Skip to content

2010 week 33-34

September 1, 2010

I ditched all of you last week to head home to MKE to spend time with mama bear, papa bear, and their cubs.

Sorry! 🙂

But my hubby ditched me for a conference, so I decided to hit the road, too. Mostly because I’m too chicken to stay in our house alone. Even with two very large and ferocious dogs.


So here’s the good, bad, and ugly hilarious from the past week:

Good

  • Cousin Catherine was visiting with her cute and new puppy, Remi, so I headed to MKE a few days before Jason left for his conference. Gramma planned a picnic for us, and grandpa put up with 5 dogs running around his house. Yep, 5. My two dogs were really happy to run around with brother Trevor’s dog, Comet, and sister Ashley’s boyfriend’s dog, Oscar. And of course, Remi. So cute! But insane. And potentially dangerous, if you weren’t sitting down. (because big dogs running and not paying attention to where they’re going is a knock-over hazard).
  • Mama bear and I went to the MKE art museum to check out their exhibit on American quilts. It was awesome. The exhibit was a series of quilts that were made in the 1800-early 1900s. The intricate detailing was amazing, and I can only imagine how much time it took these women to hand sew and quilt each of the pieces displayed. Amazing.
  • Mama bear and I went shopping in the Third Ward, and a new Anthropologie was added since the last time I was there, and I walked around the place swooning and drooling. Not sure when MKE became so hip and trendy, but it’s awesome. Anthro has some super-cute new things in for fall (of course), and I love it all. Love. We also hit up The Garden Room – a super-cute garden shop in Shorewood with a tearoom in the basement and a rooftop garden. I’ve had some of the best sandwiches of my life in this little shop, which means that if you’re local, you should def check it out.
  • I worked the photobooth at a wedding Saturday night. The bride & groom’s first dance was to Sea of Love – the same song that Jason & I danced to at our wedding. The sweet memory would have been enough to bring tears to my eyes had I not been distracted with stream of guests that were visiting the photobooth.
  • Sunday was picnic day with the fam – my baking gramma, uncles, cousin, and aunt showed up for grilled burgers, brats, and swimming.
  • Trev and I baked a cake and called it “brother/sister bonding time”. I suggested that next time, we pick something a bit more difficult, like a rainbow cake.
  • Mama bear gave me a rad new haircut. I lost like 6 inches of hair and what seems like 10 lbs off the back of my head. Yikes! Is this what they refer to as a mid-life crisis? Or, since I’m going to live to be 120, a quarter life crisis? Last time I had hair this short was freshman year in college when I let the girl down the hall “trim” my hair. So, twelve years later, one thing remains the same: I am too cheap to pay for a haircut. I bet we notice this same trend in another 12 years, too.
  • I had coffee with my gramma and my 7th grade science teacher and sushi with my awesome friend, Christina. So fun to catch up with people I don’t get to see often enough!
  • Mama bear, sister and I went to -two!- movies, a big deal since JT and I usually don’t head out to the theater to watch movies (he claims that the last movie he saw in the theater was Borat).
  • My shopping gramma spoiled me for my birthday!
  • I beat brother Trevor in mini golf – by one stroke. Which means that we’re both pretty darn bad mini-golfers.

Bad

  • I missed my husband.

Ugly/Embarrassing/Ridiculous/Hilarious

  • Brother Robby is a toiletry thief, so Jason and I hide the shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, hair gel, etc that we leave here. If we forget to hide it, brother Robby uses it and forgets to tell mama or papa bear to pick up more. So we hide whatever we buy/bring. Which means that upon my arrival Wednesday night, I spent 45 minutes hunting for toiletries. Next time, I’m going to have to find a good hiding spot that I can actually remember.
  • Jezebel fell in the pool Saturday. Or actually, walked in, probably not realizing that it was, indeed, a giant vat of water. She is not a swimmer – she sank and struggled until brother Trevor reached in to save her. During our impromptu family picnic on Sunday, the dogs stared in disbelief as my aunt & uncle’s dog, Tahoe, made laps around the pool. Finally, Uncle B grabbed Jezzie and tried to teach her to swim (as Tahoe looked on, probably puzzled about why the little dog was splashing so much). He was unsuccessful – she was still a sinker after her little swim lesson.
  • Later in the week, I took both dogs swimming. I thought maybe if I could get them in gradually, they’d be cool with it. Not so much. Jezzie slowly climbed higher and higher on me to avoid getting wet… Barley froze, not moving an inch until I got him close enough to the stairs to climb out alone. Eventually, I got Jez to lay on her belly in the water, and then I think she finally got the whole doggy paddle motion down. But not before mama bear caught this splashtastic photo of us – I think my crazy smile says it all: (PS I also think I get a medal for bravery after posting photos of myself in a bikini on the intertubes.)
  • Jezzie and brother Trevor’s dog, Comet, might be teaming up to take over the world. Mama bear and I left the boys in charge for 15 minutes while we ran some errands, and while we were gone, the dogs teamed up to empty the garbage can all over the house. I can only imagine that Comet opened the drawer housing the trash, and Jezzie pulled the trash out of the can. And she was probably really proud of herself, too. That doggy LOVES trash.
  • And speaking of trash, we caught a raccoon digging in the rubbermaid trash bin that’s used to store Comet’s food. The bin sits in the garage, just outside the back door, and one time, we opened the door to let Barley chase after the raccoon. (Thank goodness Barley didn’t actually catch the raccoon… I didn’t actually think about what I’d do if the big dog caught the fat raccoon, but now that I’m thinking about it, letting my dog chase after and potentially fight a raccoon is probably not the best thing that could happen. Oops.) Anyways, Barley sat by the back door for the rest of the afternoon, waiting for the raccoon to come back. It was pretty cute.

And now I am off to enjoy an afternoon of catching up and cleaning up around the house! Apologies to those of you waiting for email responses from me… I’m working on it! 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    September 7, 2010 2:20 pm

    I’m so glad you had a good time! Sounds like you got a chance to catch up with all the family and they with you!
    Love, love, love the hair! That picture by the barn door is great. You look like a model.
    I’m ready for a haircut but it’s still a little too hot here for me to give up my summer ponytail.
    Happy you’re back in blogland. Have a good week.

  2. Amy permalink
    September 7, 2010 5:48 pm

    tried the rainbow cake for P’s birthday, but it was a total disaster, mostly because I refused to follow directions and put 7 disposable cake pans in the oven at the same time – I’m sure you’ll have better luck!

    p.s. blog self-esteem of the year award for the pool picture – I’m pretty sure I could never manage one!

  3. September 7, 2010 7:11 pm

    Sounds like you had a great trip!! Love the new haircut!

  4. September 7, 2010 8:33 pm

    OMG, your hair is so short! It looks great!

  5. Jan permalink
    September 7, 2010 9:06 pm

    Love the photos of you and the new hair do looks fantastic!

  6. mom permalink
    September 7, 2010 9:06 pm

    Finally, a blog post! I found myself checking it even when you were in the kitchen with me!!! You look all grown up (and put together) in your barn pic, were you headed out for the evening? What did Jason think of the hair…

  7. Tami permalink
    September 7, 2010 10:04 pm

    Totally great haircut! Send your mom my way (family discount??).

  8. japortma permalink
    September 7, 2010 10:20 pm

    ohh that is the cutest haircut I have ever seen! I love it! You look so important! 🙂 And wow! that swimming suit picture.. OW OW!! (I can say that because I am after all your favorite cousin and we share the same name–so of course Jennifer look great in anything we wear!)

  9. September 8, 2010 7:03 am

    LOVE the hair – beautiful 🙂

    Great catch-up on the week, especially teaching the dogs to swim.

  10. September 8, 2010 9:32 am

    I like the hair!

    I’ve been thinking of making a visit to Mke and eating my way through the city/’burbs. And see some friends!

  11. September 8, 2010 12:18 pm

    I love your new hairdo! You look all grown up. 😉

  12. September 8, 2010 8:48 pm

    I am obsessed with your hair. It looks amazing. Totally wonderful cut, I really like it.

    I love the dogs-in-the-water photos. Crackin’ me up. The pugs’ cousins (labs) knocked Franco into a small pond. He FREAKED out. Not a fan.

  13. September 9, 2010 2:59 pm

    Your hair is adorable! I didn’t realize how much of your blog I missed while I was gone!

Leave a Reply

