Skip to content

2010 week 37

September 27, 2010

An announcement:  I was just contacted to do a review for CSN stores, which, as you probably know by now, sells everything from nesting tables, to cookware, to dog beds.  I first discovered them when J & I were looking for a sink for our 1/2 bath remodel (we eyed up this one), and have since seen them all over the blogosphere.  So, needless to say, I’m pretty darn excited!

I started blogging about what was going on in my life each Friday at the beginning of the year.  My intention was to use it as an opportunity to practice my photography, and also to remember ordinary little moments in my life (you know, for the scrapbook).  Which is a great idea, except that I’m totally falling off the picture-taking bandwagon, and also, my camera is on the fritz and it’s making me excessively angry.  It’s only working about 50% of the time, giving me an Err 99 message the other 50% of the time.  After troubleshooting for a while, I think it might just need a good cleaning.

Anyways.  All of this is my way of saying that I’ve taken very few pictures in the last 2 weeks.

In fact, today I’ll post just one: a picture of Jason & Melinda:

Melinda and J met on grad school interviews.  They lived across the hall from each other during their first year of grad school, cooking meals for each other, heading to the bars together, and entertaining Melinda’s rabbits together (or being entertained by the rabbits, perhaps?).  I’d say they studied together, but from what I can gather, there may not have been much studying going on in those days.  Anyways.  These two are really close – so close, in fact, that J asked Melinda to be his groomsmaid in our wedding.

So I’m pretty glad that they let me in on their little circle of friendship.  The three of us had a blast last weekend doing a lot of nothing.  Friday, we headed to the Detroit airport to pick M up – she missed her connecting flight to localsmallcity, and instead of waiting 7 hours for the next flight, we opted to drive the 2 hours to the East side of the state to pick her up.  We then walked around Ann Arbor for a bit since I’ve never been (J was there for grad school interviews 10 years ago).  Ann Arbor’s downtown is lined with little shops & restaurants, and we had a great time browsing and chatting.  We ate dinner at the Jolly Pumpkin, and the beer & food was delish.

The rest of the weekend was spent lazily.  We made waffles for breakfast (a meal that now comes standard at our little B&B), headed to the farmer’s market, ate lunch at our favorite pizza joint, grabbed a few beers at a local brewery, and otherwise relaxed and enjoyed each other’s company.  We were sad to see M go, but, since she lives in Philly & we’re headed there for Christmas this year, we hope to see her in just a few short months.

Other than that, highlights of last week include: working on the house, working on some career-related writing, working on some contract stuff for my mama, thinking about prepping for my winter course (now featuring nightmares about agreeing to lecture a class, only to find out it’s an English class – NOT my best subject – and I don’t have anything intelligent to say and I haven’t prepared at all!).  I also ran twice (I’m so close to finishing the couch to 5K) and met the new dogsitter (for when we’re in Costa Rica).  Incredibly dull, but these minor details seemed to have filled my past week.

We were happy to welcome a new nephew into the world on Wednesday.  Based on pictures and family reports, he’s small and perfect, and JT and I hope he’ll stay that way until we get to meet him!  *fingers crossed*  It’s sort of a bittersweet welcome, at least for me, since this precious little guy is a reminder of what we lost last January.  I had braced myself for this day, knowing that it wouldn’t be easy, but somehow, staring at the .jpg of this tiny human took my breath away in a way that baby pictures have never done before.  He’s just incredible.  And I’m hopeful we’ll acquire a small and incredible human of our very own soon enough, but until then, we’ll gladly celebrate and cuddle nieces & nephews (and also? we’ll gladly hand them back to their parents when they cry. or poo. that’s why being an aunt rocks – all of the fun and none of the responsibility.)

Alright.

I’m off to go investigate camera cleaning services now.  We had some amazing adventures in meat eating over the weekend that I hope to share with you tomorrow (if my camera cooperates – fingers crossed!).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 12:06 pm

    Sounds like a great weekend. Another waffle lover! 🙂

  2. GGG permalink
    September 27, 2010 2:34 pm

    Maybe some weekend you two could stay home so we could drive over and see that fabulous B&B:) I said drive becaue the airplane is in Minnesota and Granndpa can’t fly it yet anyway:( I’m still doing most of the driving because his wrists get tired awful fast. Teaching English? What does that have to do with Science? You’ll do a good job anyway!

  3. September 28, 2010 10:16 pm

    I had to send my camera in because my autofocus had decided to stop working and I was tired of manually focusing, esp. when I didn’t do it well and a perfectly good shot ended up blurry. Grrr… So, now I’ll be sans camera for 4 weeks. Oh well, it needs to be fixed and I did buy the extended warranty for a reason.

    Hope the cleaning got your camera up to snuff.

    Sounds like a great weekend. Glad you got to hang with your friend (and eat waffles). =)

  4. mom permalink
    September 29, 2010 11:29 pm

    So….what are you reviewing for the CSN stores?

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

