Skip to content

2010 week 35

September 10, 2010

I’m going to warn you up front – this is sort of a look at me! look at me! post.  Feel free to roll your eyes and ridicule me (in your head only, please) at any time.

But!  Seeing as Sunday was the 30th anniversary of my birth, I feel like it’s only fair to indulge myself in a little look at me! action.  After all, I was that kid who put on my own sing-along shows (including jokes! written by me! such as: there was a man who had a dog, and the dog jumped out the window! {insert hysterical laughter here}).  It’s been 25 years since I’ve last engaged my bored very attentive and amused aunts and uncles in such festivities (okay, that’s totally a generous estimate), so I feel like now might be a great time for a reunion tour.  Who’s bringing the party hats?

Hi everyone!  I’m THIRTY now.  Can you believe that?

Fortunately, thirty isn’t THAT old.  And mentally, I’m still at about age 12, so no big whoop.

Except that once or twice I will confess to looking in the mirror, noticing a new wrinkle or grey hair (gasp! I have TWO!), and thinking to myself: hmm.  This is what aging looks like.

And then I shrug and go on my way.  It’s not like I can do anything about it anyways (other than use photoshop to smooth them out in the photos below).

I had a look at me! moment over the weekend, wherein I dragged my poor, unsuspecting husband outside and made him take a million photos of me.  I felt kind of awkward for a second, before I remembered that this man is used to my shenanigans by now.  I like to think that I keep things exciting for him – what could be more exciting than coming home to the living room furniture rearranged?  Or the half bath ripped out?  Or a wife covered in sawdust?  I’m a real party to live with!

Anyways.

I dragged my hubby around, trying to smile naturally, and demanding that he take pictures that make me look like someone you’d want to be friends with.  I even let out a few ridiculously fake laughs in the name of getting a natural smile, which is harder than you’d think.  Modeling is tough work!

I have to admit, I’m not a big birthday person.  I mean, to steal my father’s mantra (PS he turned 50 this year — talk about old! Love you, dad!), it’s just another day.

I do, however, appreciate small sentiments, like the ice cream cake the dogs Barley told Jason to pick up (Jezzie really thought I would want another puppy for my birthday, but Barley’s more rational approach to birthdays prevailed).  And the sweet words Jason wrote in his birthday card to me!  And the fact that boy actually WRAPPED (in a gift bag) MY PRESENT!  This is big news, but I think boy learned his lesson two years ago, when he delivered my present & card late and I lost my cool on him — “THIS IS WHAT I’M MARRYING!?!  A LIFETIME OF LATE AND UNWRAPPED BIRTHDAY PRESENTS!?!!” I shrieked in my insane pre-wedding stage.  It was not pretty, but apparently the message was delivered: a sentimental card and a wrapped present delivered on the day will keep your wife from kicking your very, very happy.

As it turns out, the hubby has been paying serious attention to muah lately, because he picked up a cute sugar container to grace my little coffee station.  Which was a good pick, since I’ve been spilling sugar everywhere each morning as I dump it from the bag into my coffee. It’s the little things, people.

As a super-awesome treat for my 30th, my beautiful college bff, Elizabeth, and her fiance, McDreamy, came all the way from NYC for a visit!  It was so so awesome to hang out with E again.  I got to visit her in NYC last fall, and was psyched when she offered to return the favor on my birthday!  Yay!

E helped me assemble the happy birthday banner I cut from cardstock last week using mama bear’s cricut.  (Yes, I totally made my own birthday banner for myself.  Don’t judge.)  We totally crafted some sweet save-the-date cards for their wedding next summer.  And the boys hung out and played with power tools and drank beer (not at the same time) and napped and became man bffs.  We had a dinner out for my birthday on Saturday and made pizza on the grill on Sunday (totally our go-to entertaining meal of the summer).  And we sat around and did nothing but talk (sometimes in a very high pitched, squeaky voice because that’s what we do).  It was a blast and a half.  And I think her & McDreamy should move to SW MI very, very, very soon.  (And also? I am totally betting that they get a dog.  Because as nervous as E was about the doggies initially, I totally caught her smooching on Jezzie later in the weekend.)

The rest of the week deserves a few words because the hubby was in Iowa on business (he’s all, my company has offices all over the globe — India, London, NYC… and I’m sent to IOWA. Which makes me giggle a little.).  This is big news because I STAYED AT MY HOUSE ALL BY MYSELF.  And, it is dark and quiet out here.  Very dark.  And very quiet.  I thought I was going to freak out and be up all night with terrifying nightmares.  Because, as I gruesomely thought, there’s no one to hear my screams. (We do, however, have a security system & security lights around the house, so I felt pretty good about that.)  It was actually significantly easier to stay out here in the country alone than it was when we lived in the city where there were people around to hear my screams, likely due to the security system & the quietness of the country.  In the city, every noise I’d hear when I was alone was someone breaking into my house (paranoia, anyone!?).  In the country?  The only noises I heard were crickets and owls.  Awesome.  (But I still don’t need to stay here alone again anytime soon.)

When he got home yesterday afternoon, all 4 of us lazily lounged around and ended up taking a family nap.  It felt so crazy luxurious to take a nap, and reminded me of the times in college when my roommate, Mandy, and I would race to our room after class to grab the windowseat and take a cat nap in the sun.  Naps are so awesome.  Especially yesterday’s nap in which we all awoke with smiles (if the dogs could smile, they would have) and ate the remaining ice cream birthday cake.

And that’s my story of how I turned 30 and lived to tell about it (even after hubby ditched me for two days).

Have a great weekend!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 9:45 am

    Love the photos, LOVE that you made your own birthday banner, and tell J he needs to work for a company that has offices in IRELAND!

  2. September 10, 2010 10:13 am

    We had to MAKE our own party hats (this was the begining of Jen’s “making stuff” adventures) and I do recall that you had a few modeling jobs as a youngster… head shots and portfolio and all.
    YES, it is just another day… if you want a birthday ice cream cake WHY do you need to wait for one day of the year to have one?

  3. September 10, 2010 11:00 am

    Sounds like a great birthday to me. Your pictures are totally gorgeous! You are a beautiful young woman. (and your husband is pretty cute too!) 😉

  4. September 10, 2010 11:14 am

    Happy 30th and welcome to the club!

  5. Debbie permalink
    September 10, 2010 11:42 am

    Those pictures are portfolio worthy!(I’m sure that has everything to do with the subject and not the photographer). I really do love the new hairdo!
    I agree that after a certain point a birthday is just another day but it’s nice to have a celebration, especially on those milestone birthdays.
    I’m so glad you had a good day and a nice visit with Elizabeth and Matt. I know that must have really meant a lot to you.
    Have a great weekend!

  6. Janna permalink
    September 10, 2010 11:51 am

    Happy Birthday Beautiful!!!

  7. Christina permalink
    September 10, 2010 2:09 pm

    I love you. You’re beautiful, inside and out. I love that you had a photo shoot and the self-made b-day banner. =)

  8. September 10, 2010 4:20 pm

    Happy Birthday, like the new hair cut! I too turned 30 this year, and 30 feels good thus far- but it feels strange to be on the earth this long, lol.

    I love your diy birthday banner its really cute, glad you were able to share you birthday with one of your bffs!

  9. September 11, 2010 6:34 pm

    happy birthday, sounds like a great day

  10. September 20, 2010 9:18 pm

    I’m super late in commenting on this post, but I wanted to tell you how STUNNING your photographs are! You look amazing. And I am jealous that you have a husband who will take pictures without rolling his eyes or complaining. 🙂

    • September 21, 2010 12:28 pm

      Thanks!

      (and don’t be too jealous – there was much eye rolling. and deep sighing. but I’ve learned to ignore it! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

