Skip to content

finally solved the great shower curtain debacle

September 23, 2010

I know.  Big news, right?

After agonizing over it for more than a year, I finally bit the bullet and decided to make a shower curtain.  You all gave me some great suggestions, but in the end, I decided to go with a plain white shower curtain.  Boring, right?  But good, I think, because the charcoal grout in the subway tile + another large patterny piece may have just completely overwhelmed our tiny bathroom.

We intentionally hung the shower curtain rod high – mostly because we didn’t want to make holes in our new tile – but also because it can make the room seem taller.  And we need to emphasize every last inch of space in the bathroom.  Because the rod was hung high, a standard shower curtain with a 72″ length would have been too short.  And 84″ shower curtains that fell in the “affordable” range were difficult to find.  So I picked up a twin sheet ($9! on sale. and then I used one of the giftcards I’ve been hoarding since our wedding, which brought the total to $3!) and went to work.  (For those of you looking to do this at home: I sewed a series of button holes in the top of the curtain and then hung the curtain to figure out where the bottom hem should go.  Then, I hemmed ‘er up.  Super-easy.)

So, yes.  Problem solved.  And now I can go back to contemplating more important things, like: what am I going to have for lunch?  And, what will my excuse for not working out today be?  And, what should I paint next?  (Really, really, really have the itch to paint lately.)

As you can see, I am solving the problems of the world, one shower curtain at a time.  It’s highly important work.

And, while I had the camera in the bathroom (now there’s a phrase I never thought I’d type…), I figured I might as well take some pictures of the rest of our setup to update the house tour.

And, if I’m gonna flash my “hey look what I did!” photos at you, I might as well flash a “look at the crazy ugly before!” photo at you one more time, too.

I don’t miss that mauvey carpet-on-the-walls bathroom at all.  And, I’m very very happy to have all of our bathrooms “done”.  At least until I start moving stuff around again…

(In case you’re interested, more details on the full reno are here.)

I’m linking up to the CSI Project’s Beautiful Bathrooms Challenge!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 12:26 pm

    I adore your bathroom update, good thinking on making a diy show curtain from a sheet 🙂

    I have sewing projects I’ve been putting off and need to get done over the weekend!

  2. September 23, 2010 12:54 pm

    It came out super great! And, sewing button holes…so brave. I know, it is probably easy, but I haven’t done that yet! Also, I have been caught with the camera in the bathroom more times than is normal, that is for sure. Chris just rolls his eyes…

  3. September 23, 2010 2:07 pm

    You made the right choice! It really brightens up the space and looks fab!

  4. September 24, 2010 3:33 am

    Great solution to your problem. And I STILL love your makeover 🙂

    It took me 11 years to redo the bathroom and cloakroom in our house…..but it was worth the wait.

  5. September 24, 2010 9:50 am

    You made the right choice. I love your bathroom. Now if we could just finish ours! 😉

  6. October 1, 2010 9:55 am

    Oh my goodness, your “before” bathrom. Ha! Loving the modernness you brought to it. You made it new while still keep some old charm.

  7. October 5, 2010 3:00 am

    Beautiful pictures of your bathroom decor. Personally, I like to hang my shower curtain slightly high too. This is because I do not want my dog or cats biting at it. Furthermore, having it slightly off the floor helps to prevent mildew buildup and stain.

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

