Skip to content

2010 week 39, part 1: our trip to Jersey

October 7, 2010

I thought I’d start sharing photos from my week early this week.  I took about 3.2 million photos over the weekend, and I plan to bore you with almost all of them. 🙂

Anyways.

We hopped in the car last Friday and headed to Jersey.  11 hours of driving later, we found ourselves at J’s sister’s house.  Brey, Sean, and baby Maelynn were excellent hosts, and I was a little sad that we didn’t arrive until 2am and were too tired to really hang out with them.  Both Brey and Sean coach youth soccer Saturday mornings, so J and I kidnapped Maelynn and brought her to J’s parent’s house, where we surprised J’s mom for her birthday!

Debbie was out when we arrived, so J, J’s dad, and I played with Maelynn and the dogs in the backyard.  I used the opportunity to take a million pictures, managing to convince my camera to work only by removing the battery when it wasn’t in use.

She’s a pretty photogenic kiddo.  And those eyes!  So pretty.

When Debbie came home, we jumped out and yelled “surprise” and she was surprised.  Within a few minutes, J’s cousins and their kiddos, and J’s brother, SIL, and their kiddos showed up, and the house was a flurry of activity and laughter.  Awesome.

And we got to meet this little guy:

Our new nephew, Thomas, is stunningly beautiful.  I usually think newborns are a little goofy looking, but this one is pretty much perfect.

Once the excitement died down, the entire family headed to the pumpkin farm.  We walked around a little bit, but I was disappointed by the lack of a free hayride, and the fact that the pumpkins were already picked – not in a field waiting to be picked.  I guess my small midwestern pumpkin farm experiences have spoiled me.

Later in the evening, we headed out to a dinner birthday celebration.  J’s aunts and uncles met us at the restaurant, and a good time was had by all.  After an afternoon of no naps for the children, our nieces and nephews were surprisingly well-behaved at the restaurant.  Our niece, Lucy, sported these ridiculously cute pigtails.

Our fun evening ended with Peter helping his Grammy blow out the candles on a super-amazing brownie a la mode.  Seriously.  I’m drooling on my keyboard just thinking about it.

And then we headed back to J’s parents house for the evening to rest up for Sunday’s birthday festivities!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:55 pm

    Oh, I love the pictures. You really have a knack for it! I am looking forward to better holiday pics from now on, mine have been lame and pretty much non-existent.

    Too much cuteness for one weekend!

  2. October 7, 2010 3:04 pm

    We were just in NJ the week prior. We left Wednesday (9/29) to drive back home with my son’s new (to him) car.

  3. Amy permalink
    October 7, 2010 3:59 pm

    You didn’t, by any chance, leave these photos at Debbie’s house did you? They’re really awesome, Jen, and not just because you have a great camera. Thanks for being our not-crappy family photog.

  4. October 17, 2010 3:30 am

    Can’t imagine driving 11 hours anywhere without running out of land!

    Fab photos – very cute kids 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

