Skip to content

pillowcase dress

September 9, 2010

Today’s post is going to be short & sweet.  Because I’m headed to the airport to pick up the hubby from his second work trip in as many weeks (more on that tomorrow).

Along with the doll sling, I sent a pillowcase dress to Lucy for her birthday.  My biggest challenge here was the sizing (the first dress I made would probably have fit one of Lucy’s dolls!), but in the end, I was able to guess an approximate size using a pillowcase & the measurement from L’s shoulders to her knees.  (And the dress is still big… but better too big than too small!)

It was super-easy to make, and since there are a million tutorials out there, I will just link to the one I followed and call it a day.  (Now I will be able to find it in a million years when I finally have a kid of my own to dress).  This tutorial used elastic across the top & bottom of the dress instead of just making a pocket in the front & back and weaving a ribbon through it, as most tutorials suggest.  Something about wrapping a ribbon around a small child’s neck screamed NOT SAFE! (I know – my doggy mama instincts are totally transferable to kids.)

Here’s my version, made with some deep purple Joel Dewberry fabric (L’s mama says dark clothes = good).

Also note that you can use your fav pillowcase for adult fashions (like so).  And I think they’re pretty rad and kind of want to make some for myself except that I am not sure I’m stylish enough to pull it off?  Because one time, in 8th grade, I wore a handmade sweater and it did not earn accolades from the middle school crowd.  In fact, it earned just the opposite.  And this fun little trip down memory lane makes me happy that 30 is the new 20 and not the new 13, because 13 was not a great year for yours truly.  And if you can follow my line of thinking from children’s fashion to 8th grade horrors, you get a million bonus points.

Anyways.

Back tomorrow with a zillion pictures of muah and the new ‘do because I can’t decide which one I like best and I’m sure my mom will have some opinions.  (Love you, mom!)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. japortma permalink
    September 9, 2010 11:51 am

    ohh so cute! I always thought pillowcase dresses were super ugly..but yours is adorable!

  2. September 9, 2010 12:39 pm

    I know what you mean about junior high (and high school for that matter). YIPES! I’m so glad that part of my life is OVER!

  3. September 9, 2010 1:49 pm

    I love this! Such a great idea 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!

  4. September 9, 2010 2:55 pm

    O how cute!

  5. Ashley permalink
    September 10, 2010 12:20 am

    This dress is fantastic and when I first saw it I thought you made a shirt! The fabric would be awesome for a shirt… when you start making cute shirts let me know!

  6. September 12, 2010 8:57 pm

    What a great dress and I love this fabric!

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

