

  12. October 24, 2010 3:10 pm

    Loving all the natural decor around blogland this year.

    As always, I love your crap – j just needs to accept he will never “get it” how we can be thrilled by stuff like this 🙂

    Got the pumpkin carving pooh set out of the cupbad you bought us last year – hope you are enjoying all the Halloween candy – did you know this year we have Halloween cadbury cream eggs – called Scream Eggs with green middles

Leave a Reply

