Skip to content

2010 week 39, part two

October 9, 2010

On Sunday, we celebrated Maelynn’s first birthday.  We were pretty thrilled that Brey & Sean decided to hold her party on a day that we could be there to celebrate!  Since we’re so far away, we usually miss fun events like this, and it was so nice to be able to join everyone!

Maezie rocked out her little pink tutu skirt and some silver ballet slipper shoes.  She’s pretty fashionable.  I think she gets it from her mama.

We did all of the standard first birthday tricks – eating delish food, spoiling our girl with presents, and eating cake/cupcakes.  And, in my case at least, taking a million pictures.

{this one adores her mama.}

{the birthday girls}

{Lucy & Peter presented Maezie with a sweet gift covered in awesome homemade wrapping paper.  And then they helped her open it.  They love their little cousin!}

{the birthday baby & her parents}

{jt & I were lucky enough to get a photo with the birthday girl – after she ate her cake, of course!}

{Peter!}

{Lucy & Thomas – if you can’t tell, she is just smitten with him!}

{cousins!}

{As the oldest in my fam, I can only imagine that I was this annoying loving to all of my little cousins.}

{Lucy!}

{And, of course we snagged a family shot.  It’s a must-do on those rare occasions that the entire family is together.  I haven’t decided which coloring I like better, though, so I’ll just throw both up here and let you tell me which one you like best.  I think the upper is more subdued and the skin tones look a little nicer, but I like the color of the trees in the bottom pic, even if we all look startlingly white.  I guess I will now go learn how to give us all a virtual tan in photoshop.}

After Sunday’s birthday festivities, we headed back to J’s parent’s house to hang out for the evening.  We began our drive back to MI on Monday, but not until after J got his fill of Chipotle (for the third time that weekend).

The rest of the week was spent recovering from one trip and preparing for another.  We’ll be celebrating the wedding of my oldest friend (we met when we were just 3!) and her fiance tomorrow, and we are so thrilled to be able to share in their joy!  Have a great weekend!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 4:37 am

    You take the most gorgeous photographs! I’m glad to hear that you guys had a great trip!!

  2. Debbie permalink
    October 9, 2010 10:07 am

    As always, great photos! I only wish you were closer so I could employ you as my personal photographer and take you to all events.
    Nothing is more special to me than pictures of my family(the next best thing to being together in person). Thank you!!!!!

  3. Tami permalink
    October 11, 2010 12:39 am

    Once again, great photography! Maezie reminds me of Catherine when she was little (except her eyes were deep brown instead of bright blue). SO CUTE! 🙂

  4. October 11, 2010 11:45 am

    I love the picture of Maezie with her parents. They’ve got big smiles and her expression is pure dead-pan. Perfect!

  5. GGG permalink
    October 12, 2010 9:17 am

    Such beautiful brithday girls!

Leave a Reply

