Skip to content

2010 week 38

October 1, 2010

If anyone knows where the past week went, please let me know.  I totally fell off the blogging bandwagon, instead spending my computer time working to prep my class & create a wedding photo album just in time for my 2-year anniversary on Monday.  It’s been so fun looking back at all of the pictures and smile.  We had the best day ever, and I can’t believe it’s taken me 2 years to arrange the photos in an album.  I’ve also had a few sewing projects in the works, which I hope to share with you next week.

The highlight of the week was the awesome meat party we had with Tim, Andrea, and Tim’s daughters.  Yes, a meat party.  In which we used our grinder to grind meat, and then devoured said meat like the good little carnivores that we are.  And then sat around lamenting the eating of said meat for two days while the meat digested.  Needless to say, the next party will likely be a meat, fruit, and veggies party, probably with a little dairy & grains thrown in for good measure.

Yum.  (Okay, not quite as yummy looking in it’s raw form.  Kind of gross, actually.)

We’re mostly chicken-, turkey-, and porkaterians, so that’s what we made.  Thank goodness, too, because I think if beef had been our meat of choice, our digestion time would have increased exponentially.

We made thai- and indian-inspired dishes: thai ground pork salad (pictured above), northern thai sausage, and bombay sliders (because of this recommendation from Jessica).  All three were amazing, and we had trouble choosing which was our favorite.  I recommend you make all of these.  Just not on the same night, okay?  Because the 6 of us ate over 6 lbs of meat, and what followed was not pretty.  (Even if beautiful A is making it look pretty below.)

Thank goodness Andrea decided we should all take a late-night walk or I probably would have had that brick of meat in my belly for days.

(As I’m re-reading this post, it strikes me that this meat party thing was kind of a weird idea.  Hmm.  Didn’t catch that before.  Although, I have been told that I’m pretty good at convincing people to do weird things, like adopt a plastic pig (for the record, though, I’m not the one who duct taped it to the steering wheel to teach it to drive), get roommate pictures “professionally” taken at Walmart, or stand in line at the mega-mall to try out for the bachelor.  So, we’ll just add “meat party 2010” to that list.)

Moving on.

Monday is our second wedding anniversary, and we have plenty of celebrating to do this weekend!  The dogs are psyched.  I’m going to practice using J’s new iphone to tweet the weekend’s events as they unravel (because I thought I’d be super-fun to take you all with us to Costa Rica in a few weeks, virtually, of course, and I am kind of slow on the technology curve sometimes, so this seems like a good time to practice).  So you should follow along (or, if you don’t have a twitter account, you can check the sidebar on the blog), if you’re into hearing about every little thing we’re up to, hopefully with pictures attached.

Have a great weekend, everyone! 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. GGG permalink
    October 1, 2010 10:31 am

    Adopt a plastic pig? Really? Not toooo funny:)

  2. October 1, 2010 11:12 am

    Funny, a Canadian friend of mine had a “meat party” last weekend too. This is the list of things they ate:
    Chicken
    Turkey
    Beef
    Pork
    Quail
    Goat
    Shrimp
    Eel
    Uni(Sea Urchin)
    Tuna
    Scallop
    Octopus
    Squid
    Clam
    Oyster
    Turtle
    Cuttlefish
    Kangaroo
    Camel
    Lobster
    Squab
    Partridge
    Muskox
    Elk
    Caribou
    Guinea Fowl
    Pheasant
    Crayfish
    Conch
    Alligator
    Venison
    Water Buffalo
    Ostrich
    Duck
    Bison
    Maguey Grub (Tequila worm)
    Frog
    Crab
    Abalone
    Snail
    Mussel
    Rabbit
    Lamb
    Sea Cucumber

    I wonder if he’s feeling well these days 😉

    • October 2, 2010 12:18 am

      Whoa! That is an insane amount of meat! I don’t know whether to be impressed or just jealous. Maybe both?

      • October 2, 2010 11:16 am

        He’s been sick for a week, so I don’t think you should be either impressed or jealous 😀

  3. October 1, 2010 11:38 am

    #1: Happy Anniversary!! Our one year is on Sunday and we’re fleeing the state and going to Savannah, GA for the weekend.

    #2: None of those ideas sound too weird to me. Does that say something about me? While we didn’t have “professional” roommate pictures taken, my roommate and I did have a photo shoot of each other around campus the spring of my freshman year. (I honestly think we were just excited that it was nice enough to go outside after a really cold winter!)

  4. October 1, 2010 3:50 pm

    Happy 2 years! Ours is coming up in December. I am so jealous of the meat grinder attachment! I need that sucker!

  5. October 1, 2010 10:37 pm

    lol at a “meat party” – that’s creative.

    Happy Anniversary!

  6. mom permalink
    October 2, 2010 1:21 am

    After viewing the close up of the meat grinder in all it’s glistening raw beauty, I’m kind of sorry you learned how to take such crystal clear close-ups! Yuck, I could have done without that photo!

  7. Debbie permalink
    October 2, 2010 10:30 am

    That picture of the pork salad ,however, looks straight out of a magazine.

Leave a Reply

