Skip to content

2010 week 36

September 17, 2010

This week, I posted one (slightly-lame) post.
Then, I came down with a crazy illness (including! night sweats, a brick of snot in my head, and nonstop coughing!), and ignored the blog for the rest of the week.  And you should be glad, because instead of posting projects, I probably would have told you how sorry I felt for myself (very), whether I had changed out of my pj’s (I had not), how many cups of Throat Coat Tea I’d consumed (likely close to 830 by now), or the odd times of night I’d brushed my teeth (like 3:42am. because this sickness is giving me breath so bad that I can’t help but get up in the middle of the night and brush. so odd.).  And that would be not fun for anyone.

So, instead, I will tell you that I visited my computer again today, only to look out my window and see this:

Which I think means that it’s almost leaf removal season and we have yet to invest in a leaf blower.  Better get on that.  Any recommendations?

And, while I’m soliciting advice, I’ve almost got this fall’s Costa Rica vacation planned (so. psyched.), and any advice on places to stay on the Nicoya Peninsula would be gladly welcomed.  We’ll be spending half of our trip in tree houses in the jungle (already booked!), and now I’m looking to spend the other half of our trip on or near a (not-super-touristy-close-to-turtles) beach.  I found a super-awesome B&B this week, and then found out that it will be closed while we’re in CR.  So, I’m still on the lookout for somewhere cool to stay.

And, one more random thought: JT got an iphone this week.  It’s an electronic item that has so far stayed pretty much off my radar.  In fact, I might be the only human on the planet who is sort of apathetic to them.  I mean, do I really need to be that connected all the time?  (Although, they are so super-duper cool and I could sit there and play the online version of scrabble with friends pretty much all day.  So maybe the real question is: would I be able to walk away from being that connected all the time?).

That’s it from here… I’m headed to pick up our awesome friend, Melinda, who is coming all the way from Philly to hang out with us this weekend!  Should be super-fun!  Have a great weekend!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    September 17, 2010 11:32 am

    I hope you’re feeling better! Have a great time with Melinda! That’s very exciting; I’m glad she could reschedule.
    We’re off to Margate for the weekend and I’m psyched for that!

  2. September 17, 2010 11:50 am

    Aww, snot bricks sound nasty. Glad you are feeling a bit better in time for the weekend. Maybe your apathy towards iPhones comes from your practical side? I love the games on them and the Hipstamatic camera app but as far as phones go, in terms of texting and calling, I don’t rate them at all.

  3. September 17, 2010 1:17 pm

    If your yard is anything like ours a leaf blower won’t cut it. Living in a primarily deciduous forest we tons and tons of leaves so it is impossible to get them all but we try to get the majority of them. If you just blow them around and say make a pile in the woods the wind will eventually bring them back to your yard. We have a sweeper that hooks up to our riding lawn mower it is worth it’s weight in gold. Since we live in the country we don’t have leaf pick up like the people in town do. This year I plan to try to make leaf mold (= pure gold for plants) with the leaves instead of just composting them. But if I remember right you have a push mower right? I think they make walking sweepers but you’re not going to find one at you local Farm & Fleet.

  4. September 17, 2010 2:42 pm

    We have a leaf blower/sucker-upper. I would recommend one that does both so you can mulch leaves in your garden and flower beds. Makes a big difference in the soil!

    OMG! You luck out! Costa Rica looks stunning and adventurous! Can’t wait to see your pictures!

    I feel the same way about the Iphone. I just feel like, why do I need a mini computer on me at all times?

  5. September 17, 2010 4:02 pm

    Succumb to the iphone – you won’t regret it 🙂

  6. GGG permalink
    September 18, 2010 10:52 am

    The thought of leaves really makes me ill as I may end up doing the whole job by myself this year!Those two broken arms are really getting in my way:)

  7. japortma permalink
    September 18, 2010 11:58 am

    I must admit, I would rather be seeing leaves on the ground rather than being in a winter storm advisory yesterday..with snow on the tops of the mountains..but that does meant that SKI season is right around the corner–which means I get a new pair of boots and a helmet–although I will need to buy the helmet.. I am happy you feel better though!! Being sick is just a drag..I guess this was the month that the Jennifers got sick and now we will be healthy for the rest of the winter!!! Also–I hear you volunteered my casa for turkey day, sounds great because GUESS WHO IS GOING TO BE THERE?!?!?! ME! 🙂

Leave a Reply

