Skip to content

candy-covered chocolate-covered caramel covered apples

October 18, 2010

Officially my fav thing to eat in fall.

And I’m proclaiming that they’re healthy.  After all, an apple a day keeps the doctor away.  Right?

They’re ridiculously easy, probably even more so if you have a microwave (I don’t, so I have to melt the caramel & chocolate with a double boiler. Which I also don’t have, but I improvise by throwing a glass bowl over a pot of boiling water, and yes, I know that glass bowls don’t conduct heat very well, but this is what I have.).

Anyways.

You need: apples, caramel, milk chocolate chips, candy of your choice (nuts & sprinkles would probably be good, too).

Step 1.  Cover your apple in caramel, following directions on the caramel package.  (I use the small blocks of caramel).

Step 2.  Put in fridge for ~1 hour to let the caramel set.

Step 3.  If you want your apples to be pretty and apple shaped, you can wet your fingers and mold any caramel that’s fallen to the bottom of the apple back around the apple.  I’m usually not as concerned with looks as I am with taste, so I often skip this step.

Step 4.  Dip caramel apple in melted chocolate chips.

Step 5.  Dip apple in bowl of crushed candy.

Step 6.  Return to fridge for as long as you can handle (my personal record: 3 min) to set the chocolate.

Step 7.  Enjoy.  It’s also nice if you share, but I happen to live with someone who doesn’t like candy, so they’re all mine.

Step 8.  Go buy new pants and rejoice that it’s big-wool-sweater time anyways.

Also, while we’re talking delish fall recipes:  I’ve been enjoying these homemade pumpkin spice lattes recently.  I made up a batch of the pumpkin spice mix a few days ago, and I store it in the fridge & add a bit to my morning coffee instead of my usual milk & sugar.  It’s delish.  So if you dig Starbucks but don’t dig the prices, or if it’s a 20 min drive to your nearest SB (sad, but true!), you should go for it.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. GGG permalink
    October 18, 2010 11:18 am

    You know how I love to cook:) I’d probably have the chocolate and caramel all eaten by the time I got the apples washed!!!!!

  2. October 18, 2010 12:13 pm

    I made carmal apples last year. SOOO yummy! But this is even better!

  3. October 18, 2010 3:17 pm

    These look AMAZING! I am instantly hungry now.

  4. Mom permalink
    October 18, 2010 7:18 pm

    I’m sure Tami would be so appreciative if you brought a few dozen of those awesome apples to Thanksgiving ~ just saying….

  5. October 18, 2010 8:13 pm

    Yum-mo! It looks delicious! I want to make caramel apples for our Halloween party – who doesn’t like caramel apples?

  6. October 19, 2010 11:19 pm

    OMG caramal apples are my favorite part of fall! I’d totally come help you with your garden if you make me a steady supply of these. ; )

  7. October 21, 2010 1:13 pm

    Ooo! For the pumpkin spice mix, did you double/triple the recipe to store it? Inquiring minds want to know!

Leave a Reply

