Skip to content

2010 week 40: a wedding and a baby!

October 16, 2010

{my 5th birthday party}

She was one of my first friends, and I have a million memories with her.  Sleepovers, playing restaurant in her basement (we were rollerskating waitresses – so awesome), watching Dirty Dancing, even though we were probably too young to.  Trick-or-treating.  Becoming the babysitters of our younger siblings.  I imagine that there were very few days during our childhood that we spent apart.  It was she who introduced me to the open-faced-peanut-butter-and-honey-microwaved-for-5-seconds sandwich, and years later, at her house, that same microwave was used to unthaw my underwear – frozen because I had fallen asleep first the night before.  She’s overwhelmingly sweet, super-intelligent and accomplished, down-to-earth, dependable.  The kind of person that everyone instantly likes.  For ten very important years of my life, she was always there.  And I really couldn’t have been any luckier to have such a solid friend in my life.

{5th grade graduation}

Of course, it wasn’t just the two of us.  There were a small troop of girls our age living within the same block in our sweet suburban neighborhood.  And, I have a million amazing memories with these girls.  A million sleepovers.  Setting up a “store” in Laura’s parent’s porch.  Games of kick the can and black cat.  Running from house to house while trick-or-treating in an attempt to get the most candy ever.  Trips to the local amusement park.  Swimming or ice skating at my grandparent’s lake cottage.  Cleaning my messy basement playroom and going to Chuck-E-Cheese’s as a reward when we were finished.  A million birthday celebrations.  Sleeping in a tent in Lyndsey’s backyard.  Swimming in Sara’s pool.  Bigger and better hunts.  Girl scouts.  Trips to Chicago with our moms.

Yep, we were all pretty inseparable.

{more 5th grade graduation.  FYI: the circles behind us represent what each of us wanted to be when we grew up.  I thought I’d be the first female president of the United States.  Which is interesting because I despise the stupid mudslinging commercials for November’s election.  Meaning: I’m not sure I would have been a great politician.}

When I was 13, my family moved one suburb over.  And, since one suburb might as well be the other side of the world when you’re a pre-driving teen, I fell out of touch with these girls who had played such a big role in making me who I am today.

{my 13th birthday party}

Luckily, due to the powers of mutual friends & facebook, I got back in touch with E just a few months before my wedding.  I was delighted that she agreed to come to the wedding, and even more delighted to meet her serious boyfriend, T.

Fast forward to last weekend.  We celebrated what was probably one of the best days in E & T’s life.  I can’t even begin to tell you how thrilled I was to be invited to share in such a special day in their lives.

{aren’t they a cute couple!?}

E & T were married at a stunning old church in MKE.  I hadn’t set foot in the church since we were little girls attending after a sleepover.  It was just as I remembered… a beautiful backdrop for making such important promises.

{JT outside the reception}

The reception was held at a restaurant overlooking lake Michigan.  Such a great setting – especially as the sun set and a cluster of lighted trees appeared outside the dining room windows.

It was such a classy event, and no detail was overlooked.  The flowers were stunning – a mix of deep red roses, deep purple something-or-others, green hydrangeas, and hypernicum berries (I wish I had taken a better photo of them – they were gorg).  And, you know I hit up the candy bar once.  Or twice.  (Or more than that, but we don’t need to talk about it.)

But I think that what made the event especially fun was the opportunity to reconnect with these girls that were so important in my life.  They look (and act!) just as I remember them.  Which is crazy amazing since it’s been 15 years since we’ve all been together.  {Ladies!  We need to get together again soon!}

And seeing my childhood BFF so so happy as she becomes a wife to such a great guy – it was amazing.

{love this picture of E & her dad!}

We ended the night – as all great nights end – on the dance floor.  And you know that JT brought out the air guitar.

{Ohmygosh you guys.  Look at that face.  This is why I don’t take him out much.}

On our way back to MI on Sunday, we stopped in Chicago to visit with my high school BFF (seriously, we took a compatibility quiz that informed us we should be BFFs, so we are), her hubby, and her sweet 9 month old.  I hadn’t met her baby yet, so I was really really excited to meet her.  And I’m happy to report that this kiddo is just as awesome and cute in person as she is in photos.  So. stinkin. cute.

We had a great time visiting & ate a huge lunch at a nearby (dog friendly!) bar.

And when we arrived home, the doggs were so so tired.  They snuggled right up to each other and snored away the evening.

{these two are ridiculous.}

The rest of the week has been a flurry of activity, as I returned to my after-school-science-teaching gig, and I’ve decided to show up at localsmallcollege 2 days/week to prepare my course for teaching in January.  And, I’ve been frantically searching the interwebs for places to stay during our upcoming trip to Costa Rica.  To say that I’m excited about our trip would be the understatement of the year!  I hope to return to a more normal blogging schedule next week, but who knows!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. GGG permalink
    October 16, 2010 10:23 pm

    What fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I remember E:)

  2. Mom permalink
    October 17, 2010 2:38 am

    Oh, thanks for the trip down memory lane…I always had so much fun planning your birthday parties because you always had a great group of friends around you and they were always game for some of my crazy ideas….design-a-pizza, tie-dye matching sleepshirts, etc. E is just beautiful, I am so happy for her, she deserves the best!

  3. Tami permalink
    October 17, 2010 1:27 pm

    Looks like you had so much fun…and please bring your air-guitar-playing, rock-and-roll husband to Thanksgiving. Clearly, he can be the entertainment.

  4. Debbie permalink
    October 18, 2010 6:34 am

    Looks like such a fun weekend! It’s great reconnecting with old friends. That adorable group of little girls certainly turned into beautiful women!
    Is that tongue action on J really necessary to play the guitar? LOL

  5. October 18, 2010 7:43 am

    Awww…that last picture makes my heart melt!

  6. Katie permalink
    October 19, 2010 9:35 am

    Your Charlie pics turned out great! Thanks again for the visit. Always good to catch up with my BFF.

Leave a Reply

